We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location- spectacular views”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
Ranked #29 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
62 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Great location- spectacular views”
Reviewed July 26, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here with two children in July. At first we felt our room was somewhat small for four people, but honestly it was a non issue as we were hardly in it anyway. The hotel itself, set on the side of a cliff is stunning. The hotel is clean, the gardens amazing and the five tiered pool spectacular. Our room was clean and quiet. It was cleaned daily. The view from breakfast, which had a large variety to choose from, was gorgeous and the best way to start each day. The staff were friendly and attentive and a special mention for Fabio and Francesco who made us feel so welcome. The hotel is ideally located only 5 min walk into Sorrento. If I visit Sorrento again I would stay here again

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Mytravel-7202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Giuseppe M, Proprietario at Grand Hotel Capodimonte, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Dear Kerry,

thank you very much for writing such a lovely review regarding your holiday at our hotel.

We are glad you appreciated your stay, especially the stunning setting of our pools and the huge selection offered at breakfast, served on a terrace with a wonderful view over Sorrento and the bay.

Greetings from the staff, they are already looking forward to your next visit

Best Wishes

Customer relation care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,233 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,423
    549
    152
    66
    43
See reviews for
441
1,371
15
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (772)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Armagh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2014

My wife and I stayed at the Capodimonte from 14th to 21st July this year. It was booked based on tripadvisor reviews and we were very happy with all aspects of the hotel. The hotel is more a couples hotel than a family hotel but we did see several families staying there. The views are worth paying that little bit extra for as it is set into the edge of a mountain and has many levels so providing some spectacular vistas over the bay of Naples , Sorrento and Vesuvius.

Rooms - we stayed in room 419 which has a sea view to the left and Sorrento to the right which to some people may not strictly be a sea view ( which is what i asked for) but I was very happy with it as we could see Sorrento lit up at night (and there were some firework displays in piazza tasso while we were there.) The only negative about the view from our room was a structure on the roof directly in front of our balcony which although did not block the view detracted slightly from it. Not a big deal but maybe some pots with plants or something could have taken the raw edge off it? Some rooms obviously have spectacular views and I would suggest asking for floor 5 or above for the best views though some rooms do face the cliff face at the back of the hotel so be sure what you are paying for. The room itself was excellent -decorated in classic Sorrento style,furniture in good condition and bed very comfortable. There was a pillow menu if you were not happy with your pillow but we thought they were very comfortable. There was an electric shutter on the outside of the window which was great for providing total blackout at night and keeping the room cool during the day if we were out.The aircon worked very well and was so silent you could not even tell if it was on. The bathroom was very good also with toiletries replenished daily, towels changed twice a day and bed linen changed daily. Bathrobe and slippers were also provided. My wife said the hairdryer worked very well which is not usually the case in hotels. The room was left spotlessly clean every day so the lady who was on duty that week you did an excellent job and I hope you got the tip we left! Also worth noting that the wifi worked very well - no problems at all. Tea and coffee making facilities would have been appreciated - maybe this is just a British thing but the majority of guests seemed to be British and American anyway.

Service - We never encountered anything other than 1st class service from any member of staff - from reception,cleaners,porters,waiters - all were friendly , polite , willing to help in any way without being over the top.

Food - we stayed on a bed and breakfast basis because there are so many places to eat in Sorrento we didn't want to be restricted to one place but it is worth noting that if you do go half board you can swap dinner for lunch any day. Breakfast was excellent - range of fruit,cheeses,cakes and pastries,cereals,juices and hot items. Particularly liked the egg chef who cooked your eggs to order just how you like them. Breakfast is in a room which is partially outside and overlooking the bay which is a really nice way to start the day! It can get a bit busy from 8.30 onwards so my tip is get out of bed and be down for around 8.00am - much more enjoyable then. Only criticism is it can get a bit hard to move about without so many people at busy times - Taking one row of tables out from the middle would make getting around much easier. We had lunch at the pool restaurant a few times and it was very good and reasonably priced - also overlooking the bay in a very picturesque setting. Drinks were priced in line with other places in Sorrento. Cannot comment on dinner as we did not have it while there.

Pool - the pool at this hotel is spectacular. It is on 5 levels cascading down with a whirlpool at the bottom also and all overlooking the bay of Naples. Add in lots of little levels and private shaded areas , free pool towels ( as many as you want) ,waiter service for drinks (if you choose one of the more secluded areas you might need to attract a waiters attention but once they know you are there they will remember) and you have pretty much the perfect pool area! The best I have ever seen.

Location - the hotel is perfectly located just a 5-10 minute walk from the shops and piazza tasso and all the restaurants but far enough out to be quiet at night for a good nights rest! Be careful crossing the road opposite the hotel - there is a crossing but do not assume that the drivers are going to stop!

Public Areas - the pool has been mentioned but the other public areas in the hotel are all very well appointed and spotlessly clean. Reception is very tastefully decorated in traditional italian style and likewise the bar and lounge areas. I do not think there is much in the way of entertainment (piano player some nights and I think maybe a jazz band) but that is not an issue as there are so many places to go in Sorrento close by.

Room Tip: Choose rooms on floor 5 or above for the best views - worth paying extra for the sea view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank trevorlinton3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Giuseppe M, Proprietario at Grand Hotel Capodimonte, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Dear Sir,

thank you very much for taking the time to write such a detailed review regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

We are glad that you were pleased with your choice and we've read your review carefully, since it provides us with lots of positive feedback.

Especially your comments regarding the room and the suggestion to add some flowers or pots before the roof structure proved to be really valuable; we will discuss it into our next meeting.

We would like to thank you again for all your lovely words regardig the location, the staff and especially the pools !

We hope to welcome you again as soon as possible, until then please accept our

Best Regards

Customer relation care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Witney
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 20, 2014

We recently stayed at the hotel for 10 nights and absolutely loved it. Our room on the 9th floor had a stunning view over the bay and was very spacious, nicely decorated and very clean. Linen and towels were changed daily and the room was always spotless. The staff were very friendly and helpful and nothing was too much trouble. The pool area was amazing, stunning views, plenty of sun beds and lots of space. It never felt cramped and was such a relaxing place to spend the day. On our last day we had to leave early and when we went to check out we were given a lovely packed breakfast to take with us. This was very welcome and totally unexpected. We will definitely be going back to the hotel and would highly recommend it to anyone thinking of going to Sorrento in the future.

Room Tip: Choose a higher floor for the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WitneyAngieC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Giuseppe M, Direttore generale at Grand Hotel Capodimonte, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your wonderful review on Trip Advisor.

It fills us with joy and pride to know that you loved your holiday with us.

Your kind words about our hotel, the rooms and the staff have made us very happy and we realize that our work is appreciated by customers.

Thanks again for your words and please come back soon, to spend another unforgettable holiday with us at the Grand Hotel Capodimonte.

Best regards

Customer relation care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2014

This review is a little hard to get across to you,firstly the hotel is lovely and views are fantastic nice and air conditioned,most of the staff are wonderful and make you feel welcome ,drinks are at hotel rates and service at the bars is good .when we booked through our local agent we asked for a full see view room together with another for our children side by side ,we arrived on Monday the 24th and were given the keys to our rooms ,when we walked in and opened the metal shutters we were greeted with two 5ft by5ft domes out side our room which raised of the floor by 2.5 ft and at night time they glow so bright as beneath us is a hallway so to stop the light as the curtains are display only we have to close the shutters and no views at all then.further more our room is facing the town and the sea view is from the left at 11 o'clock .my wife and I popped down to see the receptionist when we told him about the room and as we asked to be moved he became aggressive and wanted us to leave it to him saying they are sea view rooms .we gave him our numbers of the rooms and he said it will be delt with .we had not Heard from him,in the mean time my wife has returned two meals because of over cooking or just plain poor quality food ,the portions are small and of low end quality for a top hotel like this .we managed to see the manager yesterday told him of our experience ,and he replied if your not happy just send the food back.or as you are half board you can have lunch instead of dinner.(that's a good answer ) he said that he would deal with our circumstances and as yet again nothing pool area great I suggest you go bed and breakfast.

Room Tip: Ask and confirm the room directly and get a name
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 186338Duncan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Giuseppe M, Direttore generale at Grand Hotel Capodimonte, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

We are very glad to hear that you have enjoyed our hotel with his breathtaking view over the Napoli bay and the Sorrento city. Thank you for your nice word about our staff always professional and courteous.

Concerning your sea view room we are very sorry to hear that you didn’t enjoyed it. Our hotel is built into the side of a mountain a little more up than the Sorrento city and due to its structure and location, the sea is on the left side of the building, but all of our sea view rooms are spacious, bright and with all modern comforts and of course a lovely view over the town of Sorrento and the Bay of Naples with its islands. We are sorry to know that the light from the skylight have bothered you, but all the rooms are equipped with double glazing, double curtains and electric shutters.

We were very surprised from your comment about the food. Our menu offers a wide selection of dishes, all absolutely fresh, local and freshly cooked. The many reviews we receive give us credit for trying to satisfy every palate even the most demanding and we are always able to satisfy every request.

We would like to thank you for your valuable comment, we always give great consideration to the feedback of our customers, because they help us to improve our service and we sincerely hope to welcome you back soon at the Grand Hotel Capodimonte, in order to have the opportunity to give you good memories of us.

Kind regards

Customer relation care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cromer, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2014

We decided to return to the Grand Hotel Capodimonte in Sorrento to celebrate our 35th Wedding Anniversary, this was our 4th visit in 6 years and couldn't think of anywhere better we love it. The hotel was just a good, the staff, the food and accommodation was fantastic. It's just been a week but we are both already missing the views over Sorrento at lunch by the pool and by night having our evening meal watching the colours in the town change as the sun sets, it's so romantic and magical. I's my screen saver at home and always will be. We were even welcomed with a hug and a kiss (those Italians are so passionate I love them) by restaurant staff who remembered us from 2 years ago which was so lovely it really made our visit special.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the pool are slightly quieter and give better access to the pool but we have staye...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CrackingJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Giuseppe M, Proprietario at Grand Hotel Capodimonte, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Dear Sir,

thank you for taking the time to write such a wonderful review regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

Guests like you who return year after year really make us proud, since they are proof that we are heading into the right direction and that all the hard work and dedication really pays off.

Thank you wholeheartedly for all your lovely remarks, we hope to welcome you again as soon as possible

Best Wishes

Customer relation care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2014

Stayed 4 nights in July. Great location - just at the end of the main strip in Sorrento, so great walking access to everything and a bit more quiet.

Hotel common areas are very nice and well appointed. Pool areas are great with very nice sea views. Great if you plan to spend a lot of time relaxing in the hotel or by the pools. Multiple restaurants, good breakfast included in room rate.

Rooms are pretty average - average size, a bit musty smelling, slow responding air conditioning. Just average and more like typical 3 star rooms rather than 5 star. Most have balconies with view of city, partial sea, or full sea which is nice.

Service is good, but comes off feeling a bit stuffy. More like a formal resort style. It is very competent, just not relaxed.

If you are going to relax and spend a lot of time in the hotel and at pool, it is very nice. If you are using it as a base for Sorrento, Amalfi Coast, Pompeii, Capri, etc, it is a bit pricey and overrated for what you need.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SMac64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Giuseppe M, Proprietario at Grand Hotel Capodimonte, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Dear Sir,

thank you very much for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay at our hotel.
We are glad you enjoyed the location and the services offered, together with the wonderful layout of the pools and the breathtaking views.

We are sorry if you did not like the room you were given; we are sure though that if you reported your dissatisfaction to the reception staff, we would have surely been able to help you.

Thank you again for all your remarks, we hope that you will give us another chance soon in order to show you how much we’ve improved.

Until then, please accept our

Best Regards

Customer relation care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MK
Level Contributor
41 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2014

We stayed here last year, and came back with friends as we were so impressed. It was as good as we remembered. Amazing customer service from every member of staff, breathtaking views, lovely pool with little corners under olive trees where you can escape the crowds. Stunning food in the beautiful A la carte carte restaurant, although it is expensive, but you do get what you pay for. The only downside for us was the half board food this year. The candle light dinner was excellent, but the other nights were disappointing. We wondered if the chef was trying to please the English palate ( there where a lot of English people there) rather than cooking authentic Italian fare.

Room Tip: Choose an upper room with sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SheepsMK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Giuseppe M, Direttore generale at Grand Hotel Capodimonte, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Dear Sirs,



thank you very much for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay at our hotel.



We are happy that you returned this year and you were impressed once again, the staff is especially grateful for your kind remarks regarding the service provided.



The Candlelight dinner is a new introduction this year which has undergone many changes in order to further satisfy our guests; we’re pretty happy how it developed. About the other nights, to be honest we are a little surprised, since we generally receive positive feedback, but we understand that taste is a personal matter and we are always working in order to improve our standards.



We hope to welcome you again as soon as possible, until then please accept our



Best Regards



Customer relation care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.9 mi away
Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento
1.0 mi away
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
#12 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,459 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hilton Sorrento Palace
Hilton Sorrento Palace
#34 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,071 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#25 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,901 reviews
0.6 mi away
Antiche Mura Hotel
Antiche Mura Hotel
#10 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,253 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel La Favorita
Grand Hotel La Favorita
#6 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,598 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Capodimonte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Capodimonte

Property: Grand Hotel Capodimonte
Address: Via Capo 15, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#22 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
#25 Family Hotel in Sorrento
#25 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Capodimonte 4*
Number of rooms: 189
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A prestigious 4 Star Superior Rating Hotel built on the lines of the typical Mediterranean architecture, positioned on the rocky mountain dominating the town of Sorrento and the enchanting Gulf of Naples. A striking and imposing hall, wonderfully designed into the rock cavern ambience, is connected with the fifth floor of the Hotel, thanks to two fast elevators. Guests will be welcomed by a selected and highly professional staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, TravelUp, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Grand Hotel Capodimonte reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Sorrento
Sorrento Capodimonte
Hotel Capodimonte Sorrento
Capodimonte Hotel Sorrento
Grand Hotel Capodimonte Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing