We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply Stunning”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
Ranked #27 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Holmfirth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Simply Stunning”
Reviewed August 20, 2014

I had waited 18 years to stay at this hotel, having seen it on a previous trip to the beautiful place, that is Sorrento. It was worth every bit of waiting time, and entering the lift up to reception, when the doors opened, it certainly had the WOW factor.We payed a crazy amount of money for a sea-view room, with a very small balcony, but sitting up there on an evening looking at the view across the Bay of Naples to Vesuvius, I wouldn't have swapped it for anything.
The hotel is in a prime position, built into the corner of some cliffs, about a 15 minute stroll n an evening to Piazza Tasso - the main square in Sorrento. The decor is very Italian, and beautiful, and the service and the food is second to none. I have recommended this hotel to many people, and everyone has loved it. Well done Cappodimonte.

Room Tip: You must have a seaview.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tabbycat3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Giuseppe M, Proprietario at Grand Hotel Capodimonte, responded to this review, August 21, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your excellent review and for recommend our hotel to your family and friends.

We are very glad to hear that you had a fantastic holiday here with us and that you loved your terrace overlooking the sea, the Napoli bay and the Sorrento city.

Reviews like yours encourage us to continue to keep high our standard of hospitality and service, we sincerely hope to welcome you back soon at the Grand Hotel Capodimonte, in order to have the opportunity to give you other good memories of us.

Kind regards

Customer relation care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,292 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,464
    564
    155
    66
    43
See reviews for
449
1,410
15
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (792)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
157 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2014 via mobile

The hotel is in a beautiful location with fantastic views over Naples Bay towards Vesuvius - a great starting point!
The staff are friendly and efficient too - particularly the ladies at the reception desk, always helpful, always smiling. Small things like the availability of a spare room to get changed after we had checked out was particularly appreciated.
We booked a room with a view over the Bay. The room was alright - clean, comfortable bed, but the bathroom was a bit tired. Whilst many people have recommended the additional cost for a room with a view, I'm not so sure - the surcharge was significant and whilst the view was nice, it was equally great from the pool area and from the terrace restaurant - how much Bay-gazing can you do?!!
The food at the poolside restaurant was freshly made and good and it was well worth swapping our half board evening meal with lunch at the poolside.
Sadly the evening meals on the Terrace (nice view) were uninspiring and rushed, more akin to a canteen than a restaurant - pretty awful really.
Breakfast was OK - the freshly cooked omelettes were particularly good - although here too the volume of people made it rather a rushed experience.
The pools were lovely and there was plenty of space for lazing about in the sun, or shade.
All in all a nice hotel with enormous potential, but it just felt as if it had the balance between 'style' and 'mass appeal' wrong as demonstrated by the evening dining experience. The incessant music covers from 'lovely radio sun' were a tad irritating too.

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Jon F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Giuseppe M, Proprietario at Grand Hotel Capodimonte, responded to this review, August 21, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your review on Trip Advisor, we always give great consideration to the feedback of our customers, because they help us to improve our service.

From your review it is clear that you loved your stay with us, for the breathtaking views you have from the rooms, restaurants and swimming pools, for the staff friendly and courteous and for the food at lunch and breakfast. (We are one of the few hotels in the Sorrento peninsula that give the opportunity to our guests to swap the dinner with lunch, without charges, for customers in Half board).

We are very surprised by the score you have assigned us, because you use words like beautiful location, great starting point, friendly staff, lovely pools etc…

We are sorry to hear that you didn’t like the dinner, we try to satisfy every palate, even the most demanding, offering only fresh, healthy and local food, our chef cooks only traditional Italian dishes and our guest can choose between a wide selection of dishes, all absolutely freshly cooked. The many reviews we receive give us credit for this.

We would like to thank you for your valuable comment and we sincerely hope to welcome you back soon at the Grand Hotel Capodimonte, in order to have the opportunity to give you other good memories of us

Kind regards

Customer relation care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2014

I would say this place was good- not great. The rooms were small but clean. We stayed 4 nights. The pool was very nice. There is a big breakfast buffet that is included in the room rate. You can easily walk down the hill to city center.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank kwmsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Giuseppe M, Direttore generale at Grand Hotel Capodimonte, responded to this review, August 22, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to evaluate your stay at the Grand Hotel Capodimonte.

We always read trip advisor reviews with great interest, since they represent the point of view of our guests and are a great source of feedback; definitely something which can help us to improve our service.

Honestly we do not quite understand the reason why you marked us down, the only explanation you give is that “the place is good, not great”, maybe because you found the rooms to be small, while all the other remarks are positive and we wholeheartedly thank you for those.

Anyway we hope to welcome you again as soon as possible in order to show you how much we have improved our service.

Until then, please accept our

Kindest Regards

Customer relation care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 19, 2014 via mobile

Me and my partner stayed here for ten days and thoroughly enjoyed it. You are a stones throw from the Main Street. We had a prestige room which had amazing views especially for the large firework displays. The rooms are lovely, but not massive, I'm sick and tired of people complaining about small hotel rooms, in Italy they are all SMALL! If you want a big room book a suite, rant over. Only things I could mention to watch out for are,the free meal voucher. You may as well throw it in the bin, small menu and awful. And they tried to charge 10 euro a day for my moped? You can park around the back for free, and use side entrance to gain access to hotel. Other than that a really nice and clean hotel :)

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Giuseppe M, Proprietario at Grand Hotel Capodimonte, responded to this review, August 23, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your enthusiastic review on trip Advisor and for having shared it with the web community.

We are very glad to hear that you enjoy your stay with us, actually our hotel is in a great location, in a quiet and peaceful area, nestled on a mountain side. From our terraces, swimming pools and our room’s balcony you have a breathtaking view of the Naples Bay, Mount Vesuvio and the Sorrento city. Just our proximity to the center makes our hotel an ideal starting point to discover the wonders that our beautiful region offers us, as Capri, Positano and Pompeii.

We are very happy to know that you loved everything about our hotel, our staff, multilingual, polite and professional, our typical Italian cuisine, our rooms with terrace, spacious and always spotless.

Thanks again for your words and please come back soon, to spend another unforgettable holiday with us at the Grand Hotel Capodimonte.

Best regards

Customer relation care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyne & Wear UK
Level Contributor
56 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2014

Stayed here for 10 days. Our room was spacious and large, bed really comfortable with bedding changed every day. Requested a sea view and got one didn't pay any extra for this. The hotel is in a good location a few minutes walk into the centre of everything and the views are totally fabulous. Only booked for bed and breakfast but did eat here a couple of nights and food was really lovely. The pool/sunbathing area is not overly large and is tiered with small pools on 5 different levels although pleasant and again with fabulous views the pools could with a bit of an overhaul ie a refreshing coat of paint! The pool restaurant is very nice and food is good. There wasn't a great choice for breakfast and it was a bit chaotic with tables far too close to the food therefore if you were unfortunate enough to be allocated one of these then you are totally in the path of everyone. By the 7th day although we had clean towels & bedding every day I felt that our room did not have a good clean and the floors were starting to become grubby. Big downside is that there are no tea making facilities in the rooms I disliked this immensely as like to have tea in mornings and on returning to room at end of the afternoon. This is a nice hotel with very pleasant staff couldn't fault them and it looks to be one of the nicer ones in Sorrento but it's by no means luxurious and there is room for improvement in some areas in saying that overall I did enjoy my stay

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Giuseppe M, Proprietario at Grand Hotel Capodimonte, responded to this review, August 20, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for the taking the time to review your stay at Grand Hotel Capodimonte.
We are glad that you enjoyed your stay overall, quite frankly we are a bit surprised by the mark you assigned us, since you seemed impressed with everything and pleased by the free upgrade.

Your comment regarding the cleanliness of the room honestly was unexpected since, as stated by hundreds of other reviewers, we are often complimented for the high standards of cleanliness around every corner of our establishment.

We thank you for the suggestion regarding the tea and coffee making facilities into the rooms and we will discuss it within the next meeting. We would only clarify that we have a bar service available every day from 07:00 a.m. to late night (01:00) a.m, so anyone can order something almost anytime during the day.

Anyway, thank you again for your remarks, we will take them into high consideration in order to improve the standard of our service.

We hope to welcome you again as soon as possible,

Best Regards
Customer relation care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2014 via mobile

Stayed at this hotel during my honeymoon for a couple nights and it was the highlight of our holiday! Absolutely stunning views of the sea and coast from the restaurant and pools. We paid to have breakfast and dinner included and that was also well worth it. The breakfast buffet was huge and had great stuff. Dinner was just as good. I wish we could have stayed longer.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank brybluts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Giuseppe M, Direttore generale at Grand Hotel Capodimonte, responded to this review, August 19, 2014
Dear Madam,

Thank you so much for your great review on Trip Advisor.

First of all we want to give you our best wishes for your wedding and we are very happy that you chose the Grand Hotel Capodimonte for your honeymoon. We are always very glad to be part of such important moments of our guests.

We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay here at The Grand Hotel Capodimonte and we are really happy that you appreciated our effort to give to our guests an enchanting stay.

You highlighter our best quality in your review. Our amazing view. The Hotel Capodimonte is located on a small hills closer to the Sorrento centre (10 minutes’ walk) and due to its position our hotel can offers many advantages, first of all the breathtaking view in fact from rooms, restaurants, terraces and swimming pool you can enjoy a suggestive view over the Gulf of Naples, the islands and the old fishermen port of Sorrento.

Also our extensive hot and cold breakfast and dinner are very popular with our guests because we offer a wide choice of healthy, tasty and local food.

Thanks again for your words and please come back soon, to spend another unforgettable holiday with us at the Grand Hotel Capodimonte.

Best regards

Customer relation care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2014

Couldn't recommend this hotel enough! Beautiful views from the pool and bedroom balcony, friendly staff and tasty food!

Breakfast is a buffet with so much to choose from, really is something for everyone and no matter what time you visit there is always plenty of everything! The evening food is also very tasty and well presented.

The rooms are well furnished and very peaceful due to being well soundproofed and the blackout blinds mean you can sleep in pitch darkness even when the sun us up! When we arrived we had a faulty shower but within half an hour of mentioning this to reception it was being fixed and worked perfectly after that!

My only fault would be the sun loungers by the pool. As a family if four we would often struggle to find seats together no matter how early we went down, this was because guests would reserve them very early (before 8.30am) with a towel. The annoying thing about this would be nobody would often use said seats until midday!!

However, the pool area is beautiful and feels like a tranquil paradise with amazing views of Sorrento, he coast line and Vesuvius. Highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Go for a sea view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lornsmills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Giuseppe M, Direttore generale at Grand Hotel Capodimonte, responded to this review, August 19, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your kind review on Trip Advisor, reviews like yours encourage us to continue to keep high our standard of hospitality and service.

Thank you for taking time to praise our hotel and to have highlighted our strong points, breathtaking views, bright, elegant and spotless rooms and the love and care that we have in the preparation of our healthy breakfast made with local products, genuine and always very fresh.

Thanks again for your words and please come back soon, to spend another unforgettable holiday with us at the Grand Hotel Capodimonte.

Best regards
Customer relation care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.5 mi away
Hilton Sorrento Palace
Hilton Sorrento Palace
#32 of 100 in Sorrento
3,166 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#25 of 100 in Sorrento
2,997 reviews
1.0 mi away
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
#11 of 100 in Sorrento
1,480 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento
0.8 mi away
Grand Hotel Royal
Grand Hotel Royal
#21 of 100 in Sorrento
1,514 reviews
0.6 mi away
Antiche Mura Hotel
Antiche Mura Hotel
#10 of 100 in Sorrento
2,277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Capodimonte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Capodimonte

Property: Grand Hotel Capodimonte
Address: Via Capo 15, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#22 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
#23 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
#25 Family Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Capodimonte 4*
Number of rooms: 189
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A prestigious 4 Star Superior Rating Hotel built on the lines of the typical Mediterranean architecture, positioned on the rocky mountain dominating the town of Sorrento and the enchanting Gulf of Naples. A striking and imposing hall, wonderfully designed into the rock cavern ambience, is connected with the fifth floor of the Hotel, thanks to two fast elevators. Guests will be welcomed by a selected and highly professional staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, TravelUp, Cancelon, Agoda, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, Hotel.de and Evoline ltd so you can book your Grand Hotel Capodimonte reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Sorrento
Sorrento Capodimonte
Hotel Capodimonte Sorrento
Capodimonte Hotel Sorrento
Grand Hotel Capodimonte Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing