We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel for stopover”
Review of Cesare Augusto

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Cesare Augusto
Ranked #47 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
290 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Good hotel for stopover”
Reviewed May 9, 2014 via mobile

Basic, clean hotel. Large rooms, loved the balcony, we had a nice view. Lovely garden area. Too cool for us to use the pool in early May. Great location to plazas, ferry, transportation, dining and shopping. Breakfast not as good as others in Italy. Large open dining room, cafeteria feeling. Beware of holiday Saturday nights. Lots of noise from horn blowing, fireworks, yelling and partying starting at midnight and not ending until 3 am.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Debbi D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

546 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    197
    217
    94
    27
    11
See reviews for
123
250
21
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brighouse, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2014 via mobile

We have just returned from a week at the Cesare Augusto with Riviera. Our room was on the top floor, 506, with a balcony on the side with views of the town and the sea and the hills. Large bedroom with plenty of storage, seating area inside and excellent bathroom facilities, only downside is the shower head is fixed, a problem for me as I am just over 5ft. Bedroom etc was very clean and safe was a good size. The restaurant staff were extremely helpful, and appreciated my husband trying out his Italian on them. The food choice both at breakfast and evening meal was excellent. Food at dinner efficiently served by the waiters and iced water was free. The bar staff very friendly and most of reception staff friendly and helpful though one older man behind desk often off hand. The entrance and reception area was very spacious. Two doors out, one to main road and the other into the garden with entrance leading to a five minute walk to Tasso Square. Would definitely recommend this hotel.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarksville, Michigan
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2014

We recently stayed at the Cesare Augusto for 4 nights at the end of April, 2014. Our room was large and very clean. We had a nice balcony that overlooked the hotel gardens. The only problem we had with the room was that our fridge didn't work and even after we had reported the problem, it still wasn't fixed even by the end of our stay. Fortunately, the bartender at the lower hotel lobby bar was awesome and provided us with small buckets of ice whenever we asked!
The breakfast was very good and had a lot of selections and they didn't care if you took food or coffee back to your room so you could enjoy it on your balcony.
The location was perfect. It was a 5 minute walk to the center of the city and to the train station. The hotel did offer free wi-fi, but we found the connection to be very inconsistent. We had a good connection if we sat in the lobby or even in the hallway, but we lost connection constantly when we were in our room.
The airport lost my luggage in Naples so I arrived in Sorrento with nothing! Luckily, the hotel does provide shampoo, shavers, and toothbrush and toothpaste. Unfortunately, I found the staff to be fairly unhelpful in trying to get my luggage back. There was 1 man who was willing to help me, although he wasn't having much luck either. So, I was able to email my mom using the hotel computer and she contacted our local U.S. airport and tracked my luggage and they sent it to our hotel in Sorrento. It's not easy being in Europe without your luggage!
Overall, this was a good hotel and we had a great time in Sorrento!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rathkeale, Limerick, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2014

I stayed at the cesare augusto for 5 nigths at the end of April 2014. After a very dodgy experience in my hotel in Naples, the Cesare Augusto was an absolutely dream come to true when I arrived. It is a 5 minute walk from the station, and literally 2 minute walk from the centre of Sorrento. The staff were lovely and friendly. There was very good facilities, such as fridge in room, pool, hairdryers etc. Breakfast was decent, if not a bit too many tasty sweet pastrys for my liking. Highly recommend this lovely hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Elisa O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dennis, Mass
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2014

The Cesare Augusto hotel has all the amenities for an enjoyable stay in Sorrento and is located within short walking distances from the train station, SITA buses and Piazzo de; Tasso. The location in this sense was very good. Sorrento is a busy town with many cars and scooters. During our stay road construction diverted traffic to both sides of the hotel making it very noisy at night. Fortunately we were able to close the door to the balcony without getting too warm in the room. We found the hotel staff to be all business. A friendly touch with a smile would have gone a long way.

The included breakfast is very good. The restaurant and housekeeping staff are competent and truly care for their guests. After our group, the hotel called us because housekeeping noticed that someone had left something very valuable behind and they were concerned. That speaks volumes

If we were to return to Sorrento we would choose a smaller hotel near the quiet end of town. Marina Grande is one choice that adds 10 -15 minutes to walk to the center of town.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DandSdennis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shrewsbury, england
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2014

THe Cesare Augusto on the Via dei Aranci is only 5 minutes walk away from Piazzo di Tasso, the main square of Sorrento. The Sorrento railway station is also only 5 minutes away and Herculaneum, Pompeii and Naples can be easily accessed.The rooms at the back overlook the garden and another busy but less noisy road than Via Aranci. These rooms have clear views of Vesuvius and to islands. When we were there (mid April) the 6th floor rooftop pool was not open but the views from this floor over Sorrento to the sea and Vesuvius are beautiful.
The rooms have solid and well maintained furniture and, although a little tired, the bathrooms are scrupulously clean. Our room, and I think almost all, had a tiled balcony with a neat metalwork table and chairs.The reception area is welcoming, as are the staff. In fact the staff are a main highlight of the hotel with efficient and friendly cleaning staff and waiters.
The evening meals were good and were carefully served and the breakfast has a good range. There was some effort to reflect local cuisine and there is a well priced wine list.
The downsides were the poorly functioning air conditioning which meant the balcony door had to be left open- but then we heard too much noise from the road.
Overall, a good choice for a central hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the higher floors and overlooking the garden- quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bayston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monmouth
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2014

The hotel mainly caters for tour operators parties - when we were there they were mainly older people so we found the hotel an oasis of peace and quiet. We had two large, clean interconnected rooms on the top floor. On the main road side but with views up into the hills behind Sorrento. There is a nice urban garden and car park below the hotel.
It's a 5 minute walk to the old town.
The breakfast was good, whole place very clean and staff friendly and helpful.

Train station a short 10 minute walk and this is the best way to visit Pompeii as the roads are narrow, busy and a challenge to drive to and from Sorrento on.

Free wi-fi was a bonus, but no A/c and even the fan was not working on our stays.
The road we overlooked was busy and noisy - but the double glazing is good. We had the council strip and resurface the road from 10pm to 2am the nights we were there and hardly heard them!

Room Tip: Higher up and the road side seems to offer nice views, alternatively anywhere on the rear (town) sid...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tig121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Flora
Grand Hotel Flora
#53 of 100 in Sorrento
388 reviews
0.8 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#26 of 100 in Sorrento
3,061 reviews
0.2 mi away
Michelangelo Hotel
Michelangelo Hotel
#66 of 100 in Sorrento
808 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Eden
Hotel Eden
#57 of 100 in Sorrento
666 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Villa Maria
Hotel Villa Maria
#73 of 100 in Sorrento
636 reviews
0.2 mi away
Carlton International Hotel
Carlton International Hotel
#59 of 100 in Sorrento
629 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cesare Augusto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cesare Augusto

Property: Cesare Augusto
Address: Via Degli Aranci 108, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
#46 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Cesare Augusto 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Hotel Cesare Augusto is a cozy four-star hotel located in the heart of the city, just few steps away from Piazza Tasso, the main square of Sorrento. Partially surrounded by a garden with towering pine trees the hotel occupies a strategic position to visit the picturesque alleys of the old town and shopping in the stores of Corso Italia or to reach the main tourist destinations such as Capri, Pompeii, Naples and the unique and wonderful Amalfi Coast. It has 120 rooms, good sized, all soundproofed and air conditioned, equipped with minibar, bathroom and shower, hairdryer, safe, satellite TV, WiFi connection and private terrace. Hotel Cesare Augusto has a roof garden with swimming pool and a solarium from which to enjoy breathtaking views of the Gulf of Naples. The hotel also has a renowned restaurant where you can taste the cuisine of Sorrento as well as those of Mediterranean and International cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cesare Augusto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cesare Augusto Hotel Sorrento
Caesar Augusto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing