We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent family service.”
Review of Hotel del Mare

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel del Mare
Ranked #36 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 25, 2012

I have just stayed at the Hotel Del Mare, this is a fabulous family run hotel where they are extremely helpful, polite and have a sense of humour.

It was excellent value, in a very local fishing village a short scenic walk from the central village. The fishing village had some excellent restaurants, one in particular call Del fino. It was a sandy beach with local convenient store for drinks, snacks and sun loungers.

I would love to stay with Gianni (Alias James Bond), Nino and family again.
Regards & thanks Heather

Room Tip: Flights to Naples, and 10 Euro bus trip to sorento taking approx 1.5 hours. Great local trips, Capri...
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Heath_MissMoneypenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (766)
There are newer reviews for Hotel del Mare
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

397 - 403 of 767 reviews

Reviewed September 21, 2012

After spending some time to find the hotel (do not use the GPS, it will not bring you to the hotel), we were very impressed with the hotel location and quality. The owner and his staff are providing outstanding services including a one day visit (for a fee of course) to the Capri island on the owner lovely boat. The hotel is located at the Marina Grande near good restaurants on the sea. You have a super view of the Naples bay and the Vesuve. A great location to begin your Amalfi coast visit. A short walk to the main city center while discovering part of the city attractions and other gret views on the coast. Enjoy.

André F and Renée-Claude D.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andre F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2012

We were looking for a mid - range priced hotel in Sorrento and we found this lovely small hotel tucked away in Marina Grande which is about a 15 minute walk from the centre of Sorrento.
We arrived on the Saturday night late and the receptionist showed us to our room, all was fine apart from it was right next to the lift and right outside the balcony window was the Generator for the whole of the Hotels AC, so VERY NOISY indeed.We weren't best pleased so went straight downstairs and asked for a different room, which seemed to offend the young man on reception, and was told sorry its now to late to change rooms and anyway the Hotel is full as its the weekend.
So after a very long days traveling from The UK we had no sleep on the first night because of the noise.
Next morning we were showed to another room on the 3rd floor by a very polite and smiley lady receptionist who spoke good English, who couldn't do enough to help.
The rooms are a small size but that's normal in Italy but wasn't expecting to hear the other couple in the next room coughing/urinating and generally moving around and also the Bathroom extractor fan could be heard a lot of the time. Overall for the money we paid the cleanliness of the hotel and the Breakfasts and the staff are great. This hotel only has 30 rooms they are decorated to a high standard but be warned the walls are on the thin side.

Room Tip: The Balcony rooms are all out front overlooking the road. Not that noisy generally.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wellrespectedman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2012

This hotel might be a bit over priced and a bit away from the city center, but the friendly staff, great breakfast, the close by beach and cute rooms make up for it. So even though finding the hotel wasn't easy, once we got the drift of Sorrento is was quite mice to make the daily way to and from the marina.

Room Tip: Make sure to go up to the roof terrace at night to watch the sea roar.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank yaarob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2012

This truly excellent hotel is a wonderful place to stay during your time in Sorrento. We would not stay anywhere else. You will be met by smiling and helpful staff who give the hotel a continuing air of welcome. The hotel is modern, clean and verywell managed. Rooms are comfortable with shower and toilet facilities. Front facing rooms have a balcony. Televisions are of good quality and have a variety of European channels. Wifi is available free of charge. While the hotel does no have a pool, the roof sun deck provides a superb place relax, have a drink and enjoy the wonderful views of Vesuvius and the bay of Naples. The hotel is situated just behind the Marina Grande and is only one minutes walk to the beach and the various restaurants. Each day is started with a superb breakfast.
We can't think of anything wrong, We strongly reccomend it.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ian y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2012

This was the last hotel we stayed at after 2 weeks running around Italy. We had room 402 which faced the volcano. Beautiful view each morning! this room was situated right next to the elevator which i think might be quieter than the room by the stairway as it faces the patio area which can get noisy if people come and go. But we loved room 402 and would come back again for the same room. The room was cleaned every day. I think this hotel had the best towels out of all the hotels we stayed at. They also gave more toilet paper haha. it ended up raining alot for the last 2 days we were there so we just stayed in and enjoyed our room. when we did go out in the middle of the day someone still came to clean the room. I think they always know when you are in the room or not since you have to put in the key card to turn everything on in the room. also you are able to control it to "do not disturb" so that was pretty great and high tech. The location is pretty great too. I dont know why people complain about the stairs. I mean you are in italy eating alot of pizza and pasta. Some stairs might do you good. it was an easy walk into town. the restaurants around are great too. so overall this was a great location away from the crazy hussle and bustle of the main area in sorrento. but not too far away where you cant access it. this was my favorite hotel and i definitely recommend it. OH also, the breakfast was my favorite too! lots to choose from and a great way to start your day. Gianni was also wonderful! you will have a fantastic time here.

Only recommendation to hotel: someone was moving the patio furniture back and setting it up at around 6AM in the morning. I would just advise to try to do it quietly as people are probably still sleeping at this time.

Room Tip: 4th floor room for sure! 402 i think would be quietest.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mslinh210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2012

We have been regular annual visitors to the Hotel Del Mare for very many years.
Situated at the Marina Grande, the Del Mare is typically Italian, family owned and managed,fully refurbished to a very high standard, and welcomes all guests with exceptional service, friendliness and value, a remark that applies to every member of staff.The Marina Grande, as mentioned, is very Italian, with some of Sorrento's best restaurants, a very small relaxing beach and only a relatively short distance from the centre of Sorrento.
There are very many places of interest and beauty to visit(Capri, Pompeii,Vesuvius,Amalfi, Positano. and Ischia to mention a few) and can all be arranged by the hotel.
The hotel has a beautiful and unique breakfast restaurant,comfortable bedrooms with fridge, air conditioning and safe( at extra cost),lovely lounge and bar with internet access on request and 24/7 service. Having visited the Del Mare for so many years, we recommend and value the Del Mare without reservation. Eric & Avril ,Tamworth, England.

Room Tip: Rooms with a balcony recommended. The hotel has no swimming pool but a lovely roof terrace with sun...
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Eric B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#25 of 100 in Sorrento
3,187 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Villa Fiorita
Hotel Villa Fiorita
#45 of 100 in Sorrento
479 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ulisse Deluxe Hostel
Ulisse Deluxe Hostel
#33 of 100 in Sorrento
1,370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hilton Sorrento Palace
Hilton Sorrento Palace
#32 of 100 in Sorrento
3,399 reviews
1.2 mi away
Comfort Hotel Gardenia Sorrento Coast
0.4 mi away
Hotel Mignon
Hotel Mignon
#27 of 100 in Sorrento
496 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel del Mare? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel del Mare

Address: Via del Mare 30, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#28 Family Hotel in Sorrento
#34 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range: $124 - $355 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel del Mare 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of the old sea hamlet of Marina Grande of Sorrento, the Hotel del Mare is a cosy 3-star hotel which offers its hospitality to all those who wish to get involved in the magical atmosphere of a unique hidden jewel, situated in one of the most enchanting towns in the Gulf of Naples. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel del Mare reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Del Mare Hotel
Del Mare Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing