We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Second visit can't wait for third!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
Ranked #27 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
1 review
“Second visit can't wait for third!!”
Reviewed July 15, 2013

Return visit did not disappoint. Perfectly situated overlooking the Bay of Naples and Sorrento. Brilliant views! All staff were extremely helpful, From maids, Restaurant staff and front desk. Nothing was too much trouble for them. All meals have an excellent choice and the wine list is comprehensive. Booking a third visit as soon as possible.

Room Tip: Sea view is worth paying for.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Kate L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Giuseppe M, Direttore generale at Grand Hotel Capodimonte, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Dear Mrs. Kate,

Grazie for your wonderful review on Trip Advisor and for your kind words about our staff, we'll tell them, they will be very happy to know that our customers appreciate their professionalism, their warm welcome and their smile, it’s so important.


Thanks for the compliments on our restaurant, seriously we are committed to providing the best service, giving customers a wide choice of different menus that change daily, and food cooked with fresh and local products.

We are waiting to see you again for the third time!

Best regards

Customer relation care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,342 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,500
    573
    159
    66
    44
See reviews for
456
1,445
16
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (808)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sloughhouse, California
1 review
Reviewed July 14, 2013

Even though there are a few shortcomings--use of small fridge; no coffee in room--the room had a wonderful view of Sorrento and the Bay. The rooms were clean and very comfortable. The breakfast buffet each morning was the best I have ever experienced AND it came with the room at no extra cost.

The staff was, for the most part, very friendly and tried hard to accommodate our requests. I have to admit that the hotel, the pool and all of the other facilities were outstanding but the best feature of all was the view from every room. What a pleasure and a great way to experience Italy for the first time.

Room Tip: Be sure to try to get a room that does not sit next to the road. Our room was extremely noisy traff...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Sharol G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Giuseppe M, Direttore generale at Grand Hotel Capodimonte, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your review on Trip Advisor, we are always very happy to know that our customers have had a pleasant stay with us.

You're right the view from our hotel is amazing and breathtaking, you can see from our terrace and swimming pools all the Napoli Bay, Sorrento and the Marina Grande, the old sailor port of Sorrento. The view is so beautiful during the day and so romantic at night!!!

And you have this lovely view just a few steps from the center, our position is very easy both for a walk downtown for shopping or for starting an excursion day.

Thanks for your advice we are always happy to receive suggestions from our customers, because they always give us good ideas.

We hope to welcome you again in our hotel as soon as possible,

Kind Regards

Customer relation care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2013

We spent 4 nights half board at this lovely hotel in Sorento. Spacious room and large ensuite bathrooms. The multi level swimming pool is an interesting concept!
Food in the restaurant was excellent. During our stay the menu changed 3 times. Breakfast was very well presented in the open air with wonderful views of Vesuvius and Bay of Naples. Be careful of drinks and signing them to the room, it does get a bit difficult to keep track! After the evening meal there is a very comfortable lounge area to relax in and play cards with very attentive bar staff to serve drinks.

We did fin the air conditioning and feet on the hard floor in corridors a little noisy during the night. This would be my only negative point. Otherwise the stay was excellent.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank macca163
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Giuseppe M, Proprietario at Grand Hotel Capodimonte, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Dear Sir,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review our hotel on Trip Advisor. We are glad you appreciated the facilities and the special design of our renowned swimming pools.

We will work to improve the air conditioning system, regarding the noise problem you reported..About the floors, it is needless to say that our wonderful tiled floors in a typical Sorrento style can produce a bit of noise, especially when people walk on it in high heels, but the sound insulation of the rooms should avoid any issue. We will check it anyway.

We hope to welcome you again as soon as possible

Best Regards

Customer relation care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Byron Bay, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed July 12, 2013

A great hotel, we had aroom overlooking the sea and Sorrento.
The views were great, the staff were the best I've ever experienced ( and I've travelled the world staying in hotels). The food and entertainment also great.
On the downside could do with tea/coffee facilities in the room but hey that's a tiny thing in an otherwise wonderful place.

Room Tip: Overlook the sea if you can, it costs more but is fantastic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank spadge288
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Giuseppe M, Proprietario at Grand Hotel Capodimonte, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Dear Sir,

Thank you kindly for taking the time to write such a lovely review on Trip Advisor.

We are delighted to learn that you appreciated the courtesy and professionalism of our staff, the entertainment and the quality of the meals.

We will talk with the management about your advice of providing tea and coffee making facilities in the room; any suggestion is always welcome if it can improve our guests’ experience.

We hope to welcome you again as soon as possible

Best wishes

Customer relation care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2013

The hotel has a great view of Sorrento.The staff is prompt and courteous.The rooms were very clean and well equipped.It was a pleasure to overlook Sorrento from the breakfast pavilion every morning.All in all it was one of our best holidays!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Priyanka620
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Giuseppe M, Direttore generale at Grand Hotel Capodimonte, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your review on Trip Advisor we are really happy that you loved your stay with us.

With few and simple words you described our hotel in the best way. Our qualified staff, friendly, multilingual and always ready to help with a smile to make your stay a memorable one. Our rooms clean and beautifully decorated with stunning sea views. Our extensive cold and hot buffet breakfast, that during the summer is served on an amazing terrace, with a wide selection of fresh and healthy food that our beautiful country has to offer.

We really hope to have soon the chance to welcome you again at the Grand Hotel Capodimonte

Yours sincerely

Customer relation care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2013

I recently spent four nights at this hotel with my family of six people, I booked 3 rooms online (they were the only three available) and they were all different price points. When we checked in, two of the rooms were located on the same floor and the other one was located on the absolute opposite side of the hotel. When asked if there was a third room closer, we were told "no" and the women at the front desk was rather smug about the fact that I booked 3 different types of rooms online. An hour later, there was a foul odor in one of the rooms and they were instantly able to find a different room on the floor below us!? The breakfast set up was a bit chaotic and the morning staff was very unfriendly. In an attempt to move people in and out quickly, they were clearing plates much too fast and I had my breakfast taken twice when I got up to get something. We felt that they were generally understaffed considering how busy the hotel was during our stay.
The positive aspects of this hotel include the spectacular views, the cleanliness, the friendly bartender and the location. It was very easy to walk into downtown Sorrento with its many fine restaurants and shops.The dining area overlooking the pool was especially delightful for lunch and the cascading pools were very refreshing with plenty of surrounding lounge chairs. The front lounge area had a wall of windows overlooking Sorrento and was a great place to relax and it included a bar.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a sea view and balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mary_0705
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Giuseppe M, Proprietario at Grand Hotel Capodimonte, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Dear Mary,

Firstly let me thank you for taking the time to evaluate our Hotel on Trip Advisor, we are really sad to learn that you were generally disappointed by our establishment.

About the rooms, we provide seven different typologies of rooms, to cater for all needs (Basic, standard, classic, superior, deluxe, premier and prestige). Since our property is quite big, some types are only available in a specific part of the hotel; therefore it is very hard to get three rooms of different typologies close to each other.

Immediately after you reported a problem with one of your rooms, the reception staff gave you another room (different from what you booked) close to the others; thus, a free upgrade in order to please you.

For the restaurant, we apologize about the behavior of waiters, we will surely discuss about it in our next meeting with the staff.

We are very grateful for your remarks on the pool area, the location and the view, indeed some of our best features.

We will treasure your remarks about the breakfast and we hope to welcome you again in order to show you how much we’ve improved.

Until then please accept our

Best regards

Customer relation care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gillingham(Kent)
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2013

fourth time here, same report a "grand" hotel. Sea view rooms a must, but you have to accept traffic noise (local accident and emergency hospital) rear "quite rooms" have no outlook below the sixth floor. Good pool, Comfortable beds. Good but small potions of food at dinner. Good breakfast but outdoor breakfast room does not open to 8.

Room Tip: A sea view room is a must or you will regret for ever.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul_Gillingham_Kent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Giuseppe M, Proprietario at Grand Hotel Capodimonte, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for reviewing us on Trip Advisor. We’re glad that you described our hotel as “Grand” and that you appreciated the rooms and the facilities of out hotel.

We’re looking forward to welcoming you once again at the Capodimonte

Best wisher

Customer relation care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
1.0 mi away
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
#11 of 100 in Sorrento
1,507 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hilton Sorrento Palace
Hilton Sorrento Palace
#32 of 100 in Sorrento
3,227 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#26 of 100 in Sorrento
3,061 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento
0.8 mi away
Grand Hotel Royal
Grand Hotel Royal
#21 of 100 in Sorrento
1,537 reviews
1.5 mi away
Art Hotel Gran Paradiso
Art Hotel Gran Paradiso
#39 of 100 in Sorrento
1,082 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Capodimonte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Capodimonte

Property: Grand Hotel Capodimonte
Address: Via Capo 15, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#22 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
#23 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
#25 Family Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Capodimonte 4*
Number of rooms: 189
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A prestigious 4 Star Superior Rating Hotel built on the lines of the typical Mediterranean architecture, positioned on the rocky mountain dominating the town of Sorrento and the enchanting Gulf of Naples. A striking and imposing hall, wonderfully designed into the rock cavern ambience, is connected with the fifth floor of the Hotel, thanks to two fast elevators. Guests will be welcomed by a selected and highly professional staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Grand Hotel Capodimonte reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Sorrento
Sorrento Capodimonte
Hotel Capodimonte Sorrento
Capodimonte Hotel Sorrento
Grand Hotel Capodimonte Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing