We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant hotel and location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Europa Palace Grand Hotel
Ranked #64 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Reviewed September 13, 2012

We went here for our honeymoon at the end of August! We were met at the entrance of the Hotel were our luggage was taken and left to our room! The reception staff were very friendly and helpfull giving advise and directions for the local area! On arrival to our room, we were given champagne and a bouquet of flowers from the hotel! The breakfast was amazing, and the view what else can you say but breathtaking! I would recommend this hotel, close to town, with friendly staff and must of clean!

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stevie2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (742)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

455 - 461 of 742 reviews

Reviewed September 12, 2012

We were very excited when we saw the lobby of this hotel and the location. Had high hopes. However when we got to our room which was not in the main hotel building but next door we were very disappointed. It felt like a Super 8. Everything was beige, no pictures on the wall, old beat up furniture and a very old tube TV. In the bathroom the shower was very small and the water flew out all over the bathroom floor. We were on the fourth floor which did not have a balcony. It was truly a depressing room. On the plus side the breakfast was very good and the ocean area was also nice.

Room Tip: Ask if rooms in the main building are better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank llerickson3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2012

We stayed at the Europa Grand Palace as part of a three day package tour from Rome to Pompeii, Sorrento and Capri with Green Line Tours. The main building of the hotel is a beautiful old grand hotel although it does need some tender care. It is idealy located right on the cliff tops of the Bay of Naples and is right across the road from the centre of Sorrento.

When we checked in we thought we were checking into Fawlty Towers. The power went out 3 times as we waited at reception, the staff member then said he would show us to our room. To do this he walked us across the driveway to a second rate building and pointed to the elevator. We squeezed into the tiny elevator and found our own way to the second floor and then had to drag our suitcase up another flight of stairs to find our room that was underwhelming to say the least. The tiny room with very dated furniture, a toilet behind the shower curtain and a very old CRT television was a far cry from the folder on the desk in the room that described a "room decorated with tasteful period furniture and a plasma TV".

On the good side the restaurant served quality breakfast and dinner on a beautiful terrace overlooking the bay. There was also an elevator down to the bottom of the cliff to a private "beach" and a lovely swimming pool.

In short, a nice hotel if you get a room in the main building. Confirm what room you are getting when booking.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank steve_fossil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2012

I have stayed at this hotel a few times before, I wanted my family to enjoy their stay as much as I had in the past. However, I was a bit disappointed. This hotel is rather expensive but has always been worth it in the past. This time it just did not offer 4 Star service nor quality.

I booked 5 rooms for our family. All luxury Sea View. The rooms are very outdated and mine was very small. The shared patio was lovely though.

The breakfast was nice and the view is beautiful. The front desk for the most were helpful and accommodating. However, the pool staff was very rude, beyond belief. We spoke to the front desk about our experience. They listen and apologized. But the pool service did not get better, worse if anything. We were there six days. I will not stay there the next time in Sorrento.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NewcastleJoby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2012

The public facilities, pool, terrace etc are amazing; the rooms are disappointing. Our room was very small and the bathroom was of a 3* standard. Be warned, parking is available but at a cost - €25 a day. Wifi is available - at a cost. Swimming hats must be worn in the pool. €2. Or remember to bring your own!

Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
3  Thank Laura N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2012

We had two rooms for one night at this hotel. We selected it because of the convenient location. The grounds, foyer, and main floor space were beautiful. To have breakfast on the terrace overlooking the water and Vesuvio made for a perfect start to our day. One of our rooms had a fabulous view and it was in the building across from the lobby. Do know that there is a cannon sounded for boats leaving for Capri regularly in the mornings. If sensitive to this kind of noise, you may want to request a quieter room, such as our other room. It did not have a view, but it was significantly quieter. Both rooms were dated, but good sized. I expected the rooms to match how grand the lobby was. I would definitely stay again! We parked at the public parking garage across the street. Many great restaurants and shops only a few steps from the hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Laura D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Europa in July, our room was lovely with a great view of vesuvius and lovely sunsets. Pool area was really nice and quiet and no trouble getting beds or umbrellas. Although as mentioned snack bar only open on weekends, so they are really missing a trick here. Also it would have been nice to have a drink on the terrace when returning back to hotel after a night out, again another opportunity they are missing. We found the reception staff very helpful although would not recommend there choice of restaurants, I ended up paying 45 euros for seabass for myself down in the marina, which I never would have ordered had I known. We really enjoyed our stay and would recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: sea view worth extra money
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AdelleKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sorrento
Art Hotel Gran Paradiso
#43 of 100 in Sorrento
1,151 reviews
Grand Hotel Riviera
#18 of 100 in Sorrento
1,252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Corallo Sorrento
#4 of 19 in Sant'Agnello
1,245 reviews
Grand Hotel Royal
#21 of 100 in Sorrento
1,664 reviews
Vomero
Your bed
Your bed
#281 of 761 in Naples
18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Europa Palace Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Europa Palace Grand Hotel

Address: Via Correale 34/36, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Sorrento
#45 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range: $179 - $439 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Europa Palace Grand Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Europa Palace Grand Hotel is located in the heart of Sorrento, behind Lauro square and just 5 minutes walking from the main square of Sorrento: Tasso square. With a panoramic pool overlooking the Gulf of Naples and private beach access, the Europa Palace is an excellent location for banquets and wedding parties. Bar, a la carte restaurant and a snack bar by the swimming pool complete the hotel's offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Europa Palace Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Europa Palace Grand Sorrento
Hotel Europa Palace Grand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing