We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good central location and spacious room”
Review of Cesare Augusto

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Cesare Augusto
Ranked #51 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
dumfries
Level Contributor
86 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Good central location and spacious room”
Reviewed May 3, 2012

The hotel is, as reviewers have commented, not very modern but it is spotlessly clean, and our room was spacious with a small sitting area and balcony. It also had a mini bar, small tv and safe. The bed linen was changed several times in our 5 night stay and the towels were large and soft - and all terry towelling, unlike many Italian hotels. It is a central location and within an easy walk of the train and bus stations and the town centre. We even walked to the marina for the ferry, with suitcases. Breakfast was ok but nothing special, except for the large, sweet croissants. There was no information in the room and the staff were polite but not particularly friendly, except the barman. Overall, the hotel was good value and a good base for sightseeing.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank bonetDumfries
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

525 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    186
    209
    92
    27
    11
See reviews for
117
237
21
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Launceston
Level Contributor
83 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2012

Albeit a tad old-fashioned, this hotel was clean, central and had the most wonderful roof-top pool. Have stayed here once on a tour with a group and again with my own family. Both times were really good.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Tropea27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2012

Stayed at the Cesare March 20-27, 2012. Very clean with a friendly staff. Very nice breakfast buffet, and we had dinner at the hotel restaurant each night with our group. Food was good, and once again, the staff was very friendly and helpful. The pool area on the roof was closed for the season; it looked like they may be updating. The area was very nice, and I was disappointed I couldn't get to the outside section. Nice views! I think I heard someone say it opens sometime in May, much like the pools here in the U.S. The train station is just right down the street, and our group took the train to Pompeii. Entertaining street musicians played for tips until the conductor showed them the door. Wished they would've stayed! The Piazza Tasso is just right down the street as well. Very convenient walking distance and good tourist shopping. I loved walking the area around the hotel! I'd stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Lennyk6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockaway
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2012

This 4 star hotel is centrally located, just a short walk from the main square of Sorrento. The rooms were spacious enough with a private balcony. We had a tiny TV but spent little time in the room for it to matter. I would have been happier if the safe worked but we managed nevertheless. The public areas are large and very nice and the grounds extremely well kept. I'd add a photo but can't figure out how to do it on this site. A buffet breakfast was included which was decent enough to start off the day. The hotel was clean and comfortable except for the traffic noise. Since we had a corner room we were hit with it from both sides. Be sure to ask for a room in the back. The location was great and they offered wi-fi for a fee. Carole

Room Tip: Be sure to ask for a room in the back or wear ear plugs!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank valueseekerRockaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2012

This place as a time capsule for the swinging 60's. The rooms are quite large, have a balcony, and nice tile floors. The desk staff does a good job of tolerating tourists and the hotel is centrally located. As noted in other reviews, the breakfast is quite good and has a wide selection from hot food (scrambled eggs) to pastries and fresh oranges and apples. There is a nice courtyard area with orange trees and various flowers where you can sit and relax. However, this hotel has not been updated. Period. It still looks like it did in the old b&w photos in the lobby area. Also, there is a lot of traffic on one side of the hotel so rooms on that side are not as quite particularly if the balcony door is open.

Room Tip: Get rooms on the front entrance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank GAGuyAtlanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, CA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2011

My wife and I enjoyed our stay. We were on the 5th floor with a nice view of the ocean. Very clean and nice room. The breakfast was the best of all of our hotel stays while in Italy. Marcello was very helpful and tolerated my poor italian. The location is hard to beat, as it is a 5 min walk to the main piazza or a 10 minute walk to the train station. You can walk up the hill from the train if you are not porting really heavy bags. A taxi will nail for 10-15 euro for a 3 minute cab ride if you wish. The rooftop pool was really cool with a great view of the city. You will have to pay a daily fee for internet access.

Room Tip: 5th floor on the ocean side if you can!
See more room tips
Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
8 Thank Jim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2011

We stayed in this hotel for a week on a half board basis, it was spotlessly clean & bedding & towels were changed daily. The food was excellent with 4 choices of a starter & main course each day, desserts were self service. We had a great time as the hotel was very central and near the main square. The service in the dining room was excellent; the waiters were very helpful, efficient, accommodating & worked extremely hard. On the downside we asked for a room at the back of the hotel as the front overlooked the main road but were told that this was not possible as they were fully booked, even though the hotel did not seem to be over busy, therefore we ended up with a room on the 4th floor overlooking the main road which was very noisy and it was not possible to sit out on the balcony due to the traffic. There were also many emergency vehicles going by with their sirens blaring as there is a hospital nearby. Another downside is that the reception staff were extremely unfriendly and we were told that this has always been the case, they were not welcoming & their attitude was extremely cold, however, this said, we would recommend this hotel as it certainly ticked the boxes for us. Sorrento is a beautiful place steeped in history with so much to see and do.
Our thanks also to Angie our travel rep from Thomas Cook for all her help & advice.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back of the hotel when booking as the front of the hotel is very noisy & o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank luv2bfreeEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Flora
Grand Hotel Flora
#52 of 100 in Sorrento
366 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Eden
Hotel Eden
#56 of 100 in Sorrento
645 reviews
0.8 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#25 of 100 in Sorrento
2,997 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Palazzo Guardati
Hotel Palazzo Guardati
#53 of 100 in Sorrento
463 reviews
0.2 mi away
Carlton International Hotel
Carlton International Hotel
#58 of 100 in Sorrento
616 reviews
0.1 mi away
Antiche Mura Hotel
Antiche Mura Hotel
#10 of 100 in Sorrento
2,277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cesare Augusto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cesare Augusto

Property: Cesare Augusto
Address: Via Degli Aranci 108, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#36 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
#46 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Cesare Augusto 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Hotel Cesare Augusto is a cozy four-star hotel located in the heart of the city, just few steps away from Piazza Tasso, the main square of Sorrento. Partially surrounded by a garden with towering pine trees the hotel occupies a strategic position to visit the picturesque alleys of the old town and shopping in the stores of Corso Italia or to reach the main tourist destinations such as Capri, Pompeii, Naples and the unique and wonderful Amalfi Coast. It has 120 rooms, good sized, all soundproofed and air conditioned, equipped with minibar, bathroom and shower, hairdryer, safe, satellite TV, WiFi connection and private terrace. Hotel Cesare Augusto has a roof garden with swimming pool and a solarium from which to enjoy breathtaking views of the Gulf of Naples. The hotel also has a renowned restaurant where you can taste the cuisine of Sorrento as well as those of Mediterranean and International cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Cancelon, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Cesare Augusto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cesare Augusto Hotel Sorrento
Caesar Augusto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing