We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing special”
Review of Cesare Augusto

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Cesare Augusto
Ranked #41 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 2, 2013 via mobile

The Cesare Agusto is OK.
It is clean, the staff mostly tries to be nice. It is a hotel full of bus loads of "ugly American tourists" ..... So if you are ok with that clientele .... You will be OK with this hotel.... It is certainly not upscale, has no beautiful views, but it is adequate,,,,,
Keep the balcony door shut tight& it may almost feel quiet!!
Very busy & noisy streets surround the property.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eye56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (606)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

343 - 349 of 606 reviews

Reviewed October 1, 2013

Just returned from a 5 night break at this hotel. The location is definitely in the hotels favour. The back door will take you to Piazzo Tasso in about 5 mins. The front door and turn left, straight on for about 500mt and you will reach the back of the train and bus station. As you are in the centre don't be expecting any great views from the hotel unless you are at the swimpool and bar on the 6th floor. There are very reasonably priced snacks available at this bar during the day.

I am sure the hotel itself was very grand in its day, but now is rather dated. The reception staff and restaurant staff were all very pleasant and helpful. Housekeeping replaced towels on a daily basis and toiletries less regularly.

the plumbing in the hotel was very noisy and each morning we were awakened by noisy pipes at about 6.30am - obviously people showering before heading off for the day! I can only assume that we were not the only people who experienced this annoyance.

we stayed on a bed and breakfast basis and we found breakfast at best to be mediocre- with very little choice. However, this is par for the course in most European countries and I cant help but feel that we Irish have high expectations where food is concerned because of the high standard of cuisine we experience in our hotels!

The hotel was spotlessly clean with nice gardens and is a good base to travel. Lacks atmosphere!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DroghedaAnnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2013

The location is super. If you go out the back door, piazza Tasso, the main square with a brilliant buzz every night is 3 minute walk away.
If you go out the front door the train & bus station is a 5 minute walk away. Very handy for trains to Pompei, Herculaneum , Naples and Mt Vesuvius . Also the bus for Amalfi coast.
Staff were courteous, friendly and helpful. Food was good. Room very spacious, cleaned everyday. The negatives for us were no tea making facilities, no iron in THE HOTEL. And the fish on the menu was invariably cooked from frozen - in a fishing port. Really enjoyed our 2 weeks though and it was lovely and quiet at night.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Mike G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2013

I will start on the bad points first ,no tea making facilities , no iron in hotel,television ancient breakfast menus the same every mourning , the sweet at dinner the same every night, the good points,close to town centre rooms excellent service great,pool area excellent bar prices good, over all great hotel , been back twice loverly stay

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the 5th floor facing the front. Of hotel because you will get the sun all day
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mpdgliverpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2013

I have been going to this hotel since 2003 & visit them every year,,I love this hotel, The rooms are spacious & airy & very clean, fantastic views & lovely gardens, the pool is on the roof top, with a lovely terrace with a snack bar,,,the views from the terrace are fantastic, looking out at Mount Vesuvius & all the surrounding mountains..Its just a few minutes walk to Piazza Tasso the main square of Sorrento, nearby is the train & bus station, also near the port, Marina Piccolo,,not far is a lovely walk to Marina Grande a pretty little fishing port. Sorrento is very busy with the main shopping area on Corsa Italia, & all the shops in the alley ways,,called the drains,,,

The staff at the hotel are so nice,,,we have Carlo & his staff on reception, who are so helpful, we have Mario in charge of the dining room he and his staff can't do enough for you especially Gianni & Nicola, but they are all great,,,Then we have Gennaro who is in charge of the pool bar & bar in the lounge who is so popular with the guests he is friendly& a lovely man but also professional, & we cannot forget Ugo who also works at the pool bar & in the lounge, he is very friendly,,in fact everyone is nice at this hotel including the maids/cleaners & maintenance staff..Many guests return to this hotel year after year, in fact I know at least 2 couples that have been going for 30 years, so that must say something about the staff & hotel,,I went there for 2 weeks early in September this year & have already booked for next year,,,just love it..You can never be bored in Sorrento there is so much to do & so many places to visit,,,& if you want to relax just sit on the roof terrace at the hotel...FANTASTIC,,,See you next year

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank mpatmills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2013 via mobile

We had a fabulous week at Cesare Augustos the staff we very helpful and friendly. Location is great near railway and bus stations, easy walking distance to piazza Tasso. Only critism would be that beds are bit small and hard and the rooms could do with some updating. Be warned the lifts are very compact would definitely go back .

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AMask
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2013

Just returned from a very enjoyable weeks stay at this hotel. The location is great. A short stroll from all the action but spent many blissful afternoons at the hotels roof top bar enjoying the relative peace and quite and great views of the surrounding mountains, bay of Naples and Vesuvius. The staff were very welcoming and always in good spirits. Our room was on the 4th floor, high enough to afford good views and away from some of the street noise. Our balcony gave great views over the garden and also the road junction, which was a source of much amusement watching some of the antics of the drivers. The food In the hotel restaurant was pretty good and varied. I chose two starters instead of a main course most nights as the portions can be generous and the starter selection good. Lots of yummy desserts on offer too. Thankfully with all the walking that you will invariably do during your stay - you might not feel so guilty. The hotel is very close to the railway station and purchasing your tickets to Pompeii &/or Herculaneum is very easy from the ticket/shop right by the station - 2.20 Euros each way p.p. (so much cheaper than doing an organised tour). The line takes you all the way to Naples also if desired, just keep an eye on the station names, there are many, to know when to leap off. Coming back is easy enough - just ensure a Sorrento sign is at the front of the train. Sorrento is the end of the line, so you cannot get lost once on the right train. It can get busy though, so expect to stand all the way sometimes. Would stay at this hotel again as found their friendliness, spotless accommodation, location and half board option very good value. Sorrento can be pricey so half board may save you money in the long run. We ate out every lunch time in town and came across some good restaurants & bars for a snack but some are rather expensive and some waiting staff quite ill mannered - not so in the hotel. Take some comfy shoes too - there are some fabulous back streets and alley ways with cobblestones in Sorrento, great for exploring and there are many steps down to the Marina's which will give you a work out. Would recommend 'The Kiosk' Bar in Piazza A Veniero off Corso Italia. Lovely staff and exceptional value drinks. Also loved The Garden wine bar on Coso Italia and Il Giardiniello Restaurant in Via dell' Accademia. (Disappointing and churlish service in Il Bufalito Restaurant). Anyway, book this hotel and enjoy.

Room Tip: We stayed in 422 - which was fine - other reviewers recommended staying on the 5th floor if poss, wh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Clootiedumpling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.8 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#23 of 100 in Sorrento
3,295 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Plaza
Hotel Plaza
#11 of 100 in Sorrento
1,732 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel del Mare
Hotel del Mare
#31 of 100 in Sorrento
785 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Hotel Prestige Sorrento
Hotel Prestige Sorrento
#27 of 100 in Sorrento
1,387 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel La Vue D'Or
Hotel La Vue D'Or
#30 of 100 in Sorrento
1,043 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Miramare
Hotel Miramare
#68 of 100 in Sorrento
372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cesare Augusto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cesare Augusto

Address: Via Degli Aranci 108, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#31 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
#46 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range: $130 - $284 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Cesare Augusto 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Hotel Cesare Augusto is a cozy four-star hotel located in the heart of the city, just few steps away from Piazza Tasso, the main square of Sorrento. Partially surrounded by a garden with towering pine trees the hotel occupies a strategic position to visit the picturesque alleys of the old town and shopping in the stores of Corso Italia or to reach the main tourist destinations such as Capri, Pompeii, Naples and the unique and wonderful Amalfi Coast. It has 120 rooms, good sized, all soundproofed and air conditioned, equipped with minibar, bathroom and shower, hairdryer, safe, satellite TV, WiFi connection and private terrace. Hotel Cesare Augusto has a roof garden with swimming pool and a solarium from which to enjoy breathtaking views of the Gulf of Naples. The hotel also has a renowned restaurant where you can taste the cuisine of Sorrento as well as those of Mediterranean and International cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cesare Augusto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cesare Augusto Hotel Sorrento
Caesar Augusto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing