We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel and amazing staff”
Review of Cesare Augusto

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Cesare Augusto
Ranked #48 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
wander
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great Hotel and amazing staff”
Reviewed August 24, 2013

The hotel, location and the staff is excellent. The hotel is value for money. Little dated but well compensated by location. Balcony in rooms is a plus. It’s a central place and a good base to explore surroundings. Stayed there for 5 days and enjoyed every bit of time there. Especially kids loved the company of Cristina, such a wonderful person. Will surely be back.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bagpackngo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

525 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    186
    209
    92
    27
    11
See reviews for
117
237
21
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2013

This hotel has everything you could possibly need and in an amazing location. Only 5 minutes walk from the bus and train station and 2 minutes into the centre of Sorrento. The road outside is not a problem if you keep the door shut and the air conditioning is a bonus.
Clean towels and the room is cleaned every day, all the staff are very friendly, the pool is such a good addition with an amazing view of Vesuvius and the bay (and dont be alarmed thinking its a paddling pool, because it is a perfect size), the rooms are a great size and the beds are super comfy.
There is also a computer an a printer in the lobby for guests to use, which is very useful when printing out tickets for day trips.
I could not fault this hotel and would be more than happy to return.

Room Tip: Ask for a high room to get a better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NicolaGraham2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 4 days recently, can not fault it. Staff were excellent, friendly and professional! Can recommend this to anyone looking for a hotel with a great location and great breakfast. Rooftop pool was excellent, with the waiting staff up there very good!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lokkalantie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2013 via mobile

We arrived on 7th August and stayed till 14th. We were bed and breakfast and never ate in the restaurant but did enjoy snacks by the pool. The drinks and snacks are very reasonably priced and very nice.

The hotel rooms are perfectly serviceable and I see much has been made of the decor which is dated (if you remember the decor of the hotel in The Shining, it has that vibe) BUT these rooms are clean, fresh towels every day and are not unpleasant. Yes the tv is not plasma but you do have free wifi and for goodness sake you are on holiday. We are a family of four two adults, two children and our rooms 115 and 116 had a connecting internal door, perfect. We were on the street side but I don't think there is much of a view of the sea from any room anyway and the balconies provide a good place to sit and watch Sorrento go by.

Air con was fab and I did not really hear much street/traffic noise unless you leave your door open but I can't really see any hotel in Sorrento fairing any better in terms of traffic noise.

Yes the pool is small but it is on the roof giving spectacular views of the Bay of Naples and Vesuvius. They provide towels for the pool which is a nice touch. There is a very pleasant area to sit and enjoy snacks or lunch can be ordered on the roof between 12 and 2:30pm I think.

The bar/reception area is very pleasant and a nice space to relax before you head for your room after an evening out.

All the staff were extremely helpful, friendly and courteous.

The location is roughly 500 yards from the main square and similar distance from the station so a perfect base to explore the local area. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay and wouldn't hesitate to stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank L13eaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2013

We had a great stay at the hotel, excellent location for main square and bus/train station. The hotel catered well for my gluten free diet and my sons food allergy, cooking different things if needed. Decor is a little dated but the hotel was clean and comfortable with excellent air conditioning. Rooms are a good size with clean towels every day. Staff were very friendly and helpful. We had a room at the front on the 3rd floor looking out over the hills, it was entertaining watching the traffic in the evening and the noise was not a problem.
I would recommend this hotel for the location and be happy to return.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank J0xxxxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincolnshire, UK
Level Contributor
104 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2013

Almost impossible to beat the location - only a few moments walk to the main crossroads in Sorrento. And yet the hotel was quiet and relaxed. Our room overlooked a side road and was very quiet.

Large room, with slightly dated decoration, but comfortable and very clean - with working aircon and wifi, both very important.

Rooftop pool (small but functional) and the rooftop bar makes an excellent pot of tea - a bit difficult to find otherwise!

Breakfast was very extensive range of food - but don't let the (attentive and friendly) waiters bring you tea or coffee, it's AWFUL. Instead, help yourself at the machines by the door!

Overall, an excellent place to stay and not over expensive, for Sorrento.

Room Tip: ask for the side road
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Peter M Grant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitstable, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2013

We have just returned from a great holiday in Sorrento Italy. We stayed at the named Hotel. It was perfect. The room although a little dated was big, cool, comfy big bed. Nice bathroom with shower. No tea and coffee making. Fridge/mini bar. Room was cleaned every day with clean towels etc. We had half board. Dinner was first class, great staff and great mix of foods both breakfast and dinner. Service to our own table for the week made us feel special, nothing was too much trouble for the staff, nice white table clothes and good utensils etc. Reception staff very good indeed and always ready to help. The location was just set back by 300m or less from Piazza Tasso. 3/4 mins walk. Although on a busy main road, we were not disturbed at night by noise. Yes! If you leave all the windows open to the balcony, then you will get a little traffic noise! Mostly Vespa scooters! Shut the doors and put the air con to min and your room is like an autumn UK bedroom! Nice. Outside, nice garden, Pool on roof with space for all on surrounding roof garden with spectacular view across the Bay Of Naples across to Vesuvius. I will happily stay there again! Thanks Cesare Augusto!

Room Tip: Maybe ask for a room on floors 2/5.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Philip H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Flora
Grand Hotel Flora
#53 of 100 in Sorrento
366 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Eden
Hotel Eden
#56 of 100 in Sorrento
645 reviews
0.8 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#25 of 100 in Sorrento
2,996 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Palazzo Guardati
Hotel Palazzo Guardati
#52 of 100 in Sorrento
461 reviews
0.2 mi away
Carlton International Hotel
Carlton International Hotel
#57 of 100 in Sorrento
616 reviews
0.1 mi away
Antiche Mura Hotel
Antiche Mura Hotel
#10 of 100 in Sorrento
2,276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cesare Augusto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cesare Augusto

Property: Cesare Augusto
Address: Via Degli Aranci 108, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#34 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
#46 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Cesare Augusto 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Hotel Cesare Augusto is a cozy four-star hotel located in the heart of the city, just few steps away from Piazza Tasso, the main square of Sorrento. Partially surrounded by a garden with towering pine trees the hotel occupies a strategic position to visit the picturesque alleys of the old town and shopping in the stores of Corso Italia or to reach the main tourist destinations such as Capri, Pompeii, Naples and the unique and wonderful Amalfi Coast. It has 120 rooms, good sized, all soundproofed and air conditioned, equipped with minibar, bathroom and shower, hairdryer, safe, satellite TV, WiFi connection and private terrace. Hotel Cesare Augusto has a roof garden with swimming pool and a solarium from which to enjoy breathtaking views of the Gulf of Naples. The hotel also has a renowned restaurant where you can taste the cuisine of Sorrento as well as those of Mediterranean and International cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cesare Augusto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cesare Augusto Hotel Sorrento
Caesar Augusto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing