We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Accomodation But Let Down By The Food”
Review of Cesare Augusto

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Cesare Augusto
Ranked #41 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 3, 2006

We stayed at the Cesare Augusto from 26 May - 2 June 2006.

The first impression I got of this Hotel was of how clean it was, so clean you can smell it.

The staff at the front desk were very friendly and helpful, it was a nice touch when the bell boy took our bags to our room and didn;t expect a tip.

Another nice touch was that we arrived at our hotel late due to our flight being delayed and as a result we missed our evening meal in the restaurant - however the Hotel had plated us up a very nice salad and put it in our rooms for us.

The room we had was big and faced the front of the Hotel. As previously stated by others, if you have your balcony doors open it is very loud, sirens aplenty due to the hospital only being 1/2 mile down the road.

The bathroom was of an average size, beware of the kink in the floor of the bath, I nearly broke my ankle on it.

The breakfast is a buffet style breakfast and was very disappointing. It is served from 0700 - 0930.

However, if you decide to go for breakfast at 0900, you will probably be faced with the same food as what was served at 0700, as I found when I got a very upset stomach.

The evening meals are OK, you get 4-5 choices per course but the vegetarian options are very limited, one night the vegetarian option was a plate of cheese. Beware that they have a fondness of sneaking ham into the mashed potato!!!

The pool is small but good and is served by a bar with a limited food menu. There isn't much room by the pool though for sunbathing once it gets busy.

As stated previously too, the air conditioning turns off mid morning and doesn't return til mid afternoon, not much good if your in bed recovering from the upset stomach caused by their food!!!

All in all I would say that if you want somewhere clean and in a convienient location with friendly staff and you're not fussy about what you eat, this is the Hotel for you.

Please feel free to email me any questions and if you want any hints or tips on the sightseeing in the area as most tour operators are very over priced!!!

  • Stayed: June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
16  Thank ribm7727
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (593)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

475 - 481 of 593 reviews

Reviewed May 17, 2006

I promised my 71 year old Mum a trip to Sorrento after she went through a huge operation on her spine in January. I chose the Cesare Augusto mainly for its location being so near to Piazza Tasso.
I am really pleased I chose this hotel, it was in the perfect location for Mum, The hotel and the bedrooms are spotlessly clean. Bedlinen is changed almost every day and clean towels every day. The rooms are very spacious with a lovely balcony.
The Staff were absolutely fantastic and would go out of their way for us. The Restaurant staff are great, my only criticism of the food is you get a choice of 4 starters and 4 main courses for evening meal and the desserts were buffet style. I could always find something to have but as my Mum is allergic to Chicken and Eggs and doesnt like fish there was really only 1 night that we had to eat out, but on the whole it was very good.
The views from the roof top pool are stunning, and the little cafe that is there do really good snacks for lunch.
Mum enjoyed it so much we are planning on leaving our husbands at home once again next year for another girlie week away and it will definitely be at the Cesare Augusto.

  • Stayed: May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank geordieJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Burlington, Ky
124
Reviewed April 22, 2006

We were at the hotel for a week with Grand Circle Tours. The room was very large, clean and the tiled floors were beautiful. The bathroom was large. Our bed linens that were changed daily, were ironed and wonderful to sleep between the sheets. The balcony was on the front of the hotel and there was road noise, but with the doors shut at night it was very quiet. The view was lovely when we sat out, especially in the evening. The patios on the lower level were lovely,as were the areas by the indoor bar.
The wait staff in the restaurant could not have been more attentive. Although eggs in Italy are not what they are known for, the breakfast offered many choices from cereals, fruit, meats, cheeses, wonderful Italian hard rolls, sweets and more. The location was wonderful, easy to get to shops, and restaurants. We loved Sorrento and would stay at the hotel again.

  • Stayed: March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
24  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2006

I had read previous reviews and was prepared to find a almost overly-clean hotel with rude front desk staff in the centre of town. In fact, the reception desk staff was pleasant and helpful. Dining room staff was also very pleasant. Furniture in the hotel, including the room, reflects the inlaid wood for which Sorrento is known. Location was as described - a block away from the main piazza. I would have no hesitation about staying at the Cesare Augusto.

27  Thank Peggysuz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2005

Super hotel! Just returned after a weeks stay. I actually changed my hotel to this one having read the reviews on this site. Beds were comfortable, good size rooms, aircon was availible (though not used much in October when the temperture was just nicely warm). Our room (with balcony) was at the front of the hotel next to a busy road but we heard little noise on the fifth floor with the double-glazed doors shut and the view of the surrounding hills was wonderful especially in the morning as the sun was raising. The rooftop pool was great and you could lay on the sunbed looking at the sea and Vesuvius. No complaints with the food either, good varied menu with two or three choices for each of the three courses with four fixed courses on the Thurday nights candlelit dinner. The breakfast was excellent with different cereals, four containers of tinned fruit, the usual ham and cheeses, hot scrambled, fried and boiled eggs plus bacon, hot croissants plus endless tea and coffee. We use to fill ourselves up and it would last us till the evening meal. Throughly recommended!

  • Stayed: October 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
53  Thank terryd1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Durham, UK
132
Reviewed October 2, 2005

I would recommend this hotel to anyone. It is superb value for money in an excellent location, approximately 2 minutes walk from Piazza Tasso (the main hub of Sorrento). The train and bus station is similarly only a 2 minute walk away.

The rooms are spotlessly clean and very spacious. Meals are very satisfactory and served by very attentive and friendly staff. A gala dinner takes place once a week by candlelight. The snack bar on the roof terrace provides very good value for money meals and the staff and all very friendly and polite.

All in all, a first rate hotel!

32  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2005

  • Stayed: September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ll127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.8 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#25 of 100 in Sorrento
3,239 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Eden
Hotel Eden
#66 of 100 in Sorrento
715 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Plaza
Hotel Plaza
#12 of 100 in Sorrento
1,692 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Antiche Mura Hotel
Antiche Mura Hotel
#10 of 100 in Sorrento
2,343 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel La Vue D'Or
Hotel La Vue D'Or
#31 of 100 in Sorrento
1,029 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel del Mare
Hotel del Mare
#33 of 100 in Sorrento
777 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cesare Augusto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cesare Augusto

Address: Via Degli Aranci 108, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#31 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
#46 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range: $144 - $311 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Cesare Augusto 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Hotel Cesare Augusto is a cozy four-star hotel located in the heart of the city, just few steps away from Piazza Tasso, the main square of Sorrento. Partially surrounded by a garden with towering pine trees the hotel occupies a strategic position to visit the picturesque alleys of the old town and shopping in the stores of Corso Italia or to reach the main tourist destinations such as Capri, Pompeii, Naples and the unique and wonderful Amalfi Coast. It has 120 rooms, good sized, all soundproofed and air conditioned, equipped with minibar, bathroom and shower, hairdryer, safe, satellite TV, WiFi connection and private terrace. Hotel Cesare Augusto has a roof garden with swimming pool and a solarium from which to enjoy breathtaking views of the Gulf of Naples. The hotel also has a renowned restaurant where you can taste the cuisine of Sorrento as well as those of Mediterranean and International cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Hotwire so you can book your Cesare Augusto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cesare Augusto Hotel Sorrento
Caesar Augusto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing