We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I thought long and hard about this”
Review of Hotel Belair

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Belair
Ranked #22 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 13, 2013

We have being going to Italy for 25 years but have never been to sorrento before. It is stunning but it has taken me a while to get my head round it. The reason is a few years ago an italian lady told me that the people in the south are not as nice as the north, she was totally wrong. Back to the hotel, the staff could not be better and the hotel is in the best position to sit on the balcony and look at vesuvius. The rooms are spotlessly clean (except under the bed when we dropped something) and the bathrooms could do with updating, well at least ours could but the breakfasts are outstanding, the waiters are great but the most outstanding member of staff is the brilliant barman Rosano, he is just so funny and great. We will be going back next year and hope for better weather. Oops forgot to say the beds are sooo lovely and comfy.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Maggie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,340)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Belair
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

636 - 642 of 1,341 reviews

Reviewed June 8, 2013

Wow - just returned from a week in Sorrento having stayed at the Belair Hotel. A superb venue situated high above the bay of Sorrento and just 15 minutes walk from the town centre. The view of the bay is probably the best in the whole town. We went half board and probably returned home half a stone heavier. The food was fantastic, served by top class waiters and in a beautifully furnished traditionally Italian hotel. All the staff were courteous, the hotel was spotlessly clean and the whole atmosphere was genuinely relaxing and professional.

Two small negatives - one is the hotel's responsibility and the other one they couldn't do anything about: The Wi Fi rarely worked and only once connected in our room (There was free access though through a PC downstairs).The sea gulls make the most horrendous noise (like someone being strangled) from about 5am and the balcony doors and shutters only muffle it. Those two things however are insignificant compared to the advantages.

Room Tip: Level 3 is probably the best but all rooms look out across the bay.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Royalist16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2013

Cannot fault the hotel or its staff in anyway. Our room (104) had a breathtaking view of the bay, it was exceptionally clean & tidy. Breakfast was a delight & fresh every morning, if you wanted to start the day with champagne it was on offer. Nothing was too much trouble for the waiting staff & our needs were fully catered for. The front desk staff are wonderful, Francisco was a mine of local information. Evening meals were again delightful. We had a picky teenager with us but the staff went out of their way to accommodate her & a T-bone steak & chips went down a treat. The swimming pool is clean, if a little cold, but no trouble getting a sunbed & drinks can be ordered from there. If your looking for great service this is the place to go.

Room Tip: All rooms have a sea view so can't go wrong
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CurlyBham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2013

This hotel is about 20 minute walk away from the city center. During our stay we didn’t use taxis, and just walked to the city and back. Our room was standard double without a balcony, but it had a great view. What it was lacking is the amenities that you expect from the 4-star property. There were no slippers or bath robes in the room, the hairdryer was quite old (I haven’t seen those in the hotels for quite some time). There was a bottle of shampoo/bubblebath that was apparently designed for this dual purpose. As a shampoo it was pretty bad. Properties like this should have a separate bottle for shower gel or bubble bath, separate one for shampoo and separate for conditioner; I just can’t imagine something that can be as good for the bath and the hair at the same time. The Wi-Fi was only working in the lobby, and was non-existent in our room. When we asked for slippers, they were brought to us the same day, but it all sounds like some sort of “Don’t ask, don’t bring” policy that should not even exist at 4-start hotel.
The staff was friendly and helpful with all our needs and questions, the room was clean, and the property looks to be well maintained.
The breakfast buffet was good, and they even had a bottle of champagne opened for those who wanted it in the morning. Cappuccino, on the other hand, was not good at all. On the positive side, the hotel offers free parking so if you plan on arriving by car, you will have a place to park it.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vkramaro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2013

Service at this hotel was not great and the rooms were average. However, the views made up for this. Our room had a spacious balcony overlooking the town and the ocean... just beautiful! Breakfast is fantastic and is served in a nice room overlooking the sea. This hotel is not recommended for anyone wanting to explore the town of Sorrento as it is quite a way away from the city center and a taxi costs 15 euros each way! We used it as a stop-over from Rome (by train, stopping at Pompei on route) to Capri (by ferry) and it served its purpose!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2013

I have stayed at the Belair on several occasions, the last time, a few years ago, so, it was very good to return. The rooms are great and all have breathtaking views. The staff are always friendly and very helpful. It is a shame that the weather during the week at the end of May was disappointing. very unusual for the time of year.
The food in the restaurant is generally very good and Michele, the head waiter is always cheerful. The wine list is also good and very varied. Rossano, the bar man is great and always has time for a chat and is a great weather forecaster.
The pool is lovely but can feel a little cool at times. On a sunny day, it is a fantastic place to soak up the rays and simply enjoy the terrific views across the Bay to Vesuvius and Naples.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
3  Thank bigweb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2013

We stayed here for a week at the end of March. All of the staff are wonderful and so helpful. Our room was very clean, we had our own private patio with a beautiful view of Mount Vesuvius!! The views from this hotel are SPECTACULAR!! It is a short walk down hill into town and was good exercise. We were on a guided tour and every site was very accessible by bus from Sorrento. Just a delightful town! Our waiter, Mario was excellent and also the head waiter, Michelle. But our bartender, Rosaro was just the best! We saw him in town on his day off, he came up to speak to us and he was so kind to make recommendations to us. This property is just a great place to stay. Furnishings are nothing fancy, but that did not matter.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Phyllis C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
1.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
#11 of 100 in Sorrento
1,556 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#25 of 100 in Sorrento
3,180 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
#26 of 100 in Sorrento
2,434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Boutique Hotel Helios
Boutique Hotel Helios
#6 of 100 in Sorrento
245 reviews
0.9 mi away
Grand Hotel Royal
Grand Hotel Royal
#21 of 100 in Sorrento
1,624 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hilton Sorrento Palace
Hilton Sorrento Palace
#33 of 100 in Sorrento
3,388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Belair? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Belair

Address: Via Capo 29, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
#16 Family Hotel in Sorrento
#20 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range: $202 - $532 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Belair 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel Belair reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belair Hotel Sorrento
Hotel Belair Sorrento
Belair Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing