We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small, friendly and spotlessly clean!”
Review of Hotel del Mare

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel del Mare
Ranked #34 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Marlborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Small, friendly and spotlessly clean!”
Reviewed May 11, 2014 via mobile

Away from the hustle and bustle of Sorrento town this little hotel's main strength are it's very helpful (sometimes over zealous?) staff. Really clean rooms with a lovely roof top seating area with good views over the marina. Only issues that stopped this getting 5 stars was a very noisy boat builders next door, microwaved meals from the attached restaurant and whilst it's not their fault (due to Italian law?) extremely hot rooms at night due to no aircon (registered 25 degrees which the supplied fan could do nothing about). Otherwise a lovely hotel with exceptionally good staff and a nice location. Recommended.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank CowheadUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mickeymouse047, Direttore at Hotel del Mare, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
Thank you for taking your time to write about your overall opinion regarding your stay at the Hotel del Mare.
We are particularly grateful for your views about our Staff, who are a dedicated team and nothing is too much for them. Looking forward to welcoming you again, perhaps, with the new forthcoming addition to the family. Best wishes
Gianni Galano
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

738 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    385
    263
    58
    23
    9
See reviews for
173
347
17
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2014

As many others have commented, the location of this hotel is excellent. Marina Grande is simply beautiful - my favourite spot in Sorrento. It's great to be away from the hustle and bustle of the town - believe me, those central streets get crowded! The hotel is close enough to pop back to and from the town centre whenever you want, but far enough not to be overrun.

The staff were very friendly. The man on reception jumped up from behind the desk before we'd even walked in the hotel door - he saw us outside and came to take our cases. All the staff I had contact with were equally welcoming.

The room was small - with two adults and two suitcases in there, there wasn't much room to move around. The main problem I had with the room was that the walls were very thin - I could hear conversations next door, and when the next room used their bathroom, it seemed as loud as if it was right in our room, which woke us up more than once.

The breakfast was great - plenty of choice, both sweet and savoury, and restocked regularly as guests came and went. Proper tea was particularly appreciated.

Overall, while the hotel isn't perfect, I think that the great location, staff and breakfast make up for the noise. I do recommend this hotel, unless silence is your number one consideration.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lucy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mickeymouse047, Direttore at Hotel del Mare, responded to this review, May 9, 2014
Thank you very much for your very true and very honest opinion. Unfortunately, we are not perfect as you say, We are aware of our not immaculate reputation, but we try our best to make all our guests special and feel at ease whilst they are spending one night or two weeks with us . Thank you so much for being such a reputable witness. We all look forward to welcoming you again should you ever plan to ‘Torna a Surriento’ as the song goes.
Kind regards
Gianni Galano
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ancaster, On
Level Contributor
94 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2014

The location of the hotel is excellent. It is located in Marina Grande which is a nice 10-15 minute walk from the centre of town. Marina Grande is quiet and laid back with several nice restaurants close by.

The staff is excellent. They were very welcoming upon our arrival and showed up to our room as well as showing us the amenities of the room. We got a sea view room on the 3rd floor which had great views of the ocean and Mt Vesuvius. The staff is also helpful in planning excursions and providing information on the area.

The rooms have all the amenities needed but are very small. We are a family of 4 and found the room very cramped for the 4 of us. The room would be sufficient for 2 people though. Also note the beds are very hard.

Breakfast is included and is very good. The pastries are freshly made on site and were some of the best pastries that we tasted on our Italy trip. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jamielidd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mickeymouse047, Direttore at Hotel del Mare, responded to this review, May 9, 2014
Thank you so much for your kind and honest review. We have duly noted your recommendations and will certainly follow your advice. Thank you.
We also hope to welcome you again, in the not too distant future, to show you our improvements. Kind regards
Gianni Galano
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2014

A wonderful hotel with great staff in a superb location. I stayed here with my wife over the bank holiday weekend and thoroughly enjoyed our stay here. The hotel is spotlessly clean and has traditionally decorated rooms with a modern flavour. We had a room with a balcony on the third floor which had plenty of space. Only the 4 rooms on the third floor at the rear of the hotel have a sea view. I would guess this is lovely as they look over the Marina Grande and Vesuvius. The hotel location for us was perfect as it was close to the restaurants of Marina Grande and a 10-15 min walk up the steps to central Sorrento. Ther is also a bus from the marina to the central square for €1.30 each way if you don't fancy the walk. The staff could not have been more friendly or helpfull, they certainly make you feel welcome without being pushy. As breakfast is included inyour rate it is a good idea to take advantage of the cold buffet as the breakfast room itself is cut into the mountainside. Would definitely recommend the hotel.

Room Tip: Third floor at the rear of the hotel for a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rob D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mickeymouse047, Direttore at Hotel del Mare, responded to this review, May 9, 2014
How can we say thank you to such an overwhelming review.
Your appreciations and honest descriptions are indeed very rewarding and make us even more committed to our Guests. Please ‘Torna a Surriento’ as the song goes, we shall be more than delighted to welcoming you again.
Thank you
Gianni Galano
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2014 via mobile

This small hotel had wonderful staff they arranged transport from and to the airport and couldn't do enough to make our stay wonderful. They even opened the breakfast room half an hour early so we could eat before our return flight. The location is lovely just a few yards from the sea and a reasonable walk to the main square although this is up hill. The hotel was very clean and although the rooms are small they were perfectly adequate.
However do not eat at the seven sisters restaurant by the sea quite frankly the worst meal I have ever eaten

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank lyn_scott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mickeymouse047, Direttore at Hotel del Mare, responded to this review, May 3, 2014
Thank you so much for such an overwhelming review about our Staff, it makes us feel very proud, determined and attached to our mission. Thank you.
Let us know when and if you will be planning your next visit to this part of the world, we shall be honoured to welcome you again.
Best regards
Gianni Galano
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2014

Stayed here for four nights with our twelve-year-old daughter. Room was small but perfectly adequate for our needs. Our daughter loved sitting on the roof terrace. Staff were charming and the bar was reasonably priced. We loved the location on Marina Grande - the area has kept its charm, perhaps because it is slightly cut off from the rest of Sorrento. This means it has a very relaxed atmosphere, with some lovely bars and restaurants, as well as local fishermen, a boatyard, and an assortment of cats. It is a pleasant walk or easy bus ride to the town centre and railway station. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Laura R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mickeymouse047, Direttore at Hotel del Mare, responded to this review, April 16, 2014
Thank you very much for your kind words. Please do let us know if you are ever planning to come back to Sorrento (as the song goes it is very difficult to keep away), we shall be overwhelmed to welcome you again.
Kindest regards
Gianni Galano
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2014

We found this hotel at the very last minute and i thought it was great value for money. Right in the heart of sorrento and right at the coast. Rooms were a little small and had a funky smell but we got used to it. The bathroom was not heated so it was a little chilly in there but they had heated water so not really a problem. We had a descent view but spoilt a little with the construction at the building in front. Other then that it was great. Get to terrace for a better view!
The staff are excellent. Always wiling to assist. The hotel was very accesible through bus and car. Walking is downhill to get to hotel and bit of hike to get back to sorrento main street but that is a normal thing in sorrento. As i said bus is always an option and it comes almost within the hotel doorsteps. Restaurant options are good right along the coastal line. We loved sorrento and with a small budget del mare made it worth while!

Room Tip: facing the coastal line higher up the floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DineshNeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mickeymouse047, Direttore at Hotel del Mare, responded to this review, April 12, 2014
Thank you very much for your appreciative review; we sincerely hope to welcome you again should you ever come back to Sorrento.
Kind regards
Gianni Galano
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.9 mi away
Hotel Villa Fiorita
Hotel Villa Fiorita
#46 of 100 in Sorrento
455 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ulisse Deluxe Hostel
Ulisse Deluxe Hostel
#33 of 100 in Sorrento
1,335 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#25 of 100 in Sorrento
2,996 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Mignon
Hotel Mignon
#30 of 100 in Sorrento
474 reviews
0.7 mi away
Il Nido Hotel Sorrento
Il Nido Hotel Sorrento
#23 of 100 in Sorrento
1,725 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Rivoli Sorrento
Hotel Rivoli Sorrento
#42 of 100 in Sorrento
353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel del Mare? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel del Mare

Property: Hotel del Mare
Address: Via del Mare 30, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#28 Family Hotel in Sorrento
#34 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel del Mare 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of the old sea hamlet of Marina Grande of Sorrento, the Hotel del Mare is a cosy 3-star hotel which offers its hospitality to all those who wish to get involved in the magical atmosphere of a unique hidden jewel, situated in one of the most enchanting towns in the Gulf of Naples. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel del Mare reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Del Mare Hotel
Del Mare Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing