We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“relax”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Hotel Vesuvio
Ranked #49 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“relax”
Reviewed October 30, 2012

spure of the moment jobbie for us --best hol we ever had- what a ball
two ladies who had all round service and smiles -- we loved it. to all that made our time in this hotel we say bella hope that means thank you xx

Room Tip: our room was 4th floor overlooking the lemon groves- lovely quite- take myour pick x
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank maz351
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,179 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    419
    442
    216
    63
    39
See reviews for
301
504
34
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (300)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
dunster
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2012

After our sixth visit in five years, we have never been disappointed and we thoroughly recommend this hotel.
All the hotel staff, from reception, restaurant, bar staff, cleaning ladies and bus driver were very professional, friendly and courteous.
The restaurant manager Giuseppe and his under managers all have a good command of English and have shaped the restaurant staff into a professional unit, most of them speak some English.
Food is excellent with a good selection and prompt service; nothing is too much trouble and all presented in a clean and spacious restaurant.
Bedrooms were very comfortable, cleaned thoroughly every day and had magnificent views over the Bay of Naples from the balcony.
Reception staff were always approachable, helpful with a ready smile.
The good size swimming pool, with its circulating water system, ensures that it is kept clean at all times.
The regular courtesy bus, which takes you into Sorrento, is invaluable.
It is difficult to understand any adverse comments on ‘Trip Advisor’.

Room Tip: pay extra for balcony room at front of hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ermington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vancouver
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2012

We stayed at the hotel on October 2, 2012 had a fabulous time, cannot understand the bad reviews. The staff was absolutely helpful, courteous and friendly. Very clean hotel and great pool. I had a great cigar and scotch by the moon light. maybe those (poor) blokes should be vacationing to Mogadishu. Cheers

Room Tip: try to get a room with a view of the bay. Bloody awesome!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank VancouverVince
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newmarket, Canada
Level Contributor
220 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2012

We upgraded to a seaview room which is worth it otherwise the other rooms looked out to a wall and some lemon trees. There is a roof top patio which I was not aware of until the end of our stay. It has a wider view than our room. We were on a tour so the dinner was included the first night we arrived. It was awful. The meat was gray. We had 2 other dinners planned at the hotel but we chose to eat in Sorrento instead. It was good that there is a shuttle to town as it is a dangerous walk. Keep in mind that the shuttle does not run between 1-4 and there's a big gap between 5:30 and 7:15 so plan accordingly. Breakfast is the same every day so keep your expectations low.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janet K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Selby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2012

This is a fantastic hotel; it is spotlessly clean everywhere, the food is superb and all the staff are kind, helpful and courteous. We had a room on the top floor which was large and again perfectly clean (and comfortable) thanks to the dedicated maid service. We had unrivalled views over the Bay of Naples and Vesuvio. The shuttle bus operated at very convenient times and was always exactly on time. This is the first time that I have contributed to TripAdvisor as I feel that the hotel deserves much credit. Thankyou again to all the staff.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Ivan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2012

A garden view? Great professional pics of the hotel on the web sites? This is what we got with First Choice. (Now my last choice). We booked a garden view room. Neither First Choice or the belligerent hotel manager seem prepared to take responsibility. A concrete wall and the tops of some plants do not amount to a garden view...................beware

The rest.....

food varies from awful breakfasts to quite excellent on buffet nights (2 x a week)
If you are AI be prepared to get a different plateful than paying guests - you are second class and you are made to feel it at times
AI does NOT mean all you can eat .....it is possible to eat 3 courses and be left hungry
AI white wine drinkable (just) red - avoid
to get a good room you must pay more or be lucky
big pool
great terrace bar and view
good shuttle bus service into town
pleasant staff in the restaurant
less pleasant manager
Overall the sense that they don't really want AI from UK
Going AI means you don't benefit from super restaurants in romantic back streets of Sorrento

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FairPlayerHampshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greater London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2012

Very nice hotel, stayed on the 4th floor with great views of the bay and Mount Vesuvius, room very large and clean. We just had breakfast included and paid over £700 for 5 nights.
Massive pool but did close at 6.30 and were given pool towels.

Room Tip: Pay extra for front room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank saudfran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sorrento
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#25 of 100 in Sorrento
2,997 reviews
15.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Vesuvio
Grand Hotel Vesuvio
#7 of 186 in Naples
1,386 reviews
1.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Flora
Grand Hotel Flora
#52 of 100 in Sorrento
366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Conca Park Hotel
Conca Park Hotel
#40 of 100 in Sorrento
1,410 reviews
0.4 mi away
Best Western Hotel La Solara
1.8 mi away
Art Hotel Gran Paradiso
Art Hotel Gran Paradiso
#39 of 100 in Sorrento
1,067 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Vesuvio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Vesuvio

Property: Grand Hotel Vesuvio
Address: Via Nastro Verde 7, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#34 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
#36 Family Hotel in Sorrento
#47 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Vesuvio 4*
Number of rooms: 250
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hotel Vesuvio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing