We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming hotel in perfect location”
Review of Hotel del Mare

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel del Mare
Ranked #35 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Charming hotel in perfect location”
Reviewed July 27, 2013

We stayed for four nights in late May 2013. The room was bright, clean, and comfortable. The staff was welcoming and attentive. The location was absolutely wonderful. Marina Grande is a charming fishing village with wonderful restaurants. Sorrento is a short, scenic walk away. Great location from which to visit Capri, the Amalfi Coast, and Herculaneum and Pompeii. Our stay in the very pretty Hotel del Mare was delightful! We look forward to returning.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrea1226
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mickeymouse047, Direttore at Hotel del Mare, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Thank you so much for taking your time to write such an appreciative report on the Hotel del Mare and Marina Grande. Your gentle and honest description will give the would-be holidaymakers a truthful outlook on our Hotel and location of Marina Grande.
We would be thrilled to have you again in the not too distant future.
Kind regards
Gianni Galano
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

729 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    381
    258
    58
    23
    9
See reviews for
169
343
17
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2013

This hotel is in Marina Grande just metres from the beach. We stayed for 5 nights in a family room which had bunk beds for the kids. Our room was spacious and very clean. We had a small balcony and the hotel had a roof top terrace where we had drinks at night . The staff were very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Teresaink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mickeymouse047, Direttore at Hotel del Mare, responded to this review, July 27, 2013
Thank you very much for your appreciative review. We sincerely hope to welcome you again in the not too distant future.
Kind regards
Gianni Galano
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2013

My favorite things about Hotel Del Mare: rooftop terrace, breakfast, location. My friends and I stayed 4 nights here. This is a small hotel located just outside Sorrento center in Marina Grande. I loved this location - great restaurants only steps away, an easy and scenic walk to the center of Sorrento, beautiful sunsets, and a very local feel. My room was in the 'basement,' and while that may not be everyone's first preference, Hotel Del Mare made up for it with a fantastic rooftop terrace. I didn't spend any time in my room with the rooftop terrace as an option. (Room was clean with enough storage to feel at home for multiple nights.) The rooftop terrace has seating in the shade or sun, it overlooks the sea towards Mt. Vesuvius; you can order a drink and relax or you can soak up the sun. Hotel Del Mare had my favorite breakfast over 2 weeks' worth of travel with plenty of food options, friendly staff, and really good coffee! I recommend Hotel Del Mare.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WaNadine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mickeymouse047, Direttore at Hotel del Mare, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Thank you so much for your generous appreciative comments. Your accurate description will encourage the attentive traveller who plans to come and visit this area.
Thank you again and ‘arrivederci’
Gianni Galano
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2013

We stayed at the hotel for three nights in mid July. One couple had a room with a balcony facing the front, we had a room on the 3rd floor with a sea view. The hotel and rooms were very clean and comfortable, the staff was attentive and the location was great. Just steps away from the Marina Grande made it the perfect location. The roof top terrace on the 4th floor was outstanding and if you can book the 4th room you won't regret it. We would not hesitate to book again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LuxyTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mickeymouse047, Direttore at Hotel del Mare, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Thank you very much for taking your time to write about us. We value all our guest's opinion
and yours is certainly most welcome. Please do not hesitate to come again, we will make sure you will get a top floor room.
Thank you again
Gianni GAlano
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bromsgrove, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed July 23, 2013

We are a little late adding this review, better late than never. We stayed in June 2013 for 4 nights. What a lovely hotel, location is brilliant, just 1 minute from the marina grande where we spent quite a bit of spare time. We were in Sorrento for a friends wedding which was amazing due to how stunning Sorrento is itself. I totally recommend the Hotel del Mare it was such a great hotel to spend our time at, all family run and very welcoming. We will hopefully be going back at some point in the future.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mickeymouse047, Direttore at Hotel del Mare, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Better late than never, I would say. Thank you for taking your time and effort to write such a beautiful review about us, we are indeed grateful.
Please let us know when your plans will bring you this way, we shall be overjoyed to welcome you again.
Best regards
Gianni Galano
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2013

We would definitely stay here again. This is definately a 3 star hotel but gets a 4 star review (it is what it says it is).

Our room was bright and perfectly adequate. We'd booked a room with a balcony which cost a little extra but I think was worth it. We emailed about 1 week in advance to request a sea view from our balcony and were put on a waiting list. Instead we had a room at the front of the hotel (as seen on their website photos), this looks away from the sea up the main road. This was fine for us.  Looking at the hotel we Didnt believe they could have many sea views so if you're desperate for one, make sure to ask way in advance.

The hotels located a little way out of the centre of sorrento in the marine grande. This turned out to be a massive plus for us! It has a small sandy beach (unusual for stoney sorrento) and a small cordened off swimming area. The Italians seemed to frequent this beach area with their families in the early evenings. For a small marina it also has an abundance of great restaurants for cheaper than sorrento centre. Many people appear to walk from sorrento to the marina grande for their dinner. It's an easy 10min walk from the marina to the centre up the stairs to the right of the marina (when looking at the sea), the hotel staff will point you in the correct direction. There's also 2 buses serve sorrento centre from marina grande; the local bus (I think it was line d but do double check!) and the grey marina grande shuttle. Tickets are about 1€ and you can buy them in the marina's small supermarket. These follow a longer route than the direct walking route and you probably only need take them with luggage.

It's also worth knowing that there's a direct bus from just outside sorrento train station to naples airport. It cost 10€.   The information desk outside the station is very useful and can provide information on this.

We didn't have enough time in sorrento. We intend to return and will probably opt to stay at hotel del mare again due to the location and value for money in comparison to the other hotels in the area.

Room Tip: We'd booked a room with a balcony which cost a little extra but I think was worth it. We emailed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Glasgaetravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mickeymouse047, Direttore at Hotel del Mare, responded to this review, July 27, 2013
We cannot thank our esteemed Guest for such an adamant account that describes the hotel and Marina Grande the way they really are: what an abundance of specific details that could not be more accurately explained. Thank you so much , it would be our greatest pleasure to welcome you again should you ever consider coming back to Sorrento and spend some more time with us.
Thank very much and arrivederci.

Gianni Galano
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skegness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed July 21, 2013

stayed at the hotel del mare for 7nights begining of july. it is in a good location away from the crowds and fairly quiet, it is only 2 mins walk from the lovely marina grande with some nice resteraunts and a couple of handy little shops. sorrento center is 10 to 15 mins walk or there is a local bus about every 30 mins. the hotel is a delight,spotlessly clean very friendly staff nice rooms with good air conditioning, lovely breakfast lounge and lots of choice for breakfast. the sun terrace on the roof is nice with a view over the bay of naples, i couldn't fault the hotel and would definitly stay there again

Room Tip: i think the balcony rooms are slightly bigger but the other rooms are quite adequate
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank grahams781
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mickeymouse047, Direttore at Hotel del Mare, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Thank you very much for your favourable review; thank you also for taking your time to write about your experience at our Hotel. Please, do get in touch with us should you ever plan your next visit, we shall be thrilled to have you as our repeat guest.
Kind regards
Gianni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.7 mi away
Il Nido Hotel Sorrento
Il Nido Hotel Sorrento
#24 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,700 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#25 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,911 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Sorrento City
Hotel Sorrento City
#44 of 100 in Sorrento
4.0 of 5 bubbles 747 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Ulisse Deluxe Hostel
Ulisse Deluxe Hostel
#33 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,322 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Villa Fiorita
Hotel Villa Fiorita
#41 of 100 in Sorrento
4.0 of 5 bubbles 444 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Rivoli Sorrento
Hotel Rivoli Sorrento
#40 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel del Mare? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel del Mare

Property: Hotel del Mare
Address: Via del Mare 30, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#8 Best Value Hotel in Sorrento
#28 Family Hotel in Sorrento
#34 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel del Mare 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of the old sea hamlet of Marina Grande of Sorrento, the Hotel del Mare is a cosy 3-star hotel which offers its hospitality to all those who wish to get involved in the magical atmosphere of a unique hidden jewel, situated in one of the most enchanting towns in the Gulf of Naples. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel del Mare reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Del Mare Hotel
Del Mare Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing