We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful property , great location and excellent views”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grand Hotel Riviera
Ranked #20 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
britabroad
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful property , great location and excellent views”
Reviewed April 29, 2007

Just returned from a great stay at this lovely hotel. All staff , service,restaurant and hotel are of a very high standard and I will certainly return again. Nothing was too much trouble for the restaurant staff and so many choices on the menu , evening meals are fantastic.Definitely recommend upgrading to a side sea view room as standard rooms overlook the car park.
Great views of Vesuvius and the sea from the large terraces and restaurants and just a 10 minute stroll into town. Excellent pool area aswell.
Trips to Capri , Pompei and the Amalfi Coast are a must. Use public transport , very cheap and easy to use.

  • Liked — quiet location
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank britabroadBritabroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,127 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    860
    207
    42
    10
    8
See reviews for
179
728
12
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (322)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
england
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2007

Group of eight of us stayed in rooms 225,226,227 and 228 - booked as standard rooms, very sunny balconies overlooking car park, pool and could see a bit of the sea. Nice touch the deck chairs as well as table and chairs on balconies. Slight noise early in the morning when bins being emptied. Electronic shutters to balcony doors. Roooms very clean, very comfy beds (2 mattresses forming one large double bed). Bathroom a little on the small side but perfectly adequate, good shower over bath. Plenty of storage. No coffee and tea making facilities - take your own travel kettle for an early morning cuppa!
Reception area very good, all reception staff extremely helpful and nothing is too much trouble for them. Lounge huge and well furnished. Outdoor terrace - again huge, sunny with wonderful views over the bay and Vesuvius. Indoor bar equally as good - bar prices reasonable for a hotel of this standard. Dining room - again large, spotless with the amazing views. Food - breakfast very good - do ask for boiled eggs if you want them. Evening meals excellent - cannot understand about the previous complaints, in fact on several occasions I asked for something that was not on the menu and the very obliging staff arranged it for me. The dining room staff as excellent as every member of staff were - again cannot understand previous complaints. Bottle of house wine 20 euros. Minibar prices better than most - i.e. water 1.30 euros, beer 5 euros.
Guiseppe who worked in the bar in the evening was brilliant - attended to every customers needs. As you can tell we were very impressed by this hotel and all the staff - in fact I wrote a letter to the manager informing him of this and I have never done this before.
The lift down to the pontoon was not at all scary and it was wonderful to sit down there right through to early evening even in April.
Definitely 4 star plus. 10 minute walk to Tasso where there are plenty of bars and cafes. Do take a boat ride to Capri. I would not recommend going to Pompeii - very large and boring, evidently Herculaneum better will go there next time. Ask reception to arrange a private taxi tour of the Amalfi coast - 270- euros for 8 people in a new Mercedes people carrier, eight hours stopping when and where you wanted to - 25 miles along the coast and back amazing views, make sure you go to Positano , -well worth the money.
I really cannot understand the criticisms of this hotel, ok we stayed early in the season but I cannot believe that the excellent staff deteriorate as the season goes on.
Do try this hotel - you will not be disappointed.

  • Liked — Staff and views
  • Disliked — Bathroom could be larger
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank panaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2006

I have stayed in this hotel at beginning of September for five days, our room had a lovely terrace overlooking the Bay of Naples.
Good breakfast, dinner experience was excellent, I would recommend the Bar terrace for drinks and light lunches, but the best thing of this Hotel is the staff, very polite and competent.
I think is difficult to find better in Sorrento and I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank Freemartin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2006

We stayed in room 210, a room with a front sea view and balcony with great views over the bay of Naples. The room was great and the hotel is very clean and bright. The public rooms (lounge, bar and terrace area) are probably as good as it gets in a Sorrento 4 star hotel. The restaurant is spotless and staffed by an army of waiters so you never have to wait. The quality of the food however is not 4 star. It is unimaginative and often only just warm. I saw guests send cold food back to the kitchen. I've never had king prawns with boiled potatoes and cauliflower before!

Other than the food there are no complaints, but its not a cheap holiday and I expected better food at dinner.

  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank Geoff49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2006

The room was small and dingy with no view - the patio faced a brick wall and did not get any sun. The evening meal experience was awful - food was terrible and staff wanted to just get you in and out as quickly as possible. Bright strip lighting and no music in the dining room meant there was no atmosphere at all.On the whole staff were polite but uninterested.The bathing jetty was nicely done with good views but the guy running it was very rude which spoilt it somewhat and the extra charge for sunbeds was a bit much.

On the plus side the views from the terrace were wonderful and the public rooms are nicely done. The hotel is in quite a good spot although the 10 minute walk to the main square does get a bit wearing due to the state of the pavements and the constant traffic noise..

Sorrento itself is excellent but can get very busy. We would definitely come back as the bars and restaurants were all good but we would just find a different hotel.

  • Liked — Location and views
  • Disliked — Dinner and room
  • Tips/Secrets — Pay extra for a seaview
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LMROB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottinghamshire
Level Contributor
37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2006

We spent the first week in September at the Riviera and what a lovely hotel it is. From the moment that we walked in we found the staff very friendly and helpful. When booking I requested a room with a view and what a view it was (room 210). I must admit that I do agree with a few of the previous reviews regarding the food in the restaurant but I would certainly not let this put me off staying there again. We found a lovely little bar across the road from the hotel next to the football pitch. If you want a lovely lunchtime snack with cheap drinks then this is the place. The staff are very friendly and eager to please here aswell. We spent an idylic day on Capri. Just one word of warning do not follow the arrow up some steps to the centre like we did unless you are a mountain climber (hundreds of steps that take about twenty minutes). Although we laughed at the time I would not like to climb them again. There are much easier ways to get to the top one being the funicular which we used to get back down to the port. All in all a great holiday. We loved Sorrento and the Amalfi coast and shall certainly return.

  • Liked — Situation of the hotel looking out to sea.
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Tips/Secrets — Enjoy the views
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank GrahamNoel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Man
Level Contributor
218 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 190 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2006

Just come back from our 7th visit to the Riviera, from which you'll gather that we rather like it! I've just been reading through some of the past comments about the hotel, and some of the older postings mention things like the breakfast being poor. Well, our first visit was in 1991 and since then every time we've returned the hotel has made more and more improvements - to the building itself, the decor, the food, the public areas outside etc. I don't think you'll find a better breakfast selection anywhere in Italy now. There's juice,fruit, cereal, bacon and eggs, toast, meats and cheeses, bread rolls, croissants and, rather bizarrely, slices of gateau (takes all sorts, I suppose!). Our memories from our first few visits are of disgusting coffee so for the last few years we've always requested cappacino with our breakfast which is just fine and costs no extra although I'm sure by now even the standard coffee will have improved. Bruno, the owner, is not a man to rest on his laurels and ploughs loads of money back into the hotel to ensure that everything just gets better and better.

We used to always travel with a tour company (mainly for the convenience of the coach transfers) but really hated feeling like we were being herded around like cattle so for the last couple of times have just booked directly with the hotel itself. This means we can book on a bed and breakfast basis as we'd rather go into town and eat at one of the many local restaurants. I agree with some of the comments made on the site about the service at dinner being a bit rushed though I think this is typical of large hotel restaurants the world over. We always found the restaurant food to be OK, never bad but nothing special, and enjoy our meals in local trattorias far more.

The hotel bar is only marginally more expensive than some of the bars in the town itself, and in fact cheaper than a couple of the bars in the main square. And, yes, you can buy wine by the glass at the hotel.

The hotel sent a car to pick us up which was very convenient though expensive at 180 euro (return). We've spoken to friends who live in Sorrento themselves and they always use the bus transfer from the airport which is about 6 euro and takes about the same time but unfortunately our flight timings would have meant a wait of about an hour and a half at the airport on our arrival so we decided to treat ourselves and it was well worth it for the luxury of being led straight out of the arrival hall into a Mercedes and sped (literally!) straight to the hotel.

Our room this time was 130 and it was huge with a balcony big enough to host a drinks party on! We've always paid for a side sea view so I've no idea what the rooms are like at the back of the hotel although at least the hotel has a garden behind it (privately-owned, not belonging to the hotel) rather than the main road. Most of the "grand" hotels in Sorrento have the same sort of layout - the front of the hotel is built into the cliffside, the back faces the busy and very noisy main road - so it stands to reason that the quietest rooms with the best views are going to have a premium attached.

As far as the charge for sunbeds is concerned, this is something we've experienced all over Italy. When we've occasionally stayed at a hotel which doesn't charge for sunbeds, the beds have usually been rather the worse for wear! The Riviera sunbeds are good quality with a dinky little canopy for shading your head if required, and you're supplied with clean towels and the services of a rather handsome young man who turns the beds round to follow the sun. Well worth 5euro!!

As ever it was wonderful to see the staff again - they're so friendly and keen to help, and it's like meeting up with long lost family when we first arrive with even my husband being greeted with a smacker on each cheek!

Sorrento itself is getting busier every time we visit - not a good thing in our eyes. There's also far more English/Irish/Scottish accents to be heard and this has resulted in more "themed" bars opening (such as English pubs showing Sky Sports) and snacks bars proclaiming "Burger and Chips Here!" which rather detracts from the Italian charm. However, it still remains a very special place in a breathtakingly beautiful situation (and this from someone who lives on an Island with stunning views!) and will always have a special place in our hearts.

Can't wait for our next visit.....!!

  • Liked — Situation, staff, cleanliness
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Buddysmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
#11 of 100 in Sorrento
1,479 reviews
1.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
#27 of 100 in Sorrento
2,291 reviews
0.8 mi away
Bellevue Syrene
Bellevue Syrene
#4 of 100 in Sorrento
1,065 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Royal
Grand Hotel Royal
#21 of 100 in Sorrento
1,513 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hilton Sorrento Palace
Hilton Sorrento Palace
#32 of 100 in Sorrento
3,164 reviews
1.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#25 of 100 in Sorrento
2,996 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Riviera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Riviera

Property: Grand Hotel Riviera
Address: Via Aniello Califano 22, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Sorrento
#18 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
#21 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
#30 Family Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Riviera 4*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just a few short steps from the centre of Sorrento, the hotel enjoys a splendid position overlooking the sea and with a panorama of the entire Gulf of Naples and Vesuvius.The warm welcome reserved for our guests and the professionalism of our staff make the Riviera a first class hotel, where you can enjoy a vacation in which our hospitality takes care of your every comfort. The hotel offers an American bar, Restaurant, Swimming pool, Solarium, Garden, Private beach and wide panoramic terraces set on various levels from which to enjoy the beauty of the Sorrento Coast.All areas of the hotel have centralised air conditioning and heating. Wi-Fi access is completely free. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Cancelon, Agoda, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hotel Riviera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Sorrento
Grand Hotel Riviera Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing