We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We couldn't have asked for more!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Hotel Riviera
Ranked #17 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“We couldn't have asked for more!”
Reviewed June 11, 2014

My boyfriend and I have recently returned from a weeks holiday at this hotel and everything about this hotel was a dream!

The hotel is beautiful and super clean as re regularly saw cleaners in the public areas of the hotel cleaning. The staff are so friendly and welcoming. Ciro on the reception desk was particularly helpful for any recommendations but all staff were so polite and warm. The restaurant and bar areas are kept beautifully making your experience very pleasant, and the food is lovely and there is plenty of it with lots of choice! And it is all topped off by stunning views from every angle of the hotel!

Overall great stay and we would visit again! Thanks

Room Tip: Chose a room on levels 2 and above with either a side view or a sea view for views of the sea!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cristina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GianniCartiglia, Chief Concierge at Grand Hotel Riviera, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
Dear Cristina S,
Thank you very much for sharing your experience at our hotel with the Tripadvisor readers.
We are delighted to learn that your holiday was an unforgettable one and we look forward to welcoming you again!
Warmest regards
Gianni Cartiglia
Chief Concierge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,182 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    903
    219
    42
    10
    8
See reviews for
196
758
12
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (336)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed June 9, 2014

My wife and I have just returned from a two week holiday. We had a wonderful time at the magnificent Grand Riviera. The staff were excellent and the hotel`s ambience, location and quality were first class in every way. The food was the best that we have had in our six visits to Italy; especially so for my wife who is a vegetarian and received brilliant service from Luigi, Gennaro and the other restaurant staff members. The hotel is a real tribute to the owners.
Walter and Freda Jonas

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Walter J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GianniCartiglia, Chief Concierge at Grand Hotel Riviera, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
Dear Walter J,
Thank you very much for your wonderful review!
It is lovely to learn that our restaurant staff impressed you so much and that your stay with us was so pleasant.
We will be really pleased if you decided to visit us again in the near future..
Kind regards from the hotel management and the entire staff
Gianni Cartiglia
Chief Concierge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nantwich, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2014

We recently celebrated my milestone 60th birthday at this wonderful hotel, along with both our children and their partners. The hotel was so welcoming from the moment we arrived, and couldn't do enough to accommodate our somewhat large party. Dinner was always for 6, seated in a perfect window spot watching some glorious sunsets while dining. Breakfast was more casual, making the most of sunny days on the terrace with amazing views over the bay, a perfect start to any day. We particularly liked the omelettes freshly produced by the chef. All the food was delicious, varied and healthy with lots of fish and salad selections. All 3 of our rooms had stunning sea views and were peaceful and cool at night. The cocktails served on the terrace each evening were a highlight of the day! I even celebrated with a birthday cake organised by my daughter to singing and applause from the guests - magic!
I will never forget this holiday and would love to return one day- thank you so much to all the staff.

Room Tip: Choose at least a side sea view room if you can. Ours were perfect, partly looking over the lemon gr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clio27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GianniCartiglia, Chief Concierge at Grand Hotel Riviera, responded to this review, June 6, 2014
Dear Clio27,
It is so nice to read that your holiday for your milestone 60th birthday was a memorable one.
Thank you for praising the Riviera so much, it will be a big pleasure for us to see you and your family again in the near future!
Kind regards
Gianni
Chief Concierge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed June 6, 2014 via mobile

This is my third stay at Grand Riviera and my Mums first. This hotel is elegant and stylish without being stuffy. The staff are 1st class in all areas of the hotel, friendly and professional. A special mention to Claudio, Gennaro & Davide in the bar. Location and views are second to none. Riviera is a wonderful hotel and I will be returning soon:)
If you book this hotel you will not be disappointed.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Scanlan35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GianniCartiglia, Chief Concierge at Grand Hotel Riviera, responded to this review, June 6, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for choosing the Grand Hotel Riviera again.
We are very grateful for your lovely review and we cannot wait to see you and your mum soon!
Kind regards from us all,
Gianni
Chief Concierge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed June 5, 2014

Our family has been returning to the Riviera for many years, since our children were small (they are now grown up and love it as much as ever). The hotel is bright, clean and spacious, with wonderful terrace views across the Bay to Mount Vesuvius and Naples itself. The surroundings are peaceful, just a pleasant 10-minute walk from the very centre of Sorrento. But there are many days when you feel no need to leave the hotel at all: the pool has a children's area and the hotel has its own platform beach on the sea. The public rooms are large and splendidly furnished in classic style, while Claudio runs the terrace bar with outstanding hospitality both day and night. Breakfast is downstairs, again overlooking the Bay, while dinner is often made special by sunset on the Mediterranean. From the front desk to the room-cleaning staff, everyone is helpful and efficient. We very much look forward to booking yet another stay.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms across the Bay of Naples are always worth trying for.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GianniCartiglia, Chief Concierge at Grand Hotel Riviera, responded to this review, June 5, 2014
Dear Paul D,
Thank you for your glowing review, it is lovely to read that you had a wonderful stay with us again.
Your opinion is particularly important and very much appreciated by the management and the entire staff.
We already look forward to welcoming you and your family to the Grand Hotel Riviera next year!
With my kindest regards
Gianni
Chief Concierge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2014

We have just returned from 2 wonderful weeks at this hotel. We have stayed at numerous hotels along this peninsula over the past 15yrs and this one is far the best. My husband has Multiple Sclerosis (he uses a wheelchair) & is Registered Blind & the staff could not have done more for us to ensure our stay was a memorable one. The courtesy & professionalism of the staff was excellant together with attention to detail-always remembering your personal preferences.Giovanni,luigi,Giovanna & Gennaro in the restaurant accomodated our every need & were very professional. The food was wonderful-varied,plentiful,loads of fish dishes. The access & swimming in the sea was fantastic. For anyone who has mobility probs this hotel was fine. All wheelchair friendly except for 3 small steps by the lift(a problem for anyone confined to the wheelchair) perhaps the hotel would consider a portable ramp??? We took out own bathboard to fit across the bath as my husband cannot get in & out of a bath. we even took the wheelchair down onto the jetty. We will return.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank calcio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GianniCartiglia, Chief Concierge at Grand Hotel Riviera, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
Dear Guests,
It is so nice to read that we managed to make your stay at the Grand Hotel Riviera a memorable one.
Thank you very much from the hotel management and staff and we really look forward to welcoming you again in the very near future!
With kindest regards
Gianni Cartiglia
Chief Concierge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2014

Hotel was in a great position overlooking the Bay of Naples. Hotel was clean and well appointed in all aspects, bedrooms were very nice and had great facilities. Staff were excellent and the chief concierge - Gianni Cartiglia was especially good for everything we needed. Restuarant was first class, although food variation was limited. Would recommend this hotel to everyone

Room Tip: try to get a side view room so you can see the bay
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank paulb23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GianniCartiglia, Chief Concierge at Grand Hotel Riviera, responded to this review, May 31, 2014
Dear paulb23,
Thank you so much for your lovely review.
We are delighted to learn that we managed to make your holiday a special one and we are very grateful for your kind words.
We really look forward to welcoming you again to the Grand Hotel Riviera!
With a special " thank you" and with my kindest regards
Gianni Cartiglia
Chief Concierge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
#11 of 100 in Sorrento
1,525 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hilton Sorrento Palace
Hilton Sorrento Palace
#32 of 100 in Sorrento
3,298 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Royal
Grand Hotel Royal
#21 of 100 in Sorrento
1,568 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
#27 of 100 in Sorrento
2,371 reviews
1.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#24 of 100 in Sorrento
3,104 reviews
0.7 mi away
Grand Hotel La Favorita
Grand Hotel La Favorita
#7 of 100 in Sorrento
1,682 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Riviera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Riviera

Property: Grand Hotel Riviera
Address: Via Aniello Califano 22, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Sorrento
#16 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
#21 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
#30 Family Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Riviera 4*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just a few short steps from the centre of Sorrento, the hotel enjoys a splendid position overlooking the sea and with a panorama of the entire Gulf of Naples and Vesuvius.The warm welcome reserved for our guests and the professionalism of our staff make the Riviera a first class hotel, where you can enjoy a vacation in which our hospitality takes care of your every comfort. The hotel offers an American bar, Restaurant, Swimming pool, Solarium, Garden, Private beach and wide panoramic terraces set on various levels from which to enjoy the beauty of the Sorrento Coast.All areas of the hotel have centralised air conditioning and heating. Wi-Fi access is completely free. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Cancelon, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hotel Riviera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Sorrento
Grand Hotel Riviera Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing