We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous stay!”
Review of Hotel del Mare

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel del Mare
Ranked #36 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 19, 2013

Best way to get to the hotel would be by taxi as its quite a long walk down hill. We were welcomed by such friendly staff and a very warm ambience. A big big shout out to Tonino. He was the best receptionist. So warm and friendly and had some good suggestions for dinner as well. The hotel is situated 30 seconds from the most stunning beach ever.

Thank you so much for making our stay the best!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sanaya S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mickeymouse047, Direttore at Hotel del Mare, responded to this reviewResponded March 23, 2013

Sincere thanks for such a lovely review. All the Staff, as well as Tonino, are joining me to express our best wishes to you hoping to welcoming you again very soon.
Kind regards
G Galano

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (764)
There are newer reviews for Hotel del Mare
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

377 - 383 of 764 reviews

Reviewed March 14, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 3 days/2 nights and found it to be a good place to stay. We booked a room for 3 people and we found the bedroom to be rather small. We got a double bed and a bottom half of a double-decker bunk bed. The bathroom was also small. The reception staffs were friendly, informative and very helpful. They helped us with the bus schedules to the Amalfi coast, and also with booking of the taxi on the last day.

The hotel is close to the seaside restaurants that are located within the Marina Grande. We spent our New Year's Eve at a restaurant by the sea, and it was great to just stroll back to our hotel at 2.00 am. We don't have to worry about getting a bus or a taxi. The hotel was really convenient for us.

One downside was that on the hotel website it stated that you can request a room with a sea view, but you will not get a balcony with seaview because your balcony will face the road. You can see the sea if you go to the roof terrace. The bedroom was cleaned everyday but the towels were not changed daily. You will have to ask for fresh towels if you want it changed daily.

Breakfast was OK - fruit juices, fresh fruits, cereals, ham, cheeses, breads, toast, yogurt but no eggs; If you want coffee, ask for the espresso or cappucino - these are made fresh using the espresso machine; just DO NOT ask for caffe latte because you will get black bitter coffee from a vending machine and some cold milk. They have black tea or fruit tea, if you like.

The hotel is a little out of town, but you can easily get the bus (Line D) for 1 euro that leaves the Marina Grande every 25 minutes past the hour. If you want some exercise, you can walk up some gentle inclining steps that lead directly to the town. The walk, which takes around 10-15 minutes, is very nice; you get to see awesome view of the sea and the marina as you climb upwards. You can buy the bus ticket (or water and other stuffs) from the small grocery market at the corner down by the Marina.

Overall, we like the hotel as it is a good place to stay.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Helenz M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mickeymouse047, Direttore at Hotel del Mare, responded to this reviewResponded March 16, 2013

Thank you very much for your kind review. We are grateful for such valuable suggestions which will be taken in due consideration to enable us to improve ourselves.
Together with all my Staff, may I take this opportunity to express my sincere gratitude.
I look forward to welcoming you again in the not too distant future.
Best regards
G Galano

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2013

Staff are very friendly, the location is great.. a bit further away from the city center, but the little marina near by in the evening is a great attraction where all tourists from city center would go for dinner.

Price was acceptable considering we went at the end of the season.
Parking is a few minutes away walking and for a fee, breakfast is typical continental.

Reception are very friendly and would happily direct you to nearby attractions and to do's.
Highly reccomended for couples and families alike.

Room Tip: choose sea view room.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Omar D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mickeymouse047, Direttore at Hotel del Mare, responded to this reviewResponded February 1, 2013

Thank you very much for taking your time to write about us.
We really appreciate your encouraging comments and would like to express our gratitude to you.
May we take this opportuninity to wish you a prosperous new year and we look forward to welcoming you again in the not too distant future.
Kind regards
G. Galano

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2012

My wife and I and three children stayed at this hotel in the summer of 2012 and we were very well received and looked after. This is a family owned hotel and it is run with efficiency, courtesy and great attention to detail; it is also child friendly. The staff are helpful and highly professional.
The hotel is situated a very short walk from the beach and also a number of excellent restaurants.

I recommend this excellent hotel very highly and hope to stay there again.

Room Tip: The rooms are air conditioned, the rooms on the side away from the road are probably quieter.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kbowdenuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mickeymouse047, Direttore at Hotel del Mare, responded to this reviewResponded December 28, 2012

Many thanks for your charming review; it was very considerate of you to take a moment to write about us, thank you. Our ambition is to fulfill our Guests’ expectations and whenever this purpose is achieved we are very grateful indeed. May I take this opportunity, also on behalf of my Staff, to wish you and your family our sincerest Season’s Greetings and a very Happy New Year.
We would be thrilled to welcoming you and your family again in the not too distant future.
Best regards Gianni Galano

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2012

What more can we say - one of the best hotels we have stayed in for a long time. We syated for 7 days in September 2012. Very helpful staff who cannot do enough for you. Excellent location within walking distance of bustling Sorrento whilst having character in the bay. Breakfasts superb (buffet), rooms very clean and nice roof terrace for sunloungers/chairs and tables. Good choice of restaurants close by and bus every 20 minutes to town close by. We had a wonderful holiday here and would reccommend for all ages.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms have no balcony. Balcony rooms face the road.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JanineDavidG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mickeymouse047, Direttore at Hotel del Mare, responded to this reviewResponded December 23, 2012

Thank you so much for such lovely words of appreciation.
Your kind words will help us to multiply our efforts and to make sure that every guest will get our best care and attention.
Together with my Staff I would like to take this opportunity to wish you a very Merry Christmas and a very prosperous New Year.
We would be indeed honoured to welcome you again in the not too distant future.
Kind regards
G Galano

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2012

To get married in Sorrento was a dream come true! We stayed at Hotel Del Mare for 7 days, outstanding service, clean rooms, wonderfull staff and great location! Only a 10 min walk to the city center made the walk memorable every day!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LadiP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mickeymouse047, Direttore at Hotel del Mare, responded to this reviewResponded December 28, 2012

Thank you so much for taking your time to write about us, we truly appreciate your genuine review. May I take this opportunity, together with my Staff, to wish you and your family our sincerest Season’s Greetings and a very Happy New Year.
We would be thrilled to welcoming you and your family in the not too distant future. Best regards Gianni Galano

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2012

I stayed at Hotel Del Mare for a week in September. It was great and exactly as advertised. The walk to town was about 15 minutes, mostly uphill, but very doable, and there are a couple of nice restaurants just around the corner at Marina Grande. The breakfast was excellent, and the staff was very helpful with suggestions and answering my questions about local destinations and excursions. The mattresses were very very firm - too much so for my preference - but everything was clean and tidy. I loved the beautifully tiled floors, but found they echoed a lot of sound, straight up the stairs from the lobby and throughout the hallway. I had a room with a small balcony, which was a great way to settle in for the evening. I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Farther from the stairs is better, as the tiled floors echo sound up from the lobby.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank acrysta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mickeymouse047, Direttore at Hotel del Mare, responded to this reviewResponded December 28, 2012

Many thanks for your accurate review; it was very considerate of you to take a moment to write about us, thank you. We do try to please all of our Guests and do our best to fulfill their expectations. We also know that this is a difficult task and we may not always succeed . May I take this opportunity, together with my Staff, to wish you and your family our sincerest Season’s Greetings and a very Happy New Year. We would be thrilled to welcoming you again in the not too distant future. Best regards Gianni Galano

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.9 mi away
Hotel Villa Fiorita
Hotel Villa Fiorita
#45 of 100 in Sorrento
477 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#25 of 100 in Sorrento
3,180 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ulisse Deluxe Hostel
Ulisse Deluxe Hostel
#34 of 100 in Sorrento
1,368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hilton Sorrento Palace
Hilton Sorrento Palace
#33 of 100 in Sorrento
3,387 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Mignon
Hotel Mignon
#28 of 100 in Sorrento
495 reviews
1.2 mi away
Comfort Hotel Gardenia Sorrento Coast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel del Mare? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel del Mare

Address: Via del Mare 30, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#28 Family Hotel in Sorrento
#34 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range: $124 - $371 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel del Mare 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of the old sea hamlet of Marina Grande of Sorrento, the Hotel del Mare is a cosy 3-star hotel which offers its hospitality to all those who wish to get involved in the magical atmosphere of a unique hidden jewel, situated in one of the most enchanting towns in the Gulf of Naples. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel del Mare reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Del Mare Hotel
Del Mare Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing