We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“top notch hotel without any stuffiness - brilliant”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
Ranked #26 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 19, 2010

This hotel has a fabulous pool area, 5 pools cascading down, each one infinity - esque, with lovely views over the bay of Naples. There are lots of sunbeds on different levels all with face shields and lots of sunshine and shaded areas so something for everyone. We were half board and the breakfast and evening meals were delicious. Breakfast was buffet style and dinners were a different menu every night with something for everyone. All the food was of a very good standard and neopolitan in style which was good as we didn't feel like we missed out on the local cuisine at all. i would say that all the waiters and bar staff are very friendly and nothing is too much trouble. I was very impressed with them considering the very long hours they work day after day in the heat. Our room was very clean as is the whole hotel, it was lovely and cool. it's in a great location for walks into town and views over the bay and i would definitely recommend this to a friend.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank svw1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,435)
There are newer reviews for Grand Hotel Capodimonte
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,831 - 1,837 of 2,435 reviews

Reviewed July 18, 2010

We have just returned from a 7 day stay at this hotel in Sorrento, Italy. The purpose of the trip was to celebrate our 25th Wedding Anniversary and it was the the best possible location in the best possible hotel which was ideally situated and only a short walk into the centre of the town. We found the hotel staff were very pleasant and attentive, our room although to the rear of the hotel with only a partial sea view was ideal as it was cool and for the majority of the day we were taking full advantage of the beautiful pools or out and about. The food was always delicately and tastefully presented and the menu was varied with something for everyone. This hotel offers stunning views across the Bay of Naples. It would be very difficult to find fault with this hotel and if we had to make any adverse comment it would be that unfortunately it is very expensive to use the bar at the hotel which means that despite the hotel offering very authentic entertainment in the evening it lacked atmosphere due to the mass exodus of residents largely due to the extortionate bar prices. The result of which we found a lovely family run bar on the Via Capo called "Sweet Dreams" just a 5 minute walk away, the owners of which made us feel so welcome we returned most evenings they have only been open a month please visit them and give them your support and "The Hoff" our regards. We will return to Sorrento and we would go back to The Grand Hotel Capodimonte.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarn2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2010

We recently returned from a week at this hotel and we had a lovely week. It was situated just outside the town centre of Sorrento so was only a 5 minute walk down into town. We booked a sea view room and the view across the bay towards Naples, the mountains and Mount Vesuvius was fantastic. The food was excellent and although the maitre d' was very professional and seemed to be on duty all day and evening, we felt some of the waiters could have also been a bit more professional but that would probably be our only gripe. Cleanliness of all areas, particularly our room was excellent. We had no trouble at all securing a sun bed at any time of day and the pool area and bar were very good. All in all we would definitely return to this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Telfordbeachlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2010

This hotel was the hotel of my dreams.
Starting with food - First Class. We went Half Board and the breakfast was a massive buffet with an extensive selection, all food was fresh and well prepared - a lovely chef cooking omelettes and any type of egg you wish. Dinner = FABULOUS. Real top cuisine every single night with wide ranging food - Starter, Main and Dessert (P.s. Pasta is classed as a starter in Italy!). It was all beautiful.
Customer service = AMAZING. The waitors were all the friendliest and most attentive you could ask for. We made many accquaintances, including the bar staff who travel around the pool asking for drinks all day. So helpful.
The rooms were also great, really spacious, lovely balcony, air conditioning. Got exactly what we asked for. Maid service was good as well.
The pool is amazing, the 5 fountain pools are beautiful and the perfect temperature when sunbathing.
Location is brilliant, a 5 minute walk from the centre of town and Bars.
The ONLY minor drawback - It is quite pricey for drinks at the hotel, 8 euros for a cocktail, about 23 euros for a decent bottle of wine at dinner, so it does add up.
All in all, a WONDERFUL hotel and a great stay for the 7 days. Thank you!
(P.S. Definitely visit Pompei - only 3 euros for a return ticket from the train station).

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Levina_Masterson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2010

Hotel is nice and clean and is excellently located. We stayed in the premier room and the view was truly lovely. The hotel is a very short walk to the main area of Sorrento. Sorrento is a very nice little town...lively, with lots of shopping and cafes. The hotel grounds were very well maintained and the pool is excellent with multi level and amazing views. The breakfast is also very good. If you are looking to see the Amalfi Coast, visit Capri for a day, see Pompeii then this is the best location. The only complaint I would have is that they should offer wi-fi in lobby for free at the very least.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank puttaveerian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2010

When have you ever been served instant coffee when you order a pot for breakfast in a hotel ? NEVER... but they do it here...and in Italy of all places. Wow, that really annoyed us but the waiters just shrug. I guess you have to pay extra for real coffee.....it must be some sort of luxury ! what a sad little stroy which besmirks an otherwise nice hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank walklim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2010

Our first time to Sorrento and we arrived in the rain.The view from our room across the Bay of Naples was beautiful irrespective of the rain and was even better the next day in the sunshine.
The room was spacious and comfortable with a nice balcony to sit on and admire the view.We were given wine on arrival in our room and lollies on our departure, a nice touch. Towels were changed twice a day a , linen changed daily and chocolates left at bed turn down.
Breakfast buffet catered to many different tastes and food was plentiful.Had a lovely dinner one night at one of the restaurants .The facilities at the hotel overall were excellent, pool area was fantastic with plenty of deck chairs and umbrellas, towels available and wait staff to take drink orders.Entertainment in the lounge on certain nights was good.
The hotel has lots of terraces to be able to sit and enjoy the panorama.
Location was great with an easy stroll to Sorrento town centre. Staff very friendly.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank snz15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.5 mi away
Hilton Sorrento Palace
Hilton Sorrento Palace
#33 of 100 in Sorrento
3,389 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#25 of 100 in Sorrento
3,180 reviews
1.0 mi away
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
#11 of 100 in Sorrento
1,557 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Grand Hotel Royal
Grand Hotel Royal
#21 of 100 in Sorrento
1,624 reviews
0.9 mi away
Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento
0.6 mi away
Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Capodimonte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Capodimonte

Address: Via Capo 15, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#22 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
#22 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
#25 Family Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range: $210 - $469 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Capodimonte 4*
Number of rooms: 189
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A prestigious 4 Star Superior Rating Hotel built on the lines of the typical Mediterranean architecture, positioned on the rocky mountain dominating the town of Sorrento and the enchanting Gulf of Naples. A striking and imposing hall, wonderfully designed into the rock cavern ambience, is connected with the fifth floor of the Hotel, thanks to two fast elevators. Guests will be welcomed by a selected and highly professional staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Grand Hotel Capodimonte reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Sorrento
Sorrento Capodimonte
Hotel Capodimonte Sorrento
Capodimonte Hotel Sorrento
Grand Hotel Capodimonte Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing