We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hospitialy at its best”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Hotel Riviera
Ranked #20 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
York, United Kingdom
1 review
“Hospitialy at its best”
Reviewed September 27, 2013

What a pleasure it was returning to Grand Hotel Reviera. The hotel excels in all aspects. The greeting we received from the staff was outstanding. Seeing "old" familiar faces told us we were about to be looked after exceptionally well again. An excellent hotel in an excellent position. We will be returning yet again next year. Lorna and Neville Huxtable

Room Tip: A suite overlooking the Bay of Naples - ideal
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Neville H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GianniCartiglia, Chief Concierge at Grand Hotel Riviera, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Dear Neville H,
Thank you very much for writing this lovely review and for choosing the Grand Hotel Riviera again for your holiday in Sorrento.
We are so pleased that you had such a pleasant stay with us and we really look forward to welcoming you next year!
Warmest regards
Gianni Cartiglia
Chief Concierge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,128 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    860
    208
    42
    10
    8
See reviews for
179
728
12
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (322)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 22, 2013

Excels in all areas. The view from our room was "AMAZING", we arrived late on the Saturday evening so did not see the magnificent view until the following morning. My husband along with Gianni ensured we had one of the best views in the hotel and when the shutter went up in the morning his words said it all "this is the most amazing, stunning view I have ever experienced.", thank you Gianni for ensuring we had this fantastic room along with the view.

We were last in Sorrento 15 years ago and stayed in the hotel next to the Hotel Grand Riviera. The reviews people posted on the Hotel Grand Riviera was what convinced us to book this hotel, and when we walked into the hotel we knew we'd made the right decision.

All staff were amazingly attentive and we felt incredibly comfortable in this fantastic hotel which gave a warm feeling. The bathing platform was fantastic, My daughter of 13 was apprehensive about coming to Sorrento with no beach however she had a wonderful time, We bought her a new snorkel to bring with her and also bought an underwater camera in Sorrento which really made her holiday, we even had the photos developed before we left so she was able to see all the wonderful fish she took photos of.

The pictures on line do not do this hotel justice, it is so so much better, our room was fantastic very large and we will most certainly will be booking this again. Absolutely spotlessly clean which I love and a very elegant hotel along with it's staff.

We now fully understand why people come to this hotel year after year and we most certainly will be coming back next year.

Thank you to Gianni and all the staff for making our holiday a wonderful experience, look forward to seeing you next year

Room Tip: Ensure you book a sea view it's worth the extra you pay
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sharon J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GianniCartiglia, Chief Concierge at Grand Hotel Riviera, responded to this review, September 22, 2013
Dear Sharon J,
Thank you very much for writing such a fantastic review, there are no words to describe how pleased we are!
The hotel management, the whole staff and myself are very happy that you had such a good time at the Grand Hotel Riviera and we would be extremely pleased if you decided to visit us again in the very near future.
Kindest regards
Gianni Cartiglia
Chief Concierge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 22, 2013

We have just returned from two weeks at the Grand Hotel Riviera. We enjoyed our holiday very much and thought the hotel was great. The staff were delightful and very helpful and friendly. The hotel was nicely furnished and spotlessly clean. The food was good with plenty of choice for dinner . The hotel was in a lovely situation with beautiful terraces overlooking the Bay of Naples - a lovely place to sit and take in the views.
We shall certainly return to this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nina_porter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GianniCartiglia, Chief Concierge at Grand Hotel Riviera, responded to this review, September 22, 2013
Dear nina_porter,
Thank you so much for your glowing review!
Your kindest words describe exactly what the hotel has to offer to the guests and we are extremely grateful to you for that.
We really cannot wait to have the pleasure of having you as our guests again,
kindest regards
Gianni Cartiglia
Chief Concierge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed September 20, 2013

Enjoyed our stay very much. A week wasnt long enough.Good location with easy walking distance from Sorrento and harbour. Food and services were amazing. Great view from our room towards the harbour. Unfortunately no tea or coffee making facilities in the room. Well worth a repeat visit.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GianniCartiglia, Chief Concierge at Grand Hotel Riviera, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Dear Guests,
We are so pleased to read that you had a very nice stay with us and we are grateful to you for taking the time to write this lovely review.
We look forward to having the pleasure of seeing you again at the Grand Hotel Riviera!
Warm regards
Gianni Cartiglia
Chief Concierge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renfrew, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2013

Just back from a great holiday in this hotel. Staff were brilliant they couldn't do enough for you. Our room was perfect very clean. Food was brilliant and a very good choice. Hotel is ideally situated in a quiet area but handy for town. We were sorry to leave would love to go again.

Room Tip: Room 225 has great Sun on the balcony from afternoon
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara551801
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GianniCartiglia, Chief Concierge at Grand Hotel Riviera, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Dear Barbara551801,
Thank you very much for your beautiful review, we are so pleased to hear that you had such a pleasant stay with us!
We really look forward to welcoming you again in the near future,
Kind regards from Sorrento,
Gianni Cartiglia
Chief Concierge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Woodlands, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 16, 2013

Excels in all categories but the view and ocean swimming area are truly the bomb! The water is completely clear and so refreshing after a day exploring Sorrento and the surrounding countryside. The breakfast buffet was delicious as well as the dinner choices. Staff knew our names and were very friendly and helpful with making excursion and travel arrangements. Is a bit pricey but I definitely would return. We met a couple that has returned every year for 27 years! That says a lot!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GianniCartiglia, Chief Concierge at Grand Hotel Riviera, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Dear Lisa L,
Thank your for writing such lovely words on Tripadvisor!
The hotel management and the whole staff would be really pleased if you decided to visit us again.
Warmest regards
Gianni Cartiglia
Chief Concierge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 15, 2013

We just returned from our honeymoon at The Riviera and it was wonderful! We had a beautiful room with an amazing view! The service from the minute you walk in the door is exceptional. Fantastic breakfast, pool and beach accommodations! We absolutely loved our stay here and highly recommend it to anyone going to Sorrento and is looking for a special hotel stay!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brianne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GianniCartiglia, Chief Concierge at Grand Hotel Riviera, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Dear Brianne D,
Thank you so much for writing such a great rerview!
We are really pleased that your holiday was an unforgettable one and we cannot wait to see you again at the Grand Hotel Riviera.
Kindest regards
Gianni Cartiglia
Chief Concierge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
#11 of 100 in Sorrento
1,480 reviews
1.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
#27 of 100 in Sorrento
2,292 reviews
0.8 mi away
Bellevue Syrene
Bellevue Syrene
#4 of 100 in Sorrento
1,066 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Royal
Grand Hotel Royal
#21 of 100 in Sorrento
1,514 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hilton Sorrento Palace
Hilton Sorrento Palace
#32 of 100 in Sorrento
3,166 reviews
1.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#25 of 100 in Sorrento
2,997 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Riviera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Riviera

Property: Grand Hotel Riviera
Address: Via Aniello Califano 22, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Sorrento
#18 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
#21 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
#30 Family Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Riviera 4*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just a few short steps from the centre of Sorrento, the hotel enjoys a splendid position overlooking the sea and with a panorama of the entire Gulf of Naples and Vesuvius.The warm welcome reserved for our guests and the professionalism of our staff make the Riviera a first class hotel, where you can enjoy a vacation in which our hospitality takes care of your every comfort. The hotel offers an American bar, Restaurant, Swimming pool, Solarium, Garden, Private beach and wide panoramic terraces set on various levels from which to enjoy the beauty of the Sorrento Coast.All areas of the hotel have centralised air conditioning and heating. Wi-Fi access is completely free. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Agoda, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hotel Riviera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Sorrento
Grand Hotel Riviera Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing