We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Grand Hotel Riviera
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori(Sorrento)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Rota Suites(Sorrento)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento(Sorrento)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Zi Teresa(Sorrento)
View Hotel
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Hotel Tourist(Sorrento)
View Hotel
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Central(Sorrento)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (1,262)
Filter reviews
1,262 results
Traveler rating
961
233
47
11
10
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
961
233
47
11
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbathing platformthe cliffamerican barbay of naplessea viewprivate jettysweet trolleyhalf boardevening mealfantastic hotelour honeymoonelegant hotelterrace barten minute walksun deckwaiter servicespecial thanks
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
903 - 908 of 1,262 reviews
Reviewed May 26, 2007

We booked this hotel 6 months ago & stayed here as our first two choices were fully booked. We need not have worried & I am now glad it worked out this way!. The location is superb, on the cliffs of Sorrento with a private beach & a 10 min walk into the centre of town.
We received an upgrade to a suite for the first 2 nights of our stay & stayed in room 231 - lots of space & a view across the Bay of Naples. Our room for the rest of the stay was not sea facing (we knew this) but if we return it's well worth paying the extra to be at the front of the hotel.
Staff were excellent throughout & nothing was too much trouble. The only slight downside is the restuarant - the food is ok, but catered towards the Brits & there's no atmosphere in the huge dining room at all. This seems aimed at the more "mature" market as the dinner stops at 9pm.
This is a great excuse to sample some of the superb restaurants in the town & soak up the Italian way of life.
We'll definitely be back!.

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank RickJames7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2007

Just returned from a great stay at this lovely hotel. All staff , service,restaurant and hotel are of a very high standard and I will certainly return again. Nothing was too much trouble for the restaurant staff and so many choices on the menu , evening meals are fantastic.Definitely recommend upgrading to a side sea view room as standard rooms overlook the car park.
Great views of Vesuvius and the sea from the large terraces and restaurants and just a 10 minute stroll into town. Excellent pool area aswell.
Trips to Capri , Pompei and the Amalfi Coast are a must. Use public transport , very cheap and easy to use.

  • Stayed: April 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank britabroadBritabroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2007

Group of eight of us stayed in rooms 225,226,227 and 228 - booked as standard rooms, very sunny balconies overlooking car park, pool and could see a bit of the sea. Nice touch the deck chairs as well as table and chairs on balconies. Slight noise early in the morning when bins being emptied. Electronic shutters to balcony doors. Roooms very clean, very comfy beds (2 mattresses forming one large double bed). Bathroom a little on the small side but perfectly adequate, good shower over bath. Plenty of storage. No coffee and tea making facilities - take your own travel kettle for an early morning cuppa!
Reception area very good, all reception staff extremely helpful and nothing is too much trouble for them. Lounge huge and well furnished. Outdoor terrace - again huge, sunny with wonderful views over the bay and Vesuvius. Indoor bar equally as good - bar prices reasonable for a hotel of this standard. Dining room - again large, spotless with the amazing views. Food - breakfast very good - do ask for boiled eggs if you want them. Evening meals excellent - cannot understand about the previous complaints, in fact on several occasions I asked for something that was not on the menu and the very obliging staff arranged it for me. The dining room staff as excellent as every member of staff were - again cannot understand previous complaints. Bottle of house wine 20 euros. Minibar prices better than most - i.e. water 1.30 euros, beer 5 euros.
Guiseppe who worked in the bar in the evening was brilliant - attended to every customers needs. As you can tell we were very impressed by this hotel and all the staff - in fact I wrote a letter to the manager informing him of this and I have never done this before.
The lift down to the pontoon was not at all scary and it was wonderful to sit down there right through to early evening even in April.
Definitely 4 star plus. 10 minute walk to Tasso where there are plenty of bars and cafes. Do take a boat ride to Capri. I would not recommend going to Pompeii - very large and boring, evidently Herculaneum better will go there next time. Ask reception to arrange a private taxi tour of the Amalfi coast - 270- euros for 8 people in a new Mercedes people carrier, eight hours stopping when and where you wanted to - 25 miles along the coast and back amazing views, make sure you go to Positano , -well worth the money.
I really cannot understand the criticisms of this hotel, ok we stayed early in the season but I cannot believe that the excellent staff deteriorate as the season goes on.
Do try this hotel - you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed: April 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank panaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2006

I have stayed in this hotel at beginning of September for five days, our room had a lovely terrace overlooking the Bay of Naples.
Good breakfast, dinner experience was excellent, I would recommend the Bar terrace for drinks and light lunches, but the best thing of this Hotel is the staff, very polite and competent.
I think is difficult to find better in Sorrento and I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
6  Thank Freemartin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2006

We stayed in room 210, a room with a front sea view and balcony with great views over the bay of Naples. The room was great and the hotel is very clean and bright. The public rooms (lounge, bar and terrace area) are probably as good as it gets in a Sorrento 4 star hotel. The restaurant is spotless and staffed by an army of waiters so you never have to wait. The quality of the food however is not 4 star. It is unimaginative and often only just warm. I saw guests send cold food back to the kitchen. I've never had king prawns with boiled potatoes and cauliflower before!

Other than the food there are no complaints, but its not a cheap holiday and I expected better food at dinner.

    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank Geoff49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews