We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
Nearby Hotels
$213
$207
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori(Sorrento)
$912
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$330
$311
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento(Sorrento)
$333
$239
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$830
$470
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Bellevue Syrene(Sorrento)
$589
$566
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Grand Hotel Royal(Sorrento)
$489
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Belair(Sorrento)
$459
$446
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$500
$467
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
$406
$343
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (2,600)
Filter reviews
2,600 results
Traveler rating
1,687
628
173
68
44
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,687
628
173
68
44
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscascading poolshalf boardsea viewbay of naplespool arealovely hotelour honeymoonpoolside restaurantevening mealthe cliffamazing viewsplenty of sunbedspublic areasmount vesuviusfour star hoteltown centrefew minutes walk
Filter
Updating list...
1,326 - 1,331 of 2,600 reviews
Reviewed May 24, 2014

Just got back from a short stay at the hotel. The location is good only 10 mins to walk to the town. When we arrived, the porter, who never attempted to help us with our luggages out the taxi, he was too busy chatting with another member of staff. When he finally approached us he asked our names then handled me 2 sheets paper with guest names on it, and ask us to point our name so he could ticked it off. He never offered to help with our luggage instead of just pointed the lift and said go up. The hotel and room were clean and well layout. The only one problem we found was that there was only one electricity socket in the bathroom and no tea and coffee facilities. The downside was the food if you choose half board. It taste like microwave food, its very dry and tasteless. I assumed the meat and fish have been frozen. Its far better stay there and eat out.

Room Tip: High floor
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank miscdazc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Giuseppe M, Direttore at Grand Hotel Capodimonte, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2014

Dear Sirs,

Thank you very much for taking the time to evaluate your experience at the Grand Hotel Capodimonte.

We are very sorry to learn that you were disappointed with your stay and honestly we are quite surprised by your comments regarding the porters since, as stated by hundreds of other reviewers, our staff is very professional and usually takes great care of our guests. Anyway, we apologize about the inconvenience and we will discuss it with them.

About the quality of the food, again we are very surprised since we offer a wide array of freshly – prepared meals to cater for all tastes, we can assure that literally everything is prepared on the spot, with great care.

Again, we apologize if you were disappointed, but we hope to see you as soon as possible in order to change your opinion on us.

Best Regards

Customer relation care

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2014

A beautiful part of Italy and a hotel that made our stay just perfect. Everyone was very friendly and helpful. The hotel and grounds were beautifully maintained. Our room was very good and all amenities of a high standard. The views of Sorrento, the Bay of Naples and Vesuvius from our room and balcony and from the restaurants and bar were breathtaking. The food was lovely with plenty of choice on the half board menu. Breakfast was very good and set you up for the rest of your day. We visited in the second week of May and although the weather was warming up nicely and warm enough for sun bathing, as the swimming pools were not heated, the water temperature was still a bit too chilly except for the very brave. This was a shame as the five cascading pools were a big feature of the facilities. However, this does not change my rating of the hotel over all but in an ideal world I would have loved to have been able to have made full use of the pools during our stay. I would happily recommend staying at the Grand Hotel Capodimonte and an ideal base for exploring Sorrento, which is just a couple of minutes walk away, and other places around the Bay of Naples and the Amalfi coast.

Room Tip: Worth paying extra for a room with a sea view. Our room was on the 9th floor which gave a fantastic view of Sorrento, the bay and the terraced hotel grounds and pools and was far enough above and back from the road below to ensure any noise was not intrusive.
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Nikki C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Giuseppe M, Proprietario at Grand Hotel Capodimonte, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2014

Dear Nikki,

Thank you very much for taking the time to evaluate your stay at the Grand Hotel Capodimonte.

Indeed this is a very beautiful part of Italy and we are glad that you were able to visit it.

We are speechless to comment, since you appreciated every detail of your stay; we are just extremely grateful and proud, since your praising is proof that we are heading into the right direction.

We will forward to the management your suggestion regarding the heating of the pools, our guests’ feedback is always welcome, since it allows us to constantly improve our standard of service.

Thank you again for recommending us to your friends, we are already looking forward to your next visit.

Until then, please accept our

Kindest Regards

Customer relation care

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2014

After travelling for the past 6 weeks and staying in bed and breakfasts and other hotels, this hotel is heaven. As soon as we arrived we were greeted with a lovely smiling car attendant to help with our car and bags. Check in was a breeze and our room is lovely. Breakfast is plentiful, coffee not great but I have been spoiled the rich expresso coffee of Italy. The poolside is so relaxing and the drinks by the pool are even better. A quick walk into sorrento has a wonderful choice of restaurants and shops.
The staff are always smiling and ready to help. Also we must give a special mention to the reservations manager for all of help he provided in a special situation we had. He was helpful and considerate of our situation and helped to solve the problem.

Room Tip: Ask for a water view.
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jenny115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Giuseppe M, Proprietario at Grand Hotel Capodimonte, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2014

Dear Jenny,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a lovely review regarding your stay at our hotel and for definining it “heavenly”.

We are glad to learn that you enjoyed you holiday and that our reservations manager was able to assist you with any inconvenience you had. In fact, just as you noticed, our staff is highly professional and trained with the main goal of customers’ satisfaction on their minds.

We hope to welcome you again as soon as possible,

Customer relation care

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2014

We stayed at the hotel last week as we were getting married in Sorrento. The hotel was very nice and clean, nicely decorated and good furnishings. The meals were excellent, the lay out of the grounds, swimming pools and restaurants were also very nice.

But what made this hotel very special in our experience was the people that worked there, they were courteous and helpful at all times, everyone from the restaurant staff to the cleaners had time to give you a smile and a greeting, and the restaurant staff especially had a good sense of humour and helped to make the evenings that much more enjoyable.

Room Tip: The rooms facing the bay looking towards Vesuvius offer great views
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank John F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Giuseppe M, Direttore at Grand Hotel Capodimonte, responded to this reviewResponded May 24, 2014

Dear John,

Thank you very much for your kind words and your lovely remarks regarding your recent stay with us.

We are grateful that you chose us for your special day and that everything went well and it was a nice memory for you to remember over the years.

We will convey your feelings to our staff, they will surely be overjoyed to hear that their efforts have been appreciated; they really do make the difference by going that extra mile to help our guests.

We hope to welcome you again soon for your first anniversary

Kind Regards
Customer relation care

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2014

We booked a package trip to Sorrento not knowing what hotel we were in, and it just happened to be the Capodimonte. What a wonderful surprise! Our room was on the 3rd floor, with the most breathtaking view of the bay. Breakfast and dinner were included in our package. The breakfast buffet was outside, again with a stunning view of the sea, and the choice was very good. Everything from continental style breakfast, to an egg station, and fried food. Dinner was from a menu with a choice of appetizer, main course, and dessert. Again, there was alot of variety, and I thought the food was very good. Drinks of course were extra, but resonably priced. There is a stunning pool area, with an ample amount of deck chairs. We didn't eat at the poolside restaurant, but it looked very inviting. The hotel itself was very clean, the room large, and the staff extremely helpful. The walk to the town center is about 10 minutes, a nice stroll. I wish we had been able to stay longer, but do intend to go back!

Room Tip: The rooms overlooking the bay are exquisite, well worth the price!
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carolinetravels2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Giuseppe M, Direttore at Grand Hotel Capodimonte, responded to this reviewResponded May 23, 2014

Dear Madam,

thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience at the Grand Hotel Capodimonte with the Trip Advisor community.

We are happy that you did not regret staying with us, and that you were satisfied with the hotel you ended up in.

Words cannot describe how grateful we are for your kind remarks, when our guests leave this kind of feedback it is really a joy for us because it means that we are working very well and our efforts are appreciated.


You highlighted many of our best features, we will convey your feelings to our staff; they will surely be very happy.

We hope to see you again as soon as possible,

Kindest Regards
Customer relation care

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews