We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice budget hotel”
Review of Hotel del Mare

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel del Mare
Ranked #35 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Nice budget hotel”
Reviewed June 8, 2014 via mobile

It's a nice hotel located at marina grande... The rooms are small but clean.. The shower cabin is terribly tiny ... but overall the service is very good and the staff very polite and helpful.. The main market is 10 minutes away and if you plan to go to Capri, this is the ideal place to stay...

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Talwardivya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mickeymouse047, Direttore at Hotel del Mare, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Thank you very much for your honest review, we are very grateful to you for your overall impressions. We shall be delighted to welcome you again on your next visit.
Kind regards
Gianni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

728 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    380
    258
    58
    23
    9
See reviews for
168
343
17
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2014

My wife and I visited Sorrento from 12th to 20th May and, as independent travellers on this occasion, we sourced our hotel by searching the internet. We eventually found the Hotel del Mare and what a find.

It is a lovely small hotel located in the old fishing village of Marina Grande where the ambiance is one of a working environment and not that of a holiday resort. The hotel is literally built on the side of the volcanic cliffs and the exposed rock wall in the small dining room is real and not a design feature.

Our room was small, but, as we were mostly out sightseeing or sleeping off our long walks, it was ideal. Due to the nature of the environment and the way the buildings are built closely together, there are some rooms without any view. Our room was one of those, but for the very favourable price we paid, we had no complaints. I only mention it as there are other rooms available that have balconies that look out over the street if that’s what you want.

The hotel was extremely clean and our towels were changed every day.

Breakfast was taken in the aforementioned dining room and was self-service buffet style. No full English, if that’s what you want, but, hey, you’re in Italy. Eggs had to be put into an egg heating thing(!) to boil them and this incurred a wait but get the timing right and this is how you’ll always boil your eggs in future. Fried and scrambled are available if you ask the staff. The coffee is excellent by the way, as are the pastries.

One outstanding feature of the hotel is the staff. We were made extremely welcome from the moment we walked in and everyone was very friendly and helpful.

We were extremely pleased with our internet find as we spotted a couple of other hotels that we had considered that were either far too far away from the centre of Sorrento or slap bang in the middle of it. The Hotel del Mare is about a 10-15 mins walk away from the buzz of Sorrento and, again due to the geography of the environment, it is steep in places but very pleasant if you keep to the coastal walkway.

Would I go back to Hotel del Mare? Yes, in an instant.

Room Tip: Decide if a view is important to you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Albo15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mickeymouse047, Direttore at Hotel del Mare, responded to this review, June 5, 2014
We are simply overjoyed by your kindest report, thank you.
We could not think of better words to describe our Hotel the way you did, that is a great bonus for us, thank you.
Your fair and honest descriptions will certainly encourage our future guests to choose us for their holidays in Sorrento.
Thank you again, please come back to Sorrento and come and visit us again.
Kind regards
Gianni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 3, 2014

Stayed at this hotel towards the end of May. It is a very nice hotel, clean and modern. The staff were kind and friendly. The night manager Giovanni was a very friendly and kind. I enjoyed speaking with him each night before bed. The only suggestion I would have for the hotel and most hotels in Italy, is please provide a computer for guests to use. I was taking lots of pictures and need ed to clear my memory cards to memory sticks, so a computer would of been useful.

Room Tip: Balcony is nice, but the roof top is where you want to spend your time.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Canadian_Travelbug1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mickeymouse047, Direttore at Hotel del Mare, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
Thank you very much for you nice report. I would like to thank you also on behalf of all my Staff as well as the night manager Giovanni. I sincerely regret that you missed on the house computer that we have in front of our desk, and it is for the use of our guests, for a small charge. Had we known your needs we would have immediately fulfilled your wishes.
Please do come again, we shall be grateful to you if you do.
Kind regards
Gianni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Welland, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed June 3, 2014

We arrived to the Hotel Del Mare after a day at Pompeii Ruins and a train ride to Sorrento. We received a great welcome with smiling faces and Toni helped us with our luggage, and brought us to our room. The room was clean and had everything we needed. We had a view of Mount Vesuvius from our window and the terrace a few short steps away had a beautiful view. We relaxed there our first hour with some prosecco...couldn't have been a more perfect moment!!! The restaurants are close and the city center is just a 15 minute walk. The breakfast were great and the service was excellent.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joanne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mickeymouse047, Direttore at Hotel del Mare, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
Together with my Staff I would like to thank you for your kindest words, we are overwhelmed, thank you. We are looking forward to welcoming you again for another relaxing holiday.
Kindest regards
Gianni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
2 reviews
Reviewed June 2, 2014

My group of three was very comfortable in a room with a view of Mt. Vesuvius. It was clean and we had everything we needed and requested. The sun deck area was lovely, and the staff was happy to bring a cocktail to us as we watched the sun go down. The hotel is in the marina part of town, so there were lots of good seafood restaurants to chose from, and is a 10 minute walk into town. The staff was very helpful with transportation and any other travel questions we had. The breakfast was divine--huge assortment of pastries, fruit, bread, cereal, and eggs would be cooked to order. Overall, it was a great value for the price, and a lovely place to stay.

Room Tip: Top floor has direct access to the sun deck. Ask for a water view room, for a little more, very wor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank denise o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mickeymouse047, Direttore at Hotel del Mare, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
We are overwhelmed by such kind review, thank you so much. Your words, no doubt, will be of assistance to those travellers who are planning to come and spend some relaxing days with us.Thank you again, we will be thrilled if you ever think to come over again.
Kind regards
Gianni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarkesville, Georgia
Level Contributor
57 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2014

Lovely small hotel just a few yards off the Grande Marina. Rooms were small but clean and bright, and well appointed. There were 3 of us, so they pulled out a twin wall bed for my teenage son while my husband and I slept in adjoining twin beds. Our room did not look out on the ocean, but we had a view of the beautiful hillside behind the hotel, and the winding street leading up to the town center of Sorrento. Breakfast was delicious. Staff was welcoming, helpful, and always willing to please. We had free internet. There was also a computer hooked up to the internet which you could rent right by the desk. The staff was willing to print out an email for me (tickets for our train the next morning) for no charge. At night we headed up to the rooftop terrace for a lovely view of the ocean, and sat wrapped up in a blanket on their chairs. Another couple came up with their tray of antipasti and wine, which looked quite romantic. The hotel arranged a lovely day boat ride to Capri for us and several other guests, were picked up right from the hotel lobby and taken to the highly reputable boat touring company. All in all a terrific place to stay. We hope to return in a few years, and will hopefully get to stay here again. Reasonably priced, safe, a good location, and great staff.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alice H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mickeymouse047, Direttore at Hotel del Mare, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
What a lovely review, it is a great pleasure to read such an accurate and straightforward account of your experience at the Hotel del Mare. We are indeed grateful to you, thank you.
Please, do come and see us again we shall be honoured with your presence.
Kind regards
Gianni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai, India
Level Contributor
69 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2014

This is a must stay if anyone is travelling to Sorrento. The staff was brilliant. The reception managers were extremely helpful and had answers to all queries one would require for the their day to day sightseeing. They help you with weather forecast, travel options and all other details a traveler might require to plan their day. The hotel is amazing well located, just a few meters from the sea. The rooms are very well equipped with all amenities. A very cozy and comfortable room with a very warm and romantic balcony.
Though the location is a bit of a walk from the station and main city center, there is a quick and frequent bus getting there which again the reception manager has a time table for.
In a nutshell, one must stay here.

Room Tip: Front side facing room on a higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank g_akhil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mickeymouse047, Direttore at Hotel del Mare, responded to this review, May 30, 2014
Thank you very much for your overwhelming review, together with all the Staff I would like to express my sincere appreciation for your kind words.
Please do not hesitate to get in touch with us on your next visit, we shall be honoured to welcome you again.
Kind regards
Gianni Galano
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.7 mi away
Il Nido Hotel Sorrento
Il Nido Hotel Sorrento
#24 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,699 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#25 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,901 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Sorrento City
Hotel Sorrento City
#45 of 100 in Sorrento
4.0 of 5 bubbles 738 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Ulisse Deluxe Hostel
Ulisse Deluxe Hostel
#33 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,321 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Villa Fiorita
Hotel Villa Fiorita
#42 of 100 in Sorrento
4.0 of 5 bubbles 444 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Rivoli Sorrento
Hotel Rivoli Sorrento
#40 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel del Mare? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel del Mare

Property: Hotel del Mare
Address: Via del Mare 30, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#9 Best Value Hotel in Sorrento
#28 Family Hotel in Sorrento
#34 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel del Mare 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of the old sea hamlet of Marina Grande of Sorrento, the Hotel del Mare is a cosy 3-star hotel which offers its hospitality to all those who wish to get involved in the magical atmosphere of a unique hidden jewel, situated in one of the most enchanting towns in the Gulf of Naples. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel del Mare reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Del Mare Hotel
Del Mare Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing