We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (3,104)
Filter reviews
3,104 results
Traveler rating
2,034
725
211
77
57
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
2,034
725
211
77
57
Show reviews that mention
All reviews cascading pools half board sea view bay of naples pool area lovely hotel evening meal our honeymoon poolside restaurant amazing views the cliff plenty of sunbeds short stroll mount vesuvius five minute walk public areas town centre
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
49 - 54 of 3,104 reviews
Reviewed August 15, 2019

The Grand Hotel Capodimonte was our first stop in Italy, and what a great introduction to the country! The hotel is clean, open, airy and gleaming. Set in a hillside, it offers spectacular views of the bay and the town. We stayed in a Superior Room with balcony - the room was large, bright, very clean and comfortable. The restaurants, corridors and lobby were spacious and filled with daylight.

The hotel was within an easy walk to most places in town. Sorrento proved to be a very convenient base from which to vist Capri, Amalfi, Positano and Ravello and the hotel was able to sign us up for tours.

The breakfast buffet offered a tremendous variety and the staff were attentive, cheerful and brisk. We had one dinner in the restaurant and the food and service were superb.

We were very pleased with our experience at Grand Hotel Capodimonte.

Date of stay: May 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank DD_Zen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Giuseppe M, Direttore generale at Grand Hotel Capodimonte, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for your lovely review and for taking the time to share it on Trip Advisor.

It is a pleasure to learn that your first impact with Italy went well, also thanks to our hotel, and that you were very pleased with your stay.

Looking forward to your next visit,

Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2019

The hotel is gorgeous, The view is exceptional and the pool area fantastic! Loved that we could walk into town or a small beach nearby. We parked the car and never got in it again, we only had two nights. The food was the only disappointment, we only had breakfast and lunch. Not bad just not what I would expect for a hotel of this caliber. The staff in the restaurant not terribly friendly. For a cocktail and before going out it was wonderful! They had a little musical duo playing and they were lovely! The view is forever in my memory.

Date of stay: August 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank CynthiaM1532
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Giuseppe M, Direttore generale at Grand Hotel Capodimonte, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Dear Ms. Cynthia,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write this review following your stay at the Grand Hotel Capodimonte.

We are glad you appreciated the view and that it will stay forever in your memory.

We hope to welcome you again in the future.


Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2019 via mobile

Let's start on a positive note, the location of the hotel is stunning,my wife and I never grew tired of the view over the bay of Sorrento whilst either having breakfast, afternoon swim or evening meal .Generally the food was good ( we ate twice here in the evening ) and as a whole the service was good. The problem we had with our 4 night stay were a few members of staff ( main reception, and customer relations) emails were not replied to prior to our arrival and two staff on reception were completely unhelpful and unprofessional. We chose to dine in the a la carte restaurant on the night of her birthday, but no effort was made at all by the hotel to make it a little bit more special. Would definitely go back to the Amalfi coast but would look to stay elsewhere

Date of stay: August 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
2  Thank D1693DCmichaelb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Giuseppe M, Direttore generale at Grand Hotel Capodimonte, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Mr. Br0okfield,

Thank you for visiting the Grand Hotel Capodimonte and for sharing your feedback following your stay.

We are glad you appreciated the convenient location of the hotel, the views from all the public areas and the quality of the meals.

We always appreciate criticism, as a good way to improve the quality of our service, as long as it is true and not biased.

You sent us an email asking for a room and a free upgrade for the birthday of your wife, which was replied from our staff, as they have shown you during your stay. In this email we suggested to book directly with us, offering a discounted rate, a welcome drink and a discount on food in our restaurants for dinner.

Immediately after, you booked a classic room (internal view) on expedia and we had the pleasure to offer you a complimentary bottle of prosecco for your wife’s birthday. Apparently, you wanted a free upgrade to a sea view room, which we could not offer in a very busy period for us.

We would also clarify that in no instance our staff was rude and unprofessional to you, and we are glad we were able to track down the company who missed your pickup for an excursion you booked directly on expedia, to arrange for another pick up.

We are sorry you felt we were responsible and got very angry, even though you booked directly by yourself and you met the driver outside the hotel, where he did not pick you up, probably because of a misunderstanding in the name.

We are always very respectful and professional with all our beloved guest and we believe we did all we could to assist you.

Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2019 via mobile

Fantastic hotel. Food, rooms and service could not be faulted. Loved it.

2 minor niggles. Firstly, would like kettles to be provided in the room (I went out and bought one). Secondly, some people were drinking in the pool, which I didn't think was a good idea with glass.

Date of stay: August 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank colint72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Giuseppe M, Direttore generale at Grand Hotel Capodimonte, responded to this reviewResponded August 17, 2019

Dear Mr. Colin,

Thank you very much for your fantastic review and your feedback.

Regarding the possibility of adding the kettles in the rooms, this is something we have already discussed with the management and surely we will add them in the future.

As per the people drinking in the pool, this is something we do not allow and our lifeguard is always very keen in informing people of the pool rules, for everybody’s safety. Also, according to the law, we use plastic glasses by our snack bar.

We are sorry if these guests did not follow the rules, but we are also sure this is a very rare occurrence for which we apologize.

We hope to be able to welcome you again in the future,

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2019

We loved this hotel.
The location is about 10mins from Sorrento centre. It sits higher up which gives amazing views of the marina and Mount Vesuvius.
The hotel is well decorated and clean. The room was maybe a bit smaller than we had imagined but was still a good size with lots of storage- hanging and drawers (hangars are provided). there was a safe (free to use) which was very spacious and could hold a laptop.
bathroom has a shower over a bathtub with shower curtain. good water pressure. lots of towels. a retractable washing line over the bath. There is hairdryer.
hotel provided toiletries - shampoo, conditioner, bath foam, shower gel, soap, shower cap, mini sewing kit, cotton buds, mini nail file.
There is a note asking to help save the environment to not change towels everyday but if you want to you can.
the room had an automatic shutter which you can close to different levels of letting light in all the way to black out.
TV had a few English channels, mostly news.
Our minibar was locked on arrival, but we weren't interested so didn't follow up.
No iron in the room, no tea making facilities, no fridge for personal use (there is a note saying not to use the minibar for external items.
Plugs- there was one usb plug, and one UK plug in the room. The others are all 2 holes (not the round plug with 2 pins) so our adapters didn't fit. There is also a socket in the safe which does have the round shape so we were able to charge things in there.
Air con was available in the room, with individual controls to adjust as needed.
The walls are a little thin. We could hear next door if they spoke a little louder.
Bed really comfy. Extra pillows/covers provided.
The Pool is great! 5 cascading pools. Individually they aren't all that big, but enough to swim back and forth. the best thing is the view!
Sun loungers are a bit tricky to get, and a lot of them hit shade quite early in the day.
Towels are provided by the pool, these cannot be taken offsite.
We tried the pool bar service once, but it was so slow we didn't bother again. it took about 30mins to get a menu, after about another 30mins we gave up waiting for the waitress to come back for our order, but other people seemed to be being served so maybe this was a one off. There only seemed to be 2 people looking after the pool service and the pool restaurant, so they are a bit stretched.
we were half board. breakfast was the same options everyday, but there are alot of options to choose from- fruits, cereals, pastries, eggs, omelettes, bacon, sausages, fruit juices, coffee/tea.
Dinner was a different menu every evening. Some dishes were repeated twice maybe but there was always something new to choose for us. they serve 3 courses of good sizes. Dessert is always the same menu unless they are doing a chefs suggestion day.
Service is quick and most of the staff are really nice and welcoming. a couple of the waiters did make some unpleasant comments in Italian whilst taking our order (thinking I didn't understand) which spoiled the overall restaurant experience for me.
Drinks are quite expensive, 6Euro for a can of drink, 8Euro for a mini wine bottle, 5Euro for a bottle of water etc.
Entertainment is 3 nights per week, 1 night is a lovely couple playing guitar and singing at the tables, they other nights are piano players, playing whilst you eat and then moving to the bar area for a couple of hours. otherwise there is nothing to do in the evenings at this hotel. you are close enough to be able to go into Sorrento but its really just restaurant and bars to choose from.
If you can go out of peak season i would definitely suggest doing that. Sorrento was really busy and very touristy!

Room tip: Get a sea view room if you with a balcony. balcony isn't the largest but the view is so lovely
Date of stay: July 2019
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Son_No19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Giuseppe M, Direttore generale at Grand Hotel Capodimonte, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2019

Dear Valued Guest,

thank you for visiting the Grand Hotel Capodimonte and for your detailed feedback, surely all our readers will appreciate the detailed description of the rooms, the facilities and of your experience.

We hope that you will visit us again, should you come back to Sorrento.

Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews