We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Hotel Vesuvio
Ranked #51 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Perth, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Good service”
Reviewed October 8, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here as two couples for 4 nights and found the service to be brilliant, apart from the front desk. They were pretty bad, but we just ignored them and asked the guys in the restaurant and the cleaning ladies for and info we needed.

It's located up the mountain side a bit out of town, but there's a good shuttle bus service that goes into the heart if Sorrento, and from there a fee minutes walk to the bus stop if you want to go to almalfi coast.

rooms were clean and well kept, with fresh towels every morning. Meals here were average. They had a good choice of gluten free options, and breakfast was proper continental, with pastries, fruits, breads, yoghurt, hot goods etc. our meals were included for 3 of the nights, but not the 4th, which we didn't realise. I wouldn't have paid the costs of eating here as it turned out quite expensive and not that great for what we paid.

Rooms were a really good size. We had a pool/ocean view which was nice and we could leave the window open and it was still secure. Their block out blinds are amazing.

Relatively quiet too, no street noise at all, only the occasional tink of glasses at the bar outside could be heard.

A good hotel for relaxing during the day or just dumping your bags and heading out

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank AdzynR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,208 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    433
    453
    217
    64
    41
See reviews for
307
521
35
41
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (308)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Worcestershire, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2013

We stayed for 7 nights in October through Citalia. Very large hotel which catered for tour groups
(American and German). Check in was swift. Breakfast was a buffet with a variety of choices, all of which were good. Our first night was a dinner buffet which was excellent but the remainder of the week was waiter service. As soon as one course was finished, the next appeared very quickly. Food was all excellent apart from one meal of fish which was not cooked properly and we sent back.
Rooms were very spacious and clean and we had a second floor room with large balcony, table and chairs as well as 2 sunbeds. The views of the bay and Mount Vesuvious were stunning and
offered many photographic opportunities.
The roof terrace was a good find although a little uninviting but peaceful. Stunning views all round.
The gardens and pool area were good with an undercover seating area.
There was no tea/coffee tray in the room and we were told by a female receptionist that they had never provided them. Weird, as we had one 2 years ago!!!
There was also no room service - we enquired the day before leaving as we had an early flight,
so had a 5-minute rushed breakfast in the dining room. The receptionist was not helpful at all on this issue.
The hotel's shuttle bus service was good apart from the fact that there was no service in the middle of the day between 1.30 and 4.30 p.m. back from the town.
We did walk into Sorrento but beware there are no pavements on either side of the road.
We had to use a taxi service from town once and it was VERY expensive.

Overall a nice hotel and the views cannot be bettered.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sunflowers1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walton on Thames
Level 5 Contributor
95 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2013

Stayed in September 2013 for 7 nights arranged by Voyages Jules Verne (as an extension to 7 nights touring Sicily). Rather old fashioned, large hotel with a tired façade but internally clean. Poor breakfast spread. Lots of helpful waiters in starched white outfits and 'silver service' of tea/coffee, but food disappointing unless you want to gorge on sugar laden pastries for breakfast (some guests clearly did). Fruit on offer particular poor (surprising given the region). Hotel shop pathetic; even decent postcards were beyond it. Staff pleasant and helpful. Reasonably sized and comfortable bar and first floor roof terrace area. An area which arguably could have been call a gym existed (never saw it used). Did not eat an evening meal in hotel (Sorrento offers plenty of good alternatives) but reasonable meals reported by others. Out of town location not ideal. Unsafe to walk the couple of miles downhill to town (often no pavements and Italian driving is frequently 'challenging'). Hotel's courtesy bus times inadequate in middle of the day. Taxis availably but quite expensive. Wi-Fi available at a reasonable cost, although coverage in some rooms very patchy. Attractive pool and surrounding area, but closes at 6pm. Nice long distance views of Vesuvius and the sea. Noticeable absence of children (this is not a complaint!). A sea facing balcony would be good if you intended to spend much time in the room/hotel. Given a choice we would have selected a hotel in Sorrento with a pool. People's reaction to hotel will obviously be based on their needs and attitude. A lot of the guests were tour groups (UK, German, North American etc.) and hotel was a base for Pompeii, Amalfi Coast (Capri etc.) visits and probably for many little time was spent in hotel. Sorrento (and region) has much to offer and we could see very little point in staying outside the main town which we always visiting if not on a trip to Pompeii etc. As we had bought a holiday (with trips) from VJV we cannot comment on the cost of just booking the hotel and it may be that one of its strong points is its pricing. High marks for Sorrento as a location but overall the hotel was average.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2013

We stayed for 5 nights at the Grand Vesuvio after a booking mishap meant we had few options on short notice in Sorrento. It is a very large hotel, with apparently over 300 rooms... Hence it had a room available in a city where accomodation was very tight. It was reasonably pricy, but we really did have few options, in the end we were grateful to have a room.
This is a hotel that caters for a lot of tour groups. The spaces are cavernous and there is no warmth in the hotel or in its service. Breakfast is in a huge dining room and is really very ordinary considering the price we paid. Fruit was canned, the only hot option was scrambled eggs, poorly cooked and the same every morning. There were cold meats and cheeses, and plenty of croissants and cakes, if this is what you prefer.
The room we stayed in was large and comfortable and we had a balcony with a sea view which was spectacular. Inside the room there is no information about the services of the hotel, so you need to ask about everything. There is a regular shuttle service into town and return. The pool area is expansive and there is a snack bar adjacent to it. Internet was included in the room rate, but was slow and patchy.
The reception staff are pleasant enough, but I feel they cater more for tour groups than independent travelers as they do not offer much useful travel information. Questions are answered with a minimum amount of information and enthusiasm. There were no tourist brochures readily available within the hotel that I saw.
On the whole I would say this hotel is serviceable, clean and comfortable. I would not choose to stay there again, as I would prefer a smaller establishment where there is some personal service. It was just too big!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JKAT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2013 via mobile

We got an amazing deal on three rooms on Booking.com. There were no issues at check-in. The front desk staff is nice, but not all that helpful with recommendations for Sorrento. Be sure to make your own plans. The hotel is clean, a wonderful pool and bar area. The views from the rooms are all amazing. The free shuttle that runs every 15-30 minutes is a great feature. We used it for every trip down to Sorrento. The only downside is the hotel restaurant. Do NOT waste your time. The decor, the wait staff, and the food, are miserable. It feels like something out of The Shining. Just avoid it altogether. Other than that, we highly recommend this hotel, especially at the price. Also, one small but important issue...if the bar is closed, there is no water to be found other than tap water. Literally, no bottled drinking water anywhere. Be sure to bring your own.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Branton B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Level 6 Contributor
214 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2013

We stayed at the Grand Hotel Vesuvio as part of our tour group. I was a little hesitant at first but upon arrival I was pleasantly surprised. The lobby was very nice as was the staff. If you can definitely upgrade to a sea view soooo worth it! I cannot comment on the dinner at the hotel as we chose to take the very convenient bus into town for an authentic meal. The pool was wonderful! The views.... WOW! One side was the mountain and the other the sea very beautiful! Only downside you cannot drink by the pool you need to drink in the bar area around the pool. Loved loved loved the the main bar area with the outdoor patio overlooking the sea.... breath taking views! The rooms were very nice.... just hated that the beds are not together but they were like that all over Italy. I would go back again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hms16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portage la Prairie, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2013

We arrived at the Grand Hotel Vesuvio after a nightmarish 30 hrs of travel to get to Sorrento. When we walked into the hotel lobby, we knew that we had arrived somewhere we would relax. I suggest splurging for the Superior Balcony rooms, that's what we did and the room was great. We did see some of the smaller rooms and I don't think we would have been as comfortable. The balcony overlooks Mount Vesuvius and there are two loungers as well as a table and chairs. Wonderful to lay out in the sun privately, or to sit around at night having a glass or two of wine. The hotel offers free breakfast, which was great.....and even though we ate there once or twice for lunch and dinner, those were a bit pricey. They have a FREE shuttle though, that takes you into Sorrento numerous times a day. That was wonderful and very handy. I strongly suggest doing that every night. Sorrento is amazing and there are so many places to shop, eat etc. The gelato in Sorrento that we tried was the best. We also found some amazing little spots like the sorrento cooking school (best bruschetta of our whole trip) and don't forget to stop at "the corner store" for the best home made lemoncello by Giovanni. He's a great guy! Sorry, back to the hotel.....the pool was AMAZINGLY fantastic and so handy. It was 35+ every day we were in Sorrento so we spent those days at the pool, our evenings in Sorrento. OVerall, we would go back to that hotel in a heartbeat......Sorrento was the most relaxing part of our Italy trip by far. Great little place. Great hotel. Staff all speak English and were very helpful.

Room Tip: superior Balcony rooms......
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CBelisle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sorrento
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#26 of 100 in Sorrento
3,061 reviews
15.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Vesuvio
Grand Hotel Vesuvio
#7 of 186 in Naples
1,413 reviews
1.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Flora
Grand Hotel Flora
#53 of 100 in Sorrento
388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Art Hotel Gran Paradiso
Art Hotel Gran Paradiso
#39 of 100 in Sorrento
1,082 reviews
0.4 mi away
Best Western Hotel La Solara
0.6 mi away
Conca Park Hotel
Conca Park Hotel
#38 of 100 in Sorrento
1,452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Vesuvio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Vesuvio

Property: Grand Hotel Vesuvio
Address: Via Nastro Verde 7, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#36 Family Hotel in Sorrento
#36 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
#47 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Vesuvio 4*
Number of rooms: 250
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hotel Vesuvio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing