We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely place to stay”
Review of Minerva Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Minerva Hotel
Ranked #13 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 29, 2013

We stayed at the Minerva for 4 nights and thoroughly enjoyed the experience. We had a bright, spacious balcony room with a spectacular view across the Bay to Vesuvius. The roof top pool was a great place to relax with cool refreshments. Breakfast each morning on the terrace was plentiful and of good variety. It was an easy walk down to the main shopping and restaurant area of Sorrento.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
5  Thank scorpio1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,142)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

477 - 483 of 1,142 reviews

Reviewed November 28, 2013

Cara Signora Antonietta, cari amici,

My name is Dan (Daniele) and I stayed at your hotel with my lovely wife Alina between 19-26 April 2013 when I celebrated a very special occasion in my life, my 50th birthday. You even surprised us with a bottle of Champagne and cake on my birthday making me feel like celebrating amongst friends. Thank you!
Signora Antoinetta even upgraded us to a room (number 64 I think) with an absolutely awe inspiring view over the bay, the Villa Tritone and the city of Sorrento. But then again it's very difficult not to have magnificent views from anywhere in that hotel. It doesn't matter where you chose to have your espresso or your meal or your cocktail, the views...oh, the views!
The location of the hotel is brilliant, only a short and very leisurely walk to town, but because of that location it has the views that it has. If it would be right in Sorrento, it wouldn't be the same thing.
It is a well-kept hotel; we loved the terrace furniture, heavy cast iron with red pillows as well as the interior decorations throughout. Check-in and check-out were a breeze & a porter helped us with our luggage.
The room was pretty and very clean, had its own safe (no extra charge, important to us) mini fridge/bar and of course AC. Bed was very comfortable, bath was clean & spacious and shower pressure was great. For us, that is ALL we want in a hotel room. It had a flat screen TV but we never switched it on, not on vacation.
We were on a half-board plan (breakfast & dinner included) and we very pleased with the variety and quality of the food; espresso, croissants, prosciutto, provolone, orange juice (and more) for breakfast, pizza, pasta, fish, meat, desserts for dinner; perfect. It was also very relaxing knowing that we only had to choose the “vino” for our evening meal. Falanghina is a local wine we especially enjoyed.
On top of being a great hotel it also has great staff. Everyone was polite, friendly, kind and very accommodating. I don't want to single out anyone, because I feel I would do an injustice to the others. They were ALL fantastico and we thank them ALL!

I apologise for not writing in this book sooner, but with my daughter's wedding in Sicily this September, the travelling we've done and the professional commitments, we had a very busy year so far.
However, we never forgot you, your warm hospitality and the great service you provided, making our stay in Hotel Minerva a wonderful vacation.
We hope to see you again soon!
Dan & Alina
London

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank drengland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2013

We recently spent several days at the Hotel Minerva in Sorrento, Italy. The place comes across as a family run hotel with wonderful service and very comfortable rooms with all the amenities necessary for a very pleasant stay. We had a lovely balcony overlooking the bay which I heartily recommend as there is always activity on the water below. The hotel is located on Via Capo which is a main street leading around the Amalfi coast, but because we were several stories above the street, traffic noise was not an issue. We were particularly impressed by the staff, all of whom were extremely helpful and whose suggestions on how to get about without a car, what to see, and how to get there saved us time and helped make the most of our time there. The breakfast buffet was very good and the maître d’hôtel is a man of great dignity who runs a fine staff with a light touch that indicates years of expert experience. The desk staff were all extremely kind, patient and helpful. Staying at the Minerva is an experience in true Italian charm, and guests recognize they are in Italy, not in some great chain hotel where you would not know whether you were in Chicago or Paris. We loved the place and particularly the large veranda where an afternoon or evening drink came with a view for which the area is justly famous.

Room Tip: Get a room on an upper floor facing the bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Dallasbirder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2013

My husband and I both celebrated out 60th birthdays this year so decided to go to Italy. I cannot tell you what a wonderful time we had, we stayed at the Minerva Hotel and the views over the bay were simply stunning, we were on the 6th floor which did not have a balcony but didn't really need it the food was lovely and service good. The walk into Sorrento was about ten minutes and very easy. We did some excursions with Thomson the best being the Amalfi Drive select it was worth the 108 euros, some of the other excursions were overpriced especially Capri. We met some lovely people and will go back to the Minerva when we return to Italy. Oh and the weather was gorgeous sunshine every day.xx

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank goodholidays_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2013

This hotel was fantastic. It's not a five star luxury hotel, but it's a very good 4 star in a great location. If you like views what look like postcards while you eat, this place is for you! The views are breathtaking, truly beautiful.

The service here is excellent. We had a large group staying and every morning they put a table together large enough to accomodate us all. Breakfast quality was good, dinner was also OK for a half board option, although we like to eat out, so only ate dinner here twice. The waiting staff are fantastic and very accomodating.

The hotel is up on a hill (hence the views) but we enjoyed the 10 minute walk into town. Coming back is uphill, but no real issue for the average person.

Overall I would definately recommend staying here.

Room Tip: Had an annexe room which had stunning views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Daniel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I got married in Sorrento on August 5th 2013. We stayed at the Minerva for 2 weeks and had an amazing time. We had never been to Italy before but we had been recommended this hotel by numerous people. Antoinette and her wonderful staff run an amazing hotel. Nothing is too much for any of them. They made our wedding day/stay special with their little touches and Antoinette was there on the morning of my wedding to give me a hug and the kind words I needed as my mom had stayed in another hotel. As our stay came to an end and we arrived home we missed everyone terribly... Antonio, Nino, Big Toni, Anthenella, Frank, Antoinette and all the other wonderful staff. So within 3 days of being back home we had booked to go back :-) 10weeks after we left we returned and we are here now having an amazing time. We leave tomorrow but have already decided we will be back in 9 months to celebrate our first wedding anniversary... that's the thing with this place...... you will fall in love with everything about it like we did. Book to stay here you won't regret it... the views are breath taking and well worth paying that bit extra for !! We aren't saying goodbye... we're saying see you soon xxx

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Birchys3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2013 via mobile

Lovely hotel overlooking Sorento and Bay of Naples. Staff are lovely, rooms are comfortable and on our off season visit at end of October it had a sleepiness that was really charming. I would certainly stay again. Only downside is that it's a bit if a trek into the heart of Sorento so be prepared to walk.

Stayed: October 2013
Thank MondoGoose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0 mi away
Maison La Minervetta
Maison La Minervetta
#1 of 100 in Sorrento
992 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#23 of 100 in Sorrento
3,304 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel Bristol
Hotel Bristol
#14 of 100 in Sorrento
2,518 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Best Western Hotel La Solara Sorrento
0.5 mi away
Palazzo Marziale
Palazzo Marziale
#2 of 100 in Sorrento
603 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel La Favorita
Grand Hotel La Favorita
#7 of 100 in Sorrento
1,790 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Minerva Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Minerva Hotel

Address: Via Capo 30, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Sorrento
#12 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
#16 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range: $244 - $305 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Minerva Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Minerva, with its stunning views of the sea of Sorrento, is the ideal place for a pleasant stay in the lively coastal town. The villa’s name comes from its location along the road that has led since ancient times to the temple of Minerva on the promontory of Punta Campanella. We have a careful, discreet and efficient staff, which promptly responds to the guest’s every demand. Join us and discover what's like being in Sorrento! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Agoda, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Minerva Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Minerva Sorrento
Minerva Hotel Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing