We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (868)
Filter reviews
868 results
Traveler rating
455
309
69
24
11
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
455
309
69
24
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviews rooftop terrace minute walk fishing village rooms are small beautiful marina pastries main town up hill hotel is located train station sea view balcony room would definitely stay here again eggs and bacon breakfast staff steep walk lovely hotel
Filter
Updating list...
375 - 380 of 868 reviews
Reviewed May 11, 2014

Away from the hustle and bustle of Sorrento town this little hotel's main strength are it's very helpful (sometimes over zealous?) staff. Really clean rooms with a lovely roof top seating area with good views over the marina. Only issues that stopped this getting 5 stars was a very noisy boat builders next door, microwaved meals from the attached restaurant and whilst it's not their fault (due to Italian law?) extremely hot rooms at night due to no aircon (registered 25 degrees which the supplied fan could do nothing about). Otherwise a lovely hotel with exceptionally good staff and a nice location. Recommended.

Date of stay: May 2014
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1  Thank TVEDU_Red
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mickeymouse047, Direttore at Hotel del Mare, responded to this reviewResponded May 12, 2014

Thank you for taking your time to write about your overall opinion regarding your stay at the Hotel del Mare.
We are particularly grateful for your views about our Staff, who are a dedicated team and nothing is too much for them. Looking forward to welcoming you again, perhaps, with the new forthcoming addition to the family. Best wishes
Gianni Galano

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2014

As many others have commented, the location of this hotel is excellent. Marina Grande is simply beautiful - my favourite spot in Sorrento. It's great to be away from the hustle and bustle of the town - believe me, those central streets get crowded! The hotel is close enough to pop back to and from the town centre whenever you want, but far enough not to be overrun.

The staff were very friendly. The man on reception jumped up from behind the desk before we'd even walked in the hotel door - he saw us outside and came to take our cases. All the staff I had contact with were equally welcoming.

The room was small - with two adults and two suitcases in there, there wasn't much room to move around. The main problem I had with the room was that the walls were very thin - I could hear conversations next door, and when the next room used their bathroom, it seemed as loud as if it was right in our room, which woke us up more than once.

The breakfast was great - plenty of choice, both sweet and savoury, and restocked regularly as guests came and went. Proper tea was particularly appreciated.

Overall, while the hotel isn't perfect, I think that the great location, staff and breakfast make up for the noise. I do recommend this hotel, unless silence is your number one consideration.

Date of stay: May 2014
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lucy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mickeymouse047, Direttore at Hotel del Mare, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2014

Thank you very much for your very true and very honest opinion. Unfortunately, we are not perfect as you say, We are aware of our not immaculate reputation, but we try our best to make all our guests special and feel at ease whilst they are spending one night or two weeks with us . Thank you so much for being such a reputable witness. We all look forward to welcoming you again should you ever plan to ‘Torna a Surriento’ as the song goes.
Kind regards
Gianni Galano

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2014

The location of the hotel is excellent. It is located in Marina Grande which is a nice 10-15 minute walk from the centre of town. Marina Grande is quiet and laid back with several nice restaurants close by.

The staff is excellent. They were very welcoming upon our arrival and showed up to our room as well as showing us the amenities of the room. We got a sea view room on the 3rd floor which had great views of the ocean and Mt Vesuvius. The staff is also helpful in planning excursions and providing information on the area.

The rooms have all the amenities needed but are very small. We are a family of 4 and found the room very cramped for the 4 of us. The room would be sufficient for 2 people though. Also note the beds are very hard.

Breakfast is included and is very good. The pastries are freshly made on site and were some of the best pastries that we tasted on our Italy trip. Highly recommended.

Date of stay: April 2014
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jamielidd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mickeymouse047, Direttore at Hotel del Mare, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2014

Thank you so much for your kind and honest review. We have duly noted your recommendations and will certainly follow your advice. Thank you.
We also hope to welcome you again, in the not too distant future, to show you our improvements. Kind regards
Gianni Galano

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2014

A wonderful hotel with great staff in a superb location. I stayed here with my wife over the bank holiday weekend and thoroughly enjoyed our stay here. The hotel is spotlessly clean and has traditionally decorated rooms with a modern flavour. We had a room with a balcony on the third floor which had plenty of space. Only the 4 rooms on the third floor at the rear of the hotel have a sea view. I would guess this is lovely as they look over the Marina Grande and Vesuvius. The hotel location for us was perfect as it was close to the restaurants of Marina Grande and a 10-15 min walk up the steps to central Sorrento. Ther is also a bus from the marina to the central square for €1.30 each way if you don't fancy the walk. The staff could not have been more friendly or helpfull, they certainly make you feel welcome without being pushy. As breakfast is included inyour rate it is a good idea to take advantage of the cold buffet as the breakfast room itself is cut into the mountainside. Would definitely recommend the hotel.

Room tip: Third floor at the rear of the hotel for a sea view
Date of stay: May 2014
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RobD227
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mickeymouse047, Direttore at Hotel del Mare, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2014

How can we say thank you to such an overwhelming review.
Your appreciations and honest descriptions are indeed very rewarding and make us even more committed to our Guests. Please ‘Torna a Surriento’ as the song goes, we shall be more than delighted to welcoming you again.
Thank you
Gianni Galano

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2014

This small hotel had wonderful staff they arranged transport from and to the airport and couldn't do enough to make our stay wonderful. They even opened the breakfast room half an hour early so we could eat before our return flight. The location is lovely just a few yards from the sea and a reasonable walk to the main square although this is up hill. The hotel was very clean and although the rooms are small they were perfectly adequate.
However do not eat at the seven sisters restaurant by the sea quite frankly the worst meal I have ever eaten

Date of stay: April 2014
Trip type: Traveled with family
1  Thank lyn_scott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mickeymouse047, Direttore at Hotel del Mare, responded to this reviewResponded May 3, 2014

Thank you so much for such an overwhelming review about our Staff, it makes us feel very proud, determined and attached to our mission. Thank you.
Let us know when and if you will be planning your next visit to this part of the world, we shall be honoured to welcome you again.
Best regards
Gianni Galano

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews