We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very, very, good indeed!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Art Hotel Gran Paradiso

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Art Hotel Gran Paradiso
Ranked #41 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Victoria
Level Contributor
90 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Very, very, good indeed!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2013

The utterly wonderful views over the Bay of Naples alone, would sell this hotel. Rooms are small but extremely clean and comfortable - although our shower was very small indeed. The buffet breakfasts set us up for the day. The quality of food and level of service at the evening meals was excellent value. We had to get used to the timetable for the shuttle up and down the hill but that was not a big issue. Would we recommend the Gran Paradiso? Absolutely and totally!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jeff-from-Melbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGRANPARADISO, Manager at Art Hotel Gran Paradiso, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Dear Valued Guest Jeff-from-Melbourne,

Thank you for booking your stay at Art Hotel Gran Paradiso!

It is apleasure for us to read that you have enjoied your stay.

We hope to welcome you again in Sorrento soon.

Yours sincerely,

Alberto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,015 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    453
    341
    133
    50
    38
See reviews for
145
625
20
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (260)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2013

Stunning views, immaculate room, friendly, helpful staff all around. By far, my best vacation ever. The shuttle to and from the hotel was wonderful. It is a steep walk up the side of the mountain but my partner and I opted to walk back up 5 out of 7 nights in order to walk off the calories from all the delicious meals we had. We are very fit though so you may want to walk down the hill and into town but take the shuttle back. Food in the restaurant was great. I can not complain about a single thing!

Room Tip: Ask for sea view and terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank tericks1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGRANPARADISO, Manager at Art Hotel Gran Paradiso, responded to this review, April 20, 2013
Dear Valued Guest tericks1,

I would like to thank you for choosing Art Hotel Gran Paradiso for your stay in Sorrento and for posting such nice pictures of the view over the coast.

I hope to have the chance to welcome you again in our hotel,

With my best regards,

Alberto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2013

Well... Me, my wife, my grandson,my son and my daughter in law all wewnt on a trip to Sorrento
and we stayed in this hotel all holiday and especially my grandson loved it!
So much so there was a sad song on the radio and he started crying because he wanted to
come back to Italy and stay in this hotel again. Lovely location, I would love to go there again

Room Tip: I would reccomend getting a sea view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Johnb186466
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGRANPARADISO, Manager at Art Hotel Gran Paradiso, responded to this review, April 20, 2013
Dear Mr Johnb186466 ,

Thank you very much for choosing Art Hotel Gran Paradiso for your stay in Sorrento.

We hope to welcome You and your family again in our hotel,

Sincerely Yours,

Alberto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Furano, Japan
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2013

By far this was the best hotel we stayed at during our recent trip to Italy. We had just come off a 9 day Cosmos "Splendors of Italy" tour (an extremely well run tour) and as an extension, had a few days in Sorrento. We were initially surprised at the location, half way up a mountain, but it was well worth it. Stunning views over the bay of Naples to Mt Vesuvius as well over Sorrento. Large pool, very professional staff and great rooms.
We were a family of four (two teenagers) and had booked two rooms. Because the hotel was full, the manager asked if we could share a room and was not pushy. We agreed ( much to the managers relief) and thought, oh well, what does it matter. The next night after a few guests had left, my wife & I were upgraded to the best room in the hotel for the rest of our stay (don't know where the kids went) by a very grateful manager!
The free shuttle bus into town every 30 mins made the location not a problem. Service is a pleasure in this hotel and the staff seemed very happy indicating good relations between management & staff. Australian hotels leave a lot to be desired.

If you are looking for a unique place to stay in Sorrento, Italy, this is one to consider.

Room Tip: If you can see the ocean, it's a good room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Steve M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGRANPARADISO, Manager at Art Hotel Gran Paradiso, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Dear Mr Steve M.

I would like to thank you for writing sucha a kind review.

We hope to have the chance to welcome You again at Art Hotel Gran Paradiso.

Yours sincerely,

Alberto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cumbria
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2013

Spent 2 weeks here last July for our honeymoon. After a shaky start all was good. We had booked a sea view room and on check in were not allocated one. They did move us to a lovely room on the 3 rd floor the following morning. The location of this hotel has unsurpassed views. The road up is very steep but the courtesy bus runs regularly. The food is good though did get a little repetitive. All staff were lovely. Great base to tour sore to, Capri, Pompeii, positano, amalfi etc. sore to is lovely especially the old part. Would definitely return.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with sea views, definitely worth the extra
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank murphyCumbria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGRANPARADISO, Manager at Art Hotel Gran Paradiso, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Dear Mrs/Mr murphyCumbria,

Thank you very much for booking your stay with us.

It will be a pleasure for us to welcome You again at Art Hotel Gran Paradiso, during your next visit to Sorrento.

Best regards,

Alberto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2013

This was our third visit to this hotel - although it had been some ten years since our last visit and previously we had visited with our teenage children

We had high expectations as we had returned twice within three years previously as the children loved the hotel and the area. However it was time for a more relaxed and leisurely paced holiday as a couple and we were not to be disappointed.

Whilst the hotel was basically the same the pool area had been revamped and together with the superb views this area remains the highlight of the hotel. It was also pleasing to recognise so many faces amongst the staff despite the ten year gap in visits - Guiseppe and his team continue to run a well organised restaurant and the food is enjoyable albeit nothing fancy. Breakfast was good with a wide variety on offer and it was a joy to sit outside on the patio area both at breakfast and for evening meals as the views are spectacular. The Gala Dinner is very enjoyable especially with a nice reasonably priced bottle of Orvietto.

On our earlier visits we had a large family room with sea view and we were expecting to be facing the cliff on this occasion as we had not booked a sea view - however we were very pleased with our room which had a side sea view.

Whilst we love Sorrento itself it can get very busy and we would not wish to stay in the busy hustle bustle of the town centre. The Gran Paradiso is located a short distance out of town at the top of a hill which gives you the sense of space, fresh air and fabulous views towards Capri, Ischia and Vesuvius whilst looking down on the terracotta roofed buildings/churches of Sorrento and St Agnello - stunning!

If there was a disappointment during this visit it was the weather which changed after a heat wave giving us quite a bit of rain, however we still enjoyed a very relaxing break and will certainly visit again - hopefully without the ten year gap!

We were a bit surprised to learn that the hotel is to become 'child free' from 2013 as the staff were great with the children present during our visit and also with our 11 and 13 year olds when we previously visited.

Overall good value for money - a great base to explore the stunning Amalfi Coast and definitely well worth a visit as the hotel gives you a very warm welcome and delivered everything we wanted from a holiday.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Huder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGRANPARADISO, Manager at Art Hotel Gran Paradiso, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Dear Mrs/Mr Huder,

Thank you for writing your opinion about Art Hotel Gran Paradiso, Sorrento.

I am glad that you have enjoied Your stay with us again for the third time.

It is a pleasure for us to read that You are satisfied, this motivates our efforts in order to enhance the facilities year after year.

I hope to have the chance to welcome you again at Art Hotel Gran Paradiso, during your next visit to Sorrento.

Yours sincerely,

Alberto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2013 via mobile

We were booked into this hotel as part of a wedding party. The location, although it does make for great views, isn't convenient. The hotel is at the very top of a huge hill with a winding narrow road leading up, which in the humidity isn't a leisurely stroll, not to mention risky, and on one occasion of torrential rain we were walking through a down flowing stream as we walked back to the hotel completely drenched!
The hotel does provide a shuttle service between there and the town centre, but these are fairly small with no air con and the ride is very bumpy!

The food at the hotel was great however, with a buffet at breakfast with a good choice of English and continental food. There wasn't a lot of variety for the evening meal, there would be a choice of two or three dishes, usually a pasta dish then a meat or fish dish, however they were all lovely and the portions were a good size.

The pool area was great with plenty of beds, nice views and a bar/snack area (which served decent food), however the pool never warmed up, even on the days we had a full day of hot sun. Our party barely did any swimming as the pool was always freezing, which was a bit of a downer, especially as quite a few in the party had children. The hotel wasn't child friendly at all, with no children's menu and only one high chair in the whole dining room that had to be shared! One of our party had to ask reception to change the travel cot they requested as it was dirty and torn and one had to be borrowed from another hotel.

All the staff were friendly enough, but we wouldn't stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BaboonandBabu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGRANPARADISO, Manager at Art Hotel Gran Paradiso, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Dear Valued Guest BaboonandBabu,

Thank you for writing a review about your stay.

I am sorry if You did not like the location of the hotel, which normally is a plus, far from the noise of the centre, with the possibility to enjoy the best view over the coast and also if you reputed that it is not child friendly.

In 2013, starting from May, the hotel will become an adult only hotel.

Yours sincerely,

Alberto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
1.7 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#25 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,813 reviews
0.6 mi away
Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento
1.2 mi away
Hilton Sorrento Palace
Hilton Sorrento Palace
#34 of 100 in Sorrento
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,954 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
#28 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,168 reviews
1.7 mi away
Boutique Hotel Helios
Boutique Hotel Helios
#7 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 201 reviews
0.9 mi away
Antiche Mura Hotel
Antiche Mura Hotel
#8 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Art Hotel Gran Paradiso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Art Hotel Gran Paradiso

Property: Art Hotel Gran Paradiso
Address: Via Catigliano 9, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#30 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
#37 Family Hotel in Sorrento
#41 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Art Hotel Gran Paradiso 4*
Number of rooms: 99
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Art Hotel Gran Paradiso reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Art Hotel Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing