We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good hotel on the whole”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Art Hotel Gran Paradiso
Ranked #41 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 21, 2013

We thought that this hotel is good but our experience was spoiled by the "eyesore" that was about ten feet from our window.(room 222)
It seemed to be a smallholding but it looked like a gypsy camp with a derelict looking shack covered by cardboard . We could also see a number of large rusty drums or containers on a big table. We didn't feel like using our balcony because of this. We think that the hotel should screen the area because people staying in those rooms on the back will be disappointed.The hotel was full so we couldn't change to another room.

Everything else was very good especially the cheerful and friendly staff.

There seems to be an "arrangement" between the local buses and Taxis which needs to be stopped!
We went by local bus to Positano and then waited 1 3/4 hours for a bus to go on to Amalfi. In that time three buses arrived but the driver would only let about six people on the bus out of roughly 30 people waiting. Each driver then closed the doors and drove off with a half empty bus! At the same time a taxi would appear touting for business at 10 euros a passenger.
We abandoned our plan to go on to Amalfi and just managed to get on a bus back to Sorrento which again left passengers standing although it still had empty seats.
Sorrento will lose visitors if this kind of thing is not stopped.

J.B.

Room Tip: It is vital to choose a sea view room on the front because of what we described.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank charlottecornwall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGRANPARADISO, Manager at Art Hotel Gran Paradiso, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2013

Dear Valued Guest charlottecornwall,

Thank you for your kind and detailed review about your stay.

I am sorry to read that the local buses were not reliable and that the view from your balcony was not nice.

We really hope to welcome you again in Sorrento.

Yours sincerely,

Alberto
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,151)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

446 - 452 of 1,151 reviews

Reviewed September 19, 2013

Beautiful view over the bay, very friendly staff en delicious food. We very much enjoyed our stay here!
Only downside is that the hotel is located up the hill, and it's a quite the walk to the centre. But the hotel provides a regular minibus.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NeleBrugge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGRANPARADISO, Manager at Art Hotel Gran Paradiso, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2013

Dear Valued Guest NeleBrugge,

Thank you for choosing Art Hotel Gran Paradiso for your stay in Sorrento.

We are so glad to read that you have enjoied your stay.

We really hope to welcome you again in Sorrento.

Yours sincerely,

Alberto
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2013

We have just returned after a 7 night stay at the Gran Paradiso and couldn't feel more relaxed.
After a long journey to the hotel we arrived at 9pm and were expecting to be too later for the evening meal which are served until 9pm but the staff very efficiently booked us into our room and told us that dinner was still available for us.

The room was very clean and large enough for a couple. The bathroom was excellent with everything we needed. The beds were very comfy.
The only suggestions to improve the room would be a few more plug sockets as we only had one free one and maybe an additional set of storage drawers.
We would also have liked more coat hangers in the wardrobe but when we asked reception for more some were quickly delivered to our room.

The reception staff are very helpful and answered any questions we had and supplied bus/train timetables and other local information.
We were asked if we were having a good stay and if there was anything else we needed to ask straight away.

On arrival we were given a map of Sorrento and a timetable for the hotels shuttle bus.
The bus was very reliable and available whenever we needed it even dropping us off at the bottom of the hill and collecting us again when we had booked excursions.

The location of the hotel is ideal if you want somewhere quiet to relax with a short 5-10 minute bus ride to the hustle and bustle of Sorrento.
Sorrento is a lively town with plenty of shops, restaurants, bars and cafes to choose from. Saturday night was especially lively with live bands and a great, friendly environment.
Some people might complain that Sorrento is not as picturesque as the Amalfi Coast but I'm sure you pay hotel prices to reflect this. Also, the Amalfi Coasts is a short bus journey away and ideal for a day trip.
There is also plenty to do in easy distance of the Gran Paradiso including visiting Capri, Ischia and Pompeii.
Yes, it is a steep climb to the hotel but we had no problem with this due to how regular the free shuttle bus was.

The hotels restaurant was clean and modern and all of the waiting staff were excellent. They were all helpful and very friendly. Nothing was ever too much hassle.
The food was to a great standard and each night there was a choice of 4 starters, 4 mains and a dessert of the day as well as fruit, ice cream or cheese.
As we were away from the main town we were concerned that the drinks would be pricey but they are cheaper than in the main town.
The breakfast was also great with a choice of cereal, meats, cheese, pastries, yoghurt, scrambled egg, sausages, jams, breads, juices, coffee and tea.

The pool area was well designed with a clean pool, plenty of sun loungers and a comfy area to sit with some seats in the shade.
Staff would serve drinks around the pool as you relaxed. Bliss!
As for the view it is breath-taking with views of the sea, Sorrento, Naples, Vesuvius and the surrounding mountains. No books were required when you could just gaze out for hours!
Due to the no children policy the area was extremely relaxing.

When it came to checking out is was extremely easy with the bar bill adding up to exactly as we expected and the staff were happy to split the bill across 2 credit cards.

We will happily stay here again and highly recommend a stay to anyone wanting to visit the area.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rosie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGRANPARADISO, Manager at Art Hotel Gran Paradiso, responded to this reviewResponded September 21, 2013

Dear Valued Guest Rosie S,

Thank you for your kind and detailed review about your stay at Art Hotel Gran Paradiso.

We are so glad to read that you have enjoied your stay, that the beds were comfortable, that the bathroom was execellent and that the room was spacious and clean.

We really hope to welcome you again on our pool and in Sorrento.

Yours sincerely,

Alberto
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2013

I can not say enough terrible things about this hotel. Do not stay here! Upon arrival we were asked to do them a favor to move to the hotel down the street because they double booked our room. We immediately denied. We then got to our "sea view" room which was a view of a grass hill and shack with a view of the ocean to the side. The room was dirty and our feet turned black walking around the room. The sheets were stained. The absolutely WORST part was the fact they told us the bus stopped running from positano at 8 pm but it actually ran until 11:40 pm! We didn't find this out until we were in positano the next day. The only reason they must not know the local bus schedule is so they scam people into eating at the hotel restaurant. Sorrento itself is a dirty, boring and distant city from the famous amalfi coast. It is a 50 min nauseating bus ride that we made two ways every day to see the beautiful positano. When we tried to cancel our room to stay at a hotel in positano they would not refund our money. We can't understand who is reviewing this place so well, when it is basically a dirty pool on top of a hill. The view is the ONLY positive. Do not stay here!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kmar21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGRANPARADISO, Manager at Art Hotel Gran Paradiso, responded to this reviewResponded September 21, 2013

Dear Valued Guest kmar21,

Thank you for reviewing your stay.

We are so sorry to read that your stay was terrible.

Your reservation was for a sea view room, but it has been imposed by a travel agency even if we have asked to stop the sales.

We have proposed you an alternative hotel, but you have denied, and told us: " if you give us an hotel in Positano we will accept". So we have decided to give you the only room available with sea view.

Unfortunately we are not a travel agency, but as you describe us a dirty pool on top of a hill.

Next time, when you go to the travel agent, get informed and book a stay in Positano. You may avoid to de disappointed. Nowadays with the net, it's so easy to understand were you are going on holiday.

Yours sincerely,

Alberto

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2013

I stayed @ the art hotel gran paradiso 7 days and i was extremly impressed regarding the high level of the quality service .
Staff is efficient -food is fantastic i did one restaurant down Town but it didnt meet my expectation so i have had all my meals at the hotel enjoying there breathtaking view with my pinot grigio!

I would truly recommand this place and i am actually planning to Come back soon to Sorrento!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Henri james W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGRANPARADISO, Manager at Art Hotel Gran Paradiso, responded to this reviewResponded September 21, 2013

Dear Valued Guest Henri james W,

Thank you for your kind review about your stay at Art Hotel Gran Paradiso.

We are glad to read that You have enjoied your stay with us and that the restaurant met your expectations.

We all hope to welcome you again in Sorrento soon.

Best regards,

Alberto

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2013 via mobile

Me and my husband stayed here from 3-10th Sept for our 25th Wedding Anniversary. We had a Standard Sea-View Room N 104 which was amazing! the room was very modern indeed with a Kingsize bed that was so comfortable. The room also had a flatscreen tv, and dressing table n chair although not a huge room we found it sufficient for our stay. The Shower room had a lovely spacious shower. And complimentary toiletries and slippers. Balcony was more than big enough for two to sit out on in the evenings with amazing views. Although i would agree a light out there would be a bonus. Everyday our room was cleaned to an outstanding standard with clean towels daily they even provide your pool towels! Which are left in your room on arrival. The Hotel is very high up but then thats why you have the wonderful views, it is walkable mind, me and my husband are in our forties and walked up and down a number of times with little trouble just take it slowly, and avoid late at night if poss as its very dark. The shuttle bus is very good, and on arrival you are given the shuttle pick up and drop off times its also tells you where to pick it up on your return trip this differs in the daytime and evening. If you decide to walk into Sorrento as we did many times its about a 10-20 min walk depending how fast a walker you are. the roads are narrow but its an easy and pleasant walk. Sorrento is lovely a Shopper's Paradise in fact, with plenty of restaurants, it comes alive at night with markets and street entertainers and shops open till late. We loved Sorrento and loved the hotel with its lovely pool and friendly staff and hope to return next year. Thank-You for making our holiday so memorable.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paulamaldon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGRANPARADISO, Manager at Art Hotel Gran Paradiso, responded to this reviewResponded September 14, 2013

Dear Valued Guest Paulamaldon,

Thank you for your kind and detailed review about your stay at Art Hotel Gran Paradiso.

We are so glad to read that you have enjoied your stay, that the beds were comfortable, that the shower was spacious and clean and that the shuttle bus was very good.

We really hope to welcome you again on our pool and in Sorrento.

Yours sincerely,

Alberto
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2013

First the best bits. The pool was stunning as were the views over the Bay of Naples to Vesuvius. We enjoyed stunning sunsets over Ischia as well as one dramatic thunderstorm. The staff were attentive and courteous (particularly in the dining room) and the hotel was very clean. The shuttle bus, though basic and hot, was very prompt and reliable.
We had booked two superior sea-view rooms for 7 nights, one for myself and my husband and one for our teenage daughters, and had emailed a week before we left to check that the booking was in order and that both rooms would have the large balconies that appear on the hotel's website. We received a reply that they would.
On arrival at about 1pm we were told that our rooms were not ready (not a problem in itself) so we decided to have lunch on the terrace while we waited. We did notice at the time that another couple at the desk were being told that their booking had not gone through properly and that the hotel would find them alternative accommodation in Sorrento as the hotel was full. While eating lunch I was told that nothing was wrong but could I speak to the manager when I had finished. He told me that they had made a mistake and the hotel was completely full for the night, and he needed us to all share one room for the first night. In return we would have the "best room in the hotel" for that night and we could stay there for the rest of the week once our daughters' room was available the following day. This was a pretty disappointing start to our holiday, especially as we were only staying a week and celebrating our wedding anniversary! He insisted there was no alternative, but said that we would not be charged for the night. The room itself was huge, with one of the balconies that we had expected, and the extra beds were perfectly adequate for a family who wished to share (interestingly they were already made up). We saw the other couple later so obviously they had been found a room, probably while we were eating lunch!
The girls moved in to their own room the following day, but although this had a sea view it was about a quarter of the size of ours with a very small balcony and a miniscule shower. We were assured it was still a superior sea-view, apparently the standard rooms are on he end of the hotel. I suggest that this should be clearer on the website. We were provided with a free bottle of Asti in our room the following day, which was appreciated but didn't really make up for the mistake.
We didn't make a bigger deal of this as we wanted to enjoy the rest of the holiday, but we did notice that a couple of other families with teenagers seemed to have similar experiences on checking in, and ended up sharing room. I don't suppose independent couples would be expected to share, and I suspect anyone travelling with a major travel company (with a rep around) would be treated this way!
When my husband paid the bill, we had no compensation other than taking off the cost of the girls' room for the first night (which we had not had anyway).
The rooms were generally kept very clean, but we did find it odd that neither water glasses nor bedlinen were replaced during the whole week. The bathroom in our room was very large, but was in bad need of a refurbishment with a rusty shower riser (which didn't hold the head in place), stained grout, and mould in the corner of the bath seal. There was good water pressure and plenty of hot water.
It was very hot and humid during our stay (mid August), and whilst the air con made a difference, it did seem to be very noisy and struggling a bit to keep our large room cool.

Room Tip: Room sizes and balconies vary widely within categories. First floor front rooms are mostly very larg...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kate W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGRANPARADISO, Manager at Art Hotel Gran Paradiso, responded to this reviewResponded September 14, 2013

Dear Valued Guest Kate W,

Thank you for reviewing your stay.

We are happy to read that the Staff in the dining room were attentive and courteous , that the pool was of your taste and that you have enjoyed our unique sunsets.

I am sorry for the inconvenient of being allocated into an other hotel for the first night.
We have experienced some problems on our booking system that together to the non acceptancy of the stop sales from travel agencies and the big amount of reservations in all Sorrento area due to the crisis of tourism in the middle east, we have had some problems of overbooking.

We do not want to treat Guests in this way, but when the only aim of the travel agency is to sell room even when the hotel is fully booked, the result is that we need to solve the problems in the best way without disappointing the Client.

We hope to get a better score during your next visit in Sorrento.

Best regards,

Alberto

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sorrento
0.5 mi away
Grand Hotel Riviera
Grand Hotel Riviera
#18 of 100 in Sorrento
1,253 reviews
0.7 mi away
Europa Palace Grand Hotel
Europa Palace Grand Hotel
#62 of 100 in Sorrento
751 reviews
0.6 mi away
Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Corallo Sorrento
Hotel Corallo Sorrento
#3 of 19 in Sant'Agnello
1,249 reviews
1.7 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#23 of 100 in Sorrento
3,294 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel La Vue D'Or
Hotel La Vue D'Or
#30 of 100 in Sorrento
1,043 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Art Hotel Gran Paradiso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Art Hotel Gran Paradiso

Address: Via Catigliano 9, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#32 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
#37 Family Hotel in Sorrento
#41 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range: $124 - $311 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Art Hotel Gran Paradiso 4*
Number of rooms: 99
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TravelUp, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Evoline ltd so you can book your Art Hotel Gran Paradiso reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Art Hotel Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing