We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice hotel and excellent breakfast”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Cesare Augusto

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Cesare Augusto
Ranked #51 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Irvine, CA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Very nice hotel and excellent breakfast”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2011

My wife and I enjoyed our stay. We were on the 5th floor with a nice view of the ocean. Very clean and nice room. The breakfast was the best of all of our hotel stays while in Italy. Marcello was very helpful and tolerated my poor italian. The location is hard to beat, as it is a 5 min walk to the main piazza or a 10 minute walk to the train station. You can walk up the hill from the train if you are not porting really heavy bags. A taxi will nail for 10-15 euro for a 3 minute cab ride if you wish. The rooftop pool was really cool with a great view of the city. You will have to pay a daily fee for internet access.

Room Tip: 5th floor on the ocean side if you can!
See more room tips
Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
8 Thank Jim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

500 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    174
    200
    89
    26
    11
See reviews for
113
224
19
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
England
Level Contributor
34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2011

We stayed in this hotel for a week on a half board basis, it was spotlessly clean & bedding & towels were changed daily. The food was excellent with 4 choices of a starter & main course each day, desserts were self service. We had a great time as the hotel was very central and near the main square. The service in the dining room was excellent; the waiters were very helpful, efficient, accommodating & worked extremely hard. On the downside we asked for a room at the back of the hotel as the front overlooked the main road but were told that this was not possible as they were fully booked, even though the hotel did not seem to be over busy, therefore we ended up with a room on the 4th floor overlooking the main road which was very noisy and it was not possible to sit out on the balcony due to the traffic. There were also many emergency vehicles going by with their sirens blaring as there is a hospital nearby. Another downside is that the reception staff were extremely unfriendly and we were told that this has always been the case, they were not welcoming & their attitude was extremely cold, however, this said, we would recommend this hotel as it certainly ticked the boxes for us. Sorrento is a beautiful place steeped in history with so much to see and do.
Our thanks also to Angie our travel rep from Thomas Cook for all her help & advice.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back of the hotel when booking as the front of the hotel is very noisy & o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank luv2bfreeEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2011

Wonderful hotel would stay here again in a moment. When you go for dinner you feel like you are realy looked after, all the staff were very helpful. Great location

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank suzie0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2011

Having spent a long time trawling through hotel websites I selected this hotel because it had good reviews and an excellent location. On arrival I was told that they had no rooms available even though I had paid the full amount through this website. We were transferred to the Plaza Hotel nearby which I would strongly recommend. It has excellent staff, cleanliness, breakfast buffet, small but nice swimming pool and free internet. However unlike the Cesare Augusto it does not have a restaurant for evening meals. What is the point of spending time choosing a hotel only to be told on arrival that they have no rooms? No explanation was given.

Room Tip: Go to the Plaza instead
See more room tips
Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
Review collected in partnership with OctopusTravel

Helpful?
4 Thank GeoffreyLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2011

My mum and I have just returned from a week at the Cesare Augusto and had a fantastic stay. The hotel couldn't have been in a better location for us. Just a few minutes walk from the bars and restaurants of Piazza Tasso, and perfectly located for a stroll into town.

We spent a number of days relaxing on the roof terrace by the pool, which has fantastic views and is very peaceful and quiet. The food at the roof top snack bar and the restaurant was fantastic. A really nice choice and great quality food every day.

Our twin room was very spacious and had a nice balcony overlooking the garden. It was very clean and airy. The staff were excellent - really friendly and efficient - and we both agreed that this was a perfect hotel for a nice relaxing week in Sorrento. Highly recommended for a good hotel in a central location!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank nicandrobin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2011

Hotel room: very clean, very cool, very spacious
Hotel location: very close to the town but still quiet, near bus and train station and supermarkets... couldn't be much better!
Food: Waiters very friendly... I miss them lots! Always seemed very happy and couldn't be more happy to help!
I wish I could go back this year!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bombastic90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
53 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2011

The lobby and dining areas were large for groups. Staff was friendly. Ask for room 307--it was a corner room with balcony and small living room. Very nice bathroom and plenty of walking room! Mini bar and safe. Average twin bed comfort. Typical European breakfast. Group members said the pool and outdoor dining was nice. Easy walking distance into city. Plenty of restaurants, shopping and night club. Take an excursion to Capri...easy to ride the ferry or jetfoil. Just beautiful!

Room Tip: Again, ask for a room with a separate living room...nice size rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Italytwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel La Vue D'Or
Hotel La Vue D'Or
#32 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 893 reviews
0.8 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#25 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,843 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Eden
Hotel Eden
#50 of 100 in Sorrento
4.0 of 5 bubbles 617 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Villa Maria
Hotel Villa Maria
#75 of 100 in Sorrento
3.5 of 5 bubbles 599 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Palazzo Guardati
Hotel Palazzo Guardati
#49 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 445 reviews
0.2 mi away
Carlton International Hotel
Carlton International Hotel
#57 of 100 in Sorrento
3.5 of 5 bubbles 586 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cesare Augusto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cesare Augusto

Property: Cesare Augusto
Address: Via Degli Aranci 108, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#36 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
#46 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Cesare Augusto 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Hotel Cesare Augusto is a cozy four-star hotel located in the heart of the city, just few steps away from Piazza Tasso, the main square of Sorrento. Partially surrounded by a garden with towering pine trees the hotel occupies a strategic position to visit the picturesque alleys of the old town and shopping in the stores of Corso Italia or to reach the main tourist destinations such as Capri, Pompeii, Naples and the unique and wonderful Amalfi Coast. It has 120 rooms, good sized, all soundproofed and air conditioned, equipped with minibar, bathroom and shower, hairdryer, safe, satellite TV, WiFi connection and private terrace. Hotel Cesare Augusto has a roof garden with swimming pool and a solarium from which to enjoy breathtaking views of the Gulf of Naples. The hotel also has a renowned restaurant where you can taste the cuisine of Sorrento as well as those of Mediterranean and International cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cesare Augusto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cesare Augusto Hotel Sorrento
Caesar Augusto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing