We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel in stunning and convenient location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
Ranked #28 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Devon
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful hotel in stunning and convenient location”
Reviewed August 25, 2009

We chose this hotel because it would be easy to walk into Sorrento whenever we wished and it offered lovely spacious rooms with sea views and a swimming pool.
Although we did not request it, our two rooms were next to each other and had been prepared immaculately with sparkling wine chilling. We had booked Premier rooms with panoramic views and we were not disappointed.......being able to enjoy them from the balcony was a highlight of our stay.

We found the breakfast buffet was excellent and had everything from sliced fresh fruit to cold meats, cheeses, cooked eggs and bacon, yoghourts and sweet pastries. Served from 7-10am though made it a little early for some of us to make the most of it!
The only other meals we had at the hotel were lunch on two occasions on the pool terrace, the price being much the same as in Sorrento itself. I did not think that Sorrento food was that expensive but the drinks are disproportionately so. Our evening meal for 4 adults was around 50-60 euros each time including the drinks, however we only ate a main course each as serving size is on the whole generous and the heat did reduce our appetites.

We had some ants invade us too and the chambermaid gave us a spray to use which seemed to do the trick. I will be adding antkiller to my travel supplies next time I go somewhere hot!

Tiled floors are lovely and cool but demand some consideration from guests.....the people above us were very quiet but were followed by guests who thought it okay to stomp about at 2am in heels and scrape chairs....even so it was not too bad.
We stayed on the side of the hotel that has a little cut through much used by scooters and being Italian they do use their horns! We didn't hear them in the night with the blind down though.

All the hotel staff we encountered were smart, friendly and charming...... however, we did not have dinner.

Thankfully our idea of a prime spot on the pool terraces (a little shade and able to see the view) did not match that of the sun worshippers who preferred to face the pool and get their places reserved early. Plenty of sunbeds and no charge for them, towels available free. Using the safe was also free.

The location is not quiet being close to the town and the hotel is busy with many visitors and a pool which can get noisy depending on which children are about. There is also often live music in the evenings so it is best to think of this as being a lively and social hotel rather than secluded and peaceful. This was a change for us as we live rurally but could be a disappointment for some.

Two tips: buy water in large bottles from the supermarket......believe me you won't mind that it isn't chilled! Buy huge rolls freshly filled at the Salumeria for only 4-5 euros....enough for two people and great for picnic lunches.
Sorrento is a lovely happy town with many places to visit, easily accessed by public transport.....we had a great time!
Overall I rated this as very good rather than excellent as I am unable to judge the service at dinner.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DevonSeamist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,184 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,392
    532
    151
    66
    43
See reviews for
434
1,345
14
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (758)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Suffolk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2009

Well - we went here for our honeymoon & i have to say we were extremely dissapointed.
The hotel has a fantastic view, the pools are lovely and its close to the centre of sorrento.
Apart from that its not all that - the waiters have an attitude, probably due to the fact that they are in full suits for 15hours a day - which also meant that they stink!! The food is very average. Everything in the hotel is well overpriced - a lager & lime by the pool cost me 10euros & a portion of fries is 8euros! The air-con is terrible & there were ants in our room with us!!
GIVE IT A MISS!!!!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KJA33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
113 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2009

It's five weeks since my wife, daughter and I stayed at this hotel. The reason for the late review is that we have been awaiting a reply to our complaint letter. We had booked two identical rooms and requested that these should be adjoining if possible. When we arrived we found that our daughter's room was half the size of ours, in a completely different part of the hotel and infested with ants. We pointed this out to the receptionist who said that the hotel was full and that it may be possible to change the following day (it wasn't). My daughter hardly slept that night as the ants were in the bed. We complained about this and were told that this was to be expected at this time of year. The receptionist cheerfully told us that he had the same problem at home (we used to have an incontinent cat but I wouldn't expect to find one in a hotel room) but said he would pass on the complaint. Once again, he didn't. When my daughter returned to her room the ant problem was still there. My wife went to the reception and asked to speak to the manager. It turned out that the receptionist had not bothered to mention the complaint to anyone. The manger was unavailable ("by the pool"). Eventually another receptionist took the matter seriously and said she would have the room sprayed. No alternative room was offered and my daughter had to spend a night in room recently sprayed wth chemicals. The ant problem was reduced slightly but was still there. We even went out and bought our own spray. We later found a cheap bottle of sparkling wine in each room. We drank part of a bottle between us but the quality was such that we weren't tempted to drink the rest. On returning we wrote a letter explaining our dissatisfaction and the replying letter was dismissive to say the least.
It's a shame to sound so negative because this hotel has many good aspects - great location, lovely views, nice pools with shaded areas and very attentive restaurant and bar staff - but the holiday was spoiled for us by the problems we encountered and the inadecuate way they were handled.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hispanist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 20, 2009

Myself and my wife thought this hotel was excellent and generaly, the service was very good. You do need to pay extra for a room with a view as the front of the hotel has lovely views, but the back looks into a cliff face. The breakfast is great with lots of fresh fruit, cereals, and a chef cooking omelettes to order. The facilities are excellent and the hotel is worth the 4 stars. It is not far from the centre (10 minutes) and is the first hotel on the way up a hill. Very enjoyable

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DavidDublin_Ireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, D.C.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2009

This hotel is great! Splurge and get a higher-end room with a balcony and a view of the Bay of Naples and the town of Sorrento. Well worth the money to wake up each morning to this view! The hotel is in a cliff and offers great views as well as wonderful terraced pools. It's a 5 minute walk to town and we enjoyed walking off dinner in Sorrento, back to the hotel each night. The floors are all tiled and beautiful but the only drawback is because there is no carpeting; only tiled floors, it can be a bit noisy. We were on the 10th floor with one floor above us and we could hear chairs being dragged above us in the mornings. Not a big deal but something that should be noted. If you're a light sleeper or want to sleep in a lot, this may bother you. It didn't bother us as we were up early every day to explore the coast. If I were to go back to Sorrento, I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LoneStarLane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
essex uk
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2009

Just returned on Friday 14th August from a two week stay,the hotel is in a great position with great views,if you happen to have a room looking over the bay.We stayed in room 702 the room was ok,have stayed in better,the good thing about the room was it was nice and quiet and when you closed the electronic shutters of a night it was pitch black, great for sleaping.Balcony overlooked the bay the only problem was that the balcony wall was made of concrete and was very high so as you sat at the table you could not see the view,the pool area is great the five cascading pools,and terrace area are great for relaxing.Pity you still get the usual people who soon as the pool opens at 9am put thier towels out then go to breakfast,they think this is where i sit and no one else can have this spot.Breakfast was realy nice plenty of choice hot and cold.Dinner you had a choice of about 6 starters, mains,and desserts,food was ok,service varied, one night waited 35mins for starters.you have to ask for pepper or parmezan cheese as it is never offered.Sorrento is very expensive so take plenty of cash,we used to sit outside the wine bar in the mane street and watch the locals walk up and down in thier best gear.We did a few of the trips with Thomas Cook a half day trip to the volcano,and a half day trip to pompei,the coach takes you to vezuvious and drops you about thirty minutes from the summit make sure you have sturdy shoes.trip to pompei does not include admission price that is another 11 euros.We also did the trip to Capri 64 euros each, chair lift to the summit is another 8 euros each but great fun,the boat trip around Capri is another 13 euros.On One of the days we thought we would spend the day on one of the lidos on Sorrentos front, 26 euros for two sun beds and umbrella.Dont let the cost put you off it is a nice hotel in a great location you could easily spend the holiday around the pool relaxing.One other point our bathroom supplies would very rarely be renewed i dont know if the maid was taking them home,and to use the safe in the room is another 3.5 euros a day.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank corstan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall UK
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2009

We stayed for two weeks and had a truly marvelous holiday. The hotel is in a wonderful location which is very hard to beat. Quiet and set back from the road, but within easy walking distance to the historic district of the town.
The pool is fantastic with plenty of sunbeds and plenty of shady spots too.
The staff in the hotel were all polite and friendly, the food excellent and although the drinks are expensive, they are expensive wherever you buy them in Italy!
Would go again in a flash!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CornwallUKJulie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.9 mi away
Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento
1.0 mi away
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
#12 of 100 in Sorrento
1,430 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hilton Sorrento Palace
Hilton Sorrento Palace
#34 of 100 in Sorrento
2,995 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#25 of 100 in Sorrento
2,842 reviews
0.6 mi away
Antiche Mura Hotel
Antiche Mura Hotel
#8 of 100 in Sorrento
2,225 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Belair
Hotel Belair
#21 of 100 in Sorrento
1,256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Capodimonte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Capodimonte

Property: Grand Hotel Capodimonte
Address: Via Capo 15, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#22 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
#24 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
#25 Family Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Capodimonte 4*
Number of rooms: 189
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A prestigious 4 Star Superior Rating Hotel built on the lines of the typical Mediterranean architecture, positioned on the rocky mountain dominating the town of Sorrento and the enchanting Gulf of Naples. A striking and imposing hall, wonderfully designed into the rock cavern ambience, is connected with the fifth floor of the Hotel, thanks to two fast elevators. Guests will be welcomed by a selected and highly professional staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, ACCOR, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Grand Hotel Capodimonte reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Sorrento
Sorrento Capodimonte
Hotel Capodimonte Sorrento
Capodimonte Hotel Sorrento
Grand Hotel Capodimonte Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing