We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The staff are courteous and charming”
Review of Cesare Augusto

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Cesare Augusto
Ranked #47 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Blackpool
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“The staff are courteous and charming”
Reviewed August 21, 2009

I have decided that if a hotel is clean and well-maintained then the staff can MAKE the holiday. I can't pick out one person as everyone, reception staff, restaurant staff ,barstaff and cleaners were so pleasant and charming.
The hotel is less than 5 minutes slow walk from the main square, but leave by the back entrance as (being built on a hill) its confusing to use the front entrance.
The airconditioning is the best ever- NO night time noise or unpleasant blasts.
I enjoyed the food, some said that breakfast was boring, but the Italians dont demand a full fry up like some English. I had what I have at home, fresh fruit, yoghurt, toast and delicious coffee.
Dinner is a choice of 4 starters and 4 main courses, SILVER SERVICE! The local wine is delicious and you can buy a full bottle and have it put away for you to finish later. I enjoyed every meal. Try lunch on the roof terrace, a good selection of hot and cold beautifully presented food.
The pool is small but very pleasant for a refreshing swim at the end of the day, towels are provided by the lovely barstaff up there(no charge).
There are about 50 steps up to the back entrance of the hotel, but, I would hope that anyone with mobility problems wouldn,t be visiting that part of Italy.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank BelleBlackpoolBelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

546 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    197
    217
    94
    27
    11
See reviews for
123
250
21
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
lincolnshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2009

This hotel is in an ideal spot and only about 2 minutes from the centre of Sorrento. We found the service superb and the meals were always of top quality. the rooms are good and are very comfortable.
There is no beach as such but that does not deter from exploring the place.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank parsie_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2009

Stayed in the Cesare Augusto last July and have been meaning to come on here and sing it’s praises ever since.

1st perceptions upon arrival were that the hotel was slightly dated with a bit of an 80’s feel, the marble floors and surfaces all hinting that the hotel had probably once catered for the needs of the top end of the market but was now slightly in decline and in need of some modernisation. The hotels facilities are good, the roof top pool is small but perfectly adequate with plenty of room for sunbathing and served by a snack bar while the views from the roof top look down onto Sorrento and across the bay of Naples towards Mount Vezuvius.

After paying a relatively cheap price (For Italy & Sorrento) we weren’t expecting too much from the hotel but in all it exceeded all our expectations. The rooms were clean comfortable and extremely spacious, The Central location of the Hotel (a 5 minute walk from Piazza Tasso/ the centre) is excellent for a hotel in this price bracket and the food was absolutely amazing. There were three different options for both the starter and main courses and a selection of desserts if you managed to get through the first two courses. Both me and my partner chose different meals each night and each night we were amazed by the quality and quantity of the food on offer. Breakfast was pretty much the traditional continental experience nothing to shout home a bout but when the Coffee machine was up and working it produced a mean cappuccino!

The staff couldn’t have been more helpful and even on our departure in the early hours of the morning the restaurant staff had produced a bag full of breakfast treats for us.

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lambownumber5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2009

My father and I stayed here for a week in August 2007 as part of a Thompsons holiday (our second visit to Sorrento). The hotel is perfectly situated for the town centre, railway station etc and is surrounded by beautiful gardens. The rooms are nothing fancy - the hotel itself is more like a 3 star - but are clean and comfortable. We didn't notice too much traffic noise at night despite the fact that our rooms overlooked the road. I can't understand the complaints about food - we thought there was plenty of choice at the breakfast buffet and the evening meals, although fairly standard hotel fare, were perfectly adequate. We'd love to go again!

  • Stayed July 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AliceShortcake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 18, 2008

Modern, clean, room larger than expected. Breakfast was more than expected. Coffe was the problem, but then I expected that. Towels were more like table linens, but we were only there for one night, so it was not a problem. Within walking distance to the center of town. Would go there again.

  • Stayed November 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank baker69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2008

I don't get the complaints about the breakfast I've read in the past. No one in our group of 7 found anything wrong with it. We had a geat variety to choose from and the quality was fine. If anything, their version of American coffee wasn't great but it was not a problem. We did not eat any other meals in the hotel as we were there to sample the area restaurants , not hotel food.

As for the thin towels. Yes, they are thin, but in reading past complaints one would think they were thin because they were old & worn out. Not true. They are fresh & new. It's just the style of towel they use and they are more than fine to use after bathing.

We swam in the rooftop pool and requested pool towels which we got. They were very thick. The pool is small but a refreshing dip can be had in good weather.

As for room noise. We were on the second floor facing the main road. It was loud during the day with the balcony door open. At night it got much quiter especially with the door closed. However, I do travel with earplugs and anyone who travels should always carry them in case. There are other, more upscale & expensive hotels in the area, but I noticed they all sit on noisy roads. Unless you get a room facing away from roads, you're just going to get road noise. Sorrento is just that busy. Our room views were beautiful.

Our rooms did get a littlestuffy at night and no one was able to figure out how to use the thermostats. No one cared enough to ask.

While my room was no smoking, some in our party were in a smoking area and did say they could smell the smoke.

I will warn you that if you are claustrophobic, be aware the hotel's elevators (like many Italian hotel elevators) are TINY. You can get maybe 2 people into one WITHOUT your luggage. And that is not an exxageration.

This hotel is in a perfect location. You can walk EVERYWHERE in Sorrento and the train station is less than two blocks where you can hop on and go to Pompeii and Naples.

  • Stayed October 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pm914
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glagow
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2008

Rooms; On the plus side, were clean, comfortable, air conditioned and well sound proofed. On the negative, the towels are like tea towels and some of the furnishings a tad "tired" looking.

Location is fantastic, makes this hotel worth a second visit

Pool; small but great views, clean and very peacefull, some of the sun beds could do with being replaced.

Staff, helpful and approachable

Food; Decent selection at breakfast, typical to most of the hotels I've visited in Europe.

Perhaps 4* is a bit ambitious but it did the job for us, an excellent base to explore Sorrento and beyond. Certain areas could do with a spruce up but on the whole is was clean and comfortable

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — bathroom
  • Stayed September 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank RooneyB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Flora
Grand Hotel Flora
#53 of 100 in Sorrento
388 reviews
0.8 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#26 of 100 in Sorrento
3,061 reviews
0.2 mi away
Michelangelo Hotel
Michelangelo Hotel
#66 of 100 in Sorrento
808 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Eden
Hotel Eden
#57 of 100 in Sorrento
666 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Villa Maria
Hotel Villa Maria
#73 of 100 in Sorrento
636 reviews
0.2 mi away
Carlton International Hotel
Carlton International Hotel
#59 of 100 in Sorrento
630 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cesare Augusto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cesare Augusto

Property: Cesare Augusto
Address: Via Degli Aranci 108, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
#46 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Cesare Augusto 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Hotel Cesare Augusto is a cozy four-star hotel located in the heart of the city, just few steps away from Piazza Tasso, the main square of Sorrento. Partially surrounded by a garden with towering pine trees the hotel occupies a strategic position to visit the picturesque alleys of the old town and shopping in the stores of Corso Italia or to reach the main tourist destinations such as Capri, Pompeii, Naples and the unique and wonderful Amalfi Coast. It has 120 rooms, good sized, all soundproofed and air conditioned, equipped with minibar, bathroom and shower, hairdryer, safe, satellite TV, WiFi connection and private terrace. Hotel Cesare Augusto has a roof garden with swimming pool and a solarium from which to enjoy breathtaking views of the Gulf of Naples. The hotel also has a renowned restaurant where you can taste the cuisine of Sorrento as well as those of Mediterranean and International cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cesare Augusto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cesare Augusto Hotel Sorrento
Caesar Augusto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing