We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, cold rooms.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Hotel Vesuvio
Ranked #49 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Reviewed July 27, 2013

We stayed two nights with Cosmo best of Italy tour.
The hotel has beautiful views of Sorrento, the Vesuvio and the ocean. Breakfast was good and the staff very courteous.
The room on the other hand was frigid cold (even though we turned off the ac) and the bed sheets felt damp, not a good feeling.
We left the patio door open to harness some warmth from the outside but still felt cold and damp.
We asked our tour's companions and every one had the same complain about the room.
There is a shuttle that takes you to downtown Sorrento, but make sure you are early since it gets filled up fast and standing is not allowed in the bus.
Internet is 5 euros for the day but reception is spooty and slow. There are two desktop computers to use for free but one was out of service.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AlexVentura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,270)
There are newer reviews for Grand Hotel Vesuvio
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

551 - 557 of 1,273 reviews

Reviewed July 27, 2013

We spent 7 nights B+B recently in a room with a sea view at this Hotel and it was exactly as advertised. Amazing views , superb pool and the free courtesey bus into town runs bang on time and even does additional runs if it is over subscribed. The driver is a credit to the hotel .
The sunbathing facilities and the pool are great and kept a 12 year old very happy and with the high July temperatures the cool hillside breeze was worth the money on its own.
The rooms are immaculately kept by the housekeeping staff and breakfast was basic but sufficient. We had lunch by the pool a couple of days and it was fine and reasonable value. Our only negative observation was that Wi-Fi was slow and it broke the reception staffs hearts to give you the password !!
The walk into town was 20 minutes and very steep but as the bus service was so reliable this was not necessary. The local SITA bus to the Amalfi coast stops outside the hotel but be warned you must have bought your ticket before you board.
We also visited Capri Island and the Blue Grotto - a superb experience not to be missed.

Room Tip: Choose a sea view as all rooms have black out blinds and air conditioning you will not be woken by t...
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anguszim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

We just returned from the Amalfi Coast with Gate One tours. THe hotel and the tours were amazing. Each day was better than the one before. This is our sixth trip with Gate One and we are never disappointed.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sisterone1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2013

We stayed here for two nights as part of a tour of Sorrento, Amalfi and Capri. Having read the reviews, I was a bit worried but needn't have been. The staff was very helpful, the hotel and the (large) rooms were clean, the view is fabulous, and the food in the restaurant was good (for a package deal it was actually very good). The shuttle down town was efficient. Our room looked out onto a roof behind but we weren't in it much so that didn't matter; we just sat on the terrace with a drink listening to the pianist and admiring the views of Sorrento at night. Magical.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Globetrotter006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2013 via mobile

Spent 2 nights in Sorrento this summer. Rooms were very clean, views are great! Pool is nice, food is average. My issue with the place? The staff was incredibly rude. Not a smile when we checked in. It was like pulling teeth to get any information from them. Overall, an average stay.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AmyDiS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2013

This hotel was booked as part of the emerald tour that went under, I paid to have views but didn't get them, The hotel has a free shuttle bus that goes into Sorrento, it is always full and on the return trip ive never experienced so much pushing to get the bus back. The problem is this hotel are too far out of town .I suggest finding one closer to the shopping area, however if you want to just sit by the pool this hotel is fine. The breakfast had a good selection, however the hotel is a bit run down. Staff were very organized and professional. Would stay at a different hotel next time.

Room Tip: request a room facing the bay and get it in writing
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vald63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2013

Stayed here 2 nights as part of a tour
Large clean room with private balcony overlooking the bay
Excellent service in the restaurant and the food was very good
We had to pay 5 euro for wi fi
Hotel is not in town and you have to get the shuttle
Pool closes at 6 pm which is bizarre considering its the middle of summer
I would stay in town next time

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beakyfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sorrento
15.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Vesuvio
Grand Hotel Vesuvio
#8 of 185 in Naples
1,469 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#25 of 100 in Sorrento
3,187 reviews
0.4 mi away
Best Western Hotel La Solara Sorrento
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Flora
Grand Hotel Flora
#54 of 100 in Sorrento
436 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel La Vue D'Or
Hotel La Vue D'Or
#31 of 100 in Sorrento
1,013 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hilton Sorrento Palace
Hilton Sorrento Palace
#32 of 100 in Sorrento
3,399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Vesuvio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Vesuvio

Address: Via Nastro Verde 7, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#34 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
#36 Family Hotel in Sorrento
#47 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range: $192 - $315 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Vesuvio 4*
Number of rooms: 250
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hotel Vesuvio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing