We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Cesare Augusto
Nearby Hotels
Grand Hotel Capodimonte(Sorrento)
$286
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Grand Hotel Royal(Sorrento)
$614
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel del Mare(Sorrento)
$204
$173
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento(Sorrento)
$305
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Bellevue Syrene(Sorrento)
$962
$803
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$405
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori(Sorrento)
$353
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$473
$394
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$366
$352
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$285
$276
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (623)
Filter reviews
623 results
Traveler rating
230
252
99
31
11
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
230
252
99
31
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrooftop poolpiazza tassothe main squaretrain stationnice balconystarters and main coursesgood sizefree saferisottoexcellent locationhalf boardthree choicesrooms are largeevening mealbit datedair conbuffet style
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
400 - 405 of 623 reviews
Reviewed March 22, 2013

This was a substitute hotel for La Favorita which was going through some renovations last week. So, the stay was pre programmed as a disappointment from the preferred hotel. I found it to be clean, in a very good location, the front desk staff very helpful. It isn't luxurious and I could tell that it had once been quite stunning but was fading. I really hate to knock it because it wasn't La Favorita which it never claimed to be. It was a nice sized room and bath that had a working thermostat, and the plumbing worked. Breakfast buffet was very good. Would I recommend it? Definitely to budget minded travelers. Not bad, just not spectacular.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the garden side.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Journeyproud55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2013

The hotel is located in a garden. The garden extends around two ends of the hotel. Great atmosphere. Walking to shops and food is good. We walked as a group to a show. Many outdoor restaurants. There is also a nice roof top terrace. Great breakfast buffet.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jcle5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2013

we stayed in February and the hotel was nearly empty at times excepf or some tour groups and a few tourists, we had a wonderful stay in Sorrento and were able to visit Pompei and Amalfi without the crowds. the hotel is well situated very close to the train station and bus stops, and the main artery of Sorrento (Corso Italia),
the room was very large and comfortable (the beds especially) by Italian standards, with a balcony.
wifi connection was easy and reliable, the room safe is large enough for 2 small laptops,
breakfast buffet was good
the staff members were helpful.
overall we were delighted with our stay and think the hotel is a great value for the price for off season Sorrento.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank phil5-nola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2013

Quite difficult to review this hotel as in a tick box sort of way its fine spotlessly clean, excellent location, and most of the staff friendly enough. The roof top terrace is great, really nice helpful team run it and the food is fantastic value and quality – great pizza 5 euro. So why only 3 stars from me? well mainly because it just doesn't have any atmosphere there is absolutely no 'buzz' about the place. The day we arrived the only person to be seen was the guy behind reception, it felt like arriving at one of those American motels in the middle of the desert which hadn't seen a guest for years. It maybe a bit harsh marking it down on ambiance but it was something that we felt the whole week we were there so it made a difference to us. That said there is a lot good about the hotel – read on.

The dining room is vast and usually no more than 20% full and very quite - you could hear the cutlery clinking on the plates and not much else. Occasionally they did have a large party in and that really did add to the atmosphere. The food in the restaurant was very good, starters were huge (bigger than the main sometimes).

The set menu of 3 courses had at least 3 choices of starter and main and offered traditional & and vegetarian options. The dessert was buffet style which did change each night although Gelato always featured, again no complaints about quality. One issue with staff in the restaurant was their ruthless efficiency, no sooner had the last forkful been consumed than plates were whisked away.

Breakfast (buffet) is the standard continental fayre – croissants, a couple of cold meats and sliced cheese, some yoghurt pots and the slowest toaster in the world. To be fair they do also usually have scrambled and boiled eggs and either bacon (small pieces of streaky) or sausage (the small hot dog type). The coffee is from a machine and I thought it was fine. If you want tea I suggest you ask for a pot of hot water at your table. It is available by the coffee machine but it can be sitting around until almost cold.

Our room was spotlessly clean and had very efficient aircon. We were also fortunate to have a fantastic view of Vesuvius and the Bay of Naples which made evenings on the balcony with a bottle of the local juice an event. As seems to be the case in most of Europe there are no tea/coffee facilities in the room although there is a fridge/mini bar.

A really small detail point but important if you don’t like lifts, they are very small (3 people just about and 4 if you are prepared to be really really friendly with your fellow travellers). I believe the top floor is 5 so a bit of a hike. That said the lifts are very quick.

Sorrento is a great town to stay as it has plenty of bars and restaurants to keep you in the holiday mood and it is an excellent base to get out and about along the coast.

If you like browsing those (some would say ‘tacky’) tourist shops then you will enjoy Sorrento there are dozens of them in the quaint back streets and they do make for a pleasant stroll particularly in the evening after dinner (the shops seem to stay open until around 9.30) and the hotel really scores here – a 5 minute gentle stroll and your in the action..

Pompei is very easy and cheap (around 3 euro each way) by train (25 mins) and the station is a 5 min walk from the hotel. We are not overly confident using local transport when we go away but this one is easy.

On a similar point we chose to take an excursion to Capri rather than do it on our own and we were glad we did. The ferry arrangements from Sorrento looked chaotic so we were grateful to be herded in the right direction and when on Capri we got to see a lot more than we would have done ourselves. The same chaos seemed to prevail at the port for the return journey so we were happy to pay the extra to take away the stress.

I would certainly go back to Sorrento again and wouldn’t mind staying at this hotel but it probably wouldn’t be my first choice next time

Room Tip: Try and get a room 5th floor Garden side - you willl get Vesuvius and the Bayof Naples thrown in
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Pandcal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2013

We stayed here for a week at the beginning of November, 2012. The location was wonderful. We could walk everywhere. Breakfast was OK. The front desk was not friendly or helpful. We were disappointed that WiFi was an additional charge. We were traveling with Grand Circle.

Room Tip: Choose a room in the back of the hotel. Corner rooms are more spacious.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank 519penny5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews