We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
$258
$220
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 24% below average rates

The price you found is 24% lower than this hotel's average rate of $288/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$380
$332
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 25% below average rates

The price you found is 25% lower than this hotel's average rate of $442/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$365
$328
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 18% below average rates

The price you found is 18% lower than this hotel's average rate of $402/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

La Tonnarella(Sorrento)
$251
$241
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$471
$432
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel del Mare(Sorrento)(Great Value!)
$141
$107
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Belair(Sorrento)
$414
$321
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$338
$279
Cancelon
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
$747
$703
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (2,734)
Filter reviews
2,734 results
Traveler rating
1,789
648
181
68
48
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,789
648
181
68
48
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscascading poolshalf boardsea viewbay of naplespool arealovely hotelour honeymoonpoolside restaurantevening mealthe cliffamazing viewsplenty of sunbedspool attendantpublic areasmount vesuviusfour star hoteltown centre
Filter
Updating list...
631 - 636 of 2,734 reviews
Reviewed August 11, 2016

Etched into the clifftops the Grand Hotel Capodimonte is certainly grand; a vast and luxury property with stunning views of the sea and surrounding area. If you're staying here it would be a disaster not to book a sea view room; most of our evenings were spent sitting on the terrace watching the sunset over the sea and that alonemade the trip worthwhile. We couldn't make use of the cascading pool as the weather in Spring wasn't the best but the pool isn't as big as it looks in the pictures. The advantage of travelling in Spring however is the enchanting Easter processions that take place in the town centre which is a 5-10 minute walk from the hotel.

Food at the Grand Hotel Capodimonte is satisfactory and takes forever to serve but the dining area is lovely with large panoramic windows overlooking the sea and surroundings. Staff at the bar and dining area were extremely pleasant and down to earth.

The places you should certainly visit are the ancient ruins of Pompeii, Vesuvius and Capri where we recommend taking a cable car journey to the summit; here you'll find the most breathtaking views of the sea and city.

Grand Hotel Capodimonte will not disappoint; it's an excellent choice of hotel which is enhanced by its beautiful location.

  • Stayed: March 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Humbil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Giuseppe M, Manager at Grand Hotel Capodimonte, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2016

Dear Guest,

What can we say more than thank you for your wonderful review of our hotel on Trip Advisor.

Knowing that you’ll remember your Spring holiday at the Grand Hotel Capodimonte with so much pleasure make us very proud, because it means we are doing our job in the correct way.

Thanks for highlighting our best features, the central and quite location with a short walk from the city center, our staff friendly and helpful, our extensive hot and cold buffet breakfast and our beautiful restaurant, that in addition to refined and tasty Italian dishes offers also a magnificent view over the Napoli bay.

We’re looking forward to your next visit

Best Regards

Customer relation care

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2016

Stayed at the hotel for 5 nights whilst attending a wedding in Sorrento.
Good location, about 15-20 minute walk into the town at an easy pace. Lovely views from the pools which tumbled down, waterfall style. Great. Jews too from the breakfast Room. Breakfast was pretty average with most things you'd expect from a hotel of this calibre. We stayed in a standard room which was just ok. Very clean with towels changed every day but the terrace looked out onto a wall which made it feel a bit like a dungeon. Considering the price of the room I would have expected something a little more special but hey, this is Sorrento and accommodation is not cheap here!
What really let the hotel down for me personally was the grumpy man on reception. Most of the staff were polite and courteous but one in particular was patronising and borderline rude which was a shame.
Would I stay here again? Probably not. I personally prefer the smaller 'boutique ' hotels which have a more personal touch. However, if you like large, grand, imposing, traditional style hotels then this might just be the ticket.

Room Tip: Hose atom with a view, not looking at a wall.
  • Stayed: July 2016, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kyle9205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Giuseppe M, Direttore generale at Grand Hotel Capodimonte, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2016

Dear Kyle,

Thank you for spending your time to share your opinions on Trip Advisor regarding your holiday at the Grand Hotel Capodimonte and for your precious feedback.

It is a pleasure to learn that you appreciated most aspects of our hotel, especially our convenient location.

Although you have a preference for smaller boutique hotels, we always try our best to walk to extra mile in order to deliver a high level standard of service, but with a friendly touch.

We hope to welcome you again as soon as possible,

Best regards

Customer relation care

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2016

This hotel is located just outside of the center of town (5 minutes walking distance). The property is beautiful with cascading pools and excellent views. The breakfast in the morning is outstanding. Rooms are clean and very tastefully decorated. Staff is very friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Splurge and stay on the top floor. The view is awesome.
  • Stayed: August 2016, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Jack W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Giuseppe M, Manager at Grand Hotel Capodimonte, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2016

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write this kind review of your stay at the Grand Hotel Capodimonte.

We are glad you have chosen our hotel and that you enjoyed your stay.

We really hope to welcome you again at the Grand Hotel Capodimonte,

Kind Regards

Customer relation care

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2016

Great location and fabulous views. The cascading pools are impressive yet smaller than we expected. Rooms were clean and the hotel had interesting features due to its location.
The hotel was very quiet in the evenings and we opted to eat out almost every night. The restaurant felt very 'all inclusive' which isn't really to our taste however we ate lunch in the restaurant by the pool most days which was good.

Stayed: September 2015, traveled with family
2  Thank SPLondon58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Giuseppe M, Manager at Grand Hotel Capodimonte, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2016

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for you kind review and for your kind words about our hotel.

We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay here at The Grand Hotel Capodimonte .

Your kind words about our hotel location, the views, the room and the staff have made us very happy and we realize that our work is appreciated by our customers.

Please come back soon, to spend another unforgettable holiday with us at the Grand Hotel Capodimonte.

Best regards

Customer relation care

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2016

We can recommend this Hotel enough - great location and only a short walk from the centre of Sorrento.

Stunning views from our rooms, restaurants and pools over the Bay of Naples and Mount Vesuvius. All the staff were very friendly and helpful, particularly the bar staff who went out of their way to help with a big smile. Food at breakfast and dinner was excellent, we were on half board and the option to switch dinner for lunch meant we could explore the many exceptional restaurants in Sorrento.

Sorrento is very busy and bustling but once we got back to the hotel, it was lovely to return to this peaceful and relaxing haven. Although the hotel was full there was always a lovely table available in the restaurant and happily no need to bags a sunlounger by one of the pools.

We will definitely be returning here.

Room Tip: We had partial sea view room but still had amazing view over Bay of Naples
  • Stayed: July 2016, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank debgeorge1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Giuseppe M, Manager at Grand Hotel Capodimonte, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2016

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your kind review and for recommend our hotel to the web community.

With few and simple words you described our hotel in the best way. Our qualified staff, friendly, multilingual and always ready to help with a smile and to make your stay a memorable one.

You have highlighted our amazing view over the Napoli bay and our proximity to the center, a few steps from nightlife, nice restaurants and a lot of places where you can spend a pleasant evening in Sorrento.

We are waiting to give you again a warm welcome at the Grand Hotel Capodimonte.

Kindest Regards,

Customer relation care

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews