We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful experience in every way!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
Ranked #27 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Delray Beach, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful experience in every way!”
Reviewed December 14, 2012

We could not have been more delighted with our choice of hotel. The property has wonderful views from almost every part of it. From the restaurant which had a delicious and extensive breakfast buffet to the romantic restaurant overlooking the pool we enjoyed a myriad of views from morning to evening. The hotel was very helpful in arranging two wonderful tours - one to the Amalfi coast and the other to Capri. The tours were excellent and they picked us up at the hotel. The hotel was also within easy walking distance to town which we also enjoyed. Our room was spotless and had a small terrace outside with charming views and flowers planted in the hillside. This hotel made us feel like VIPs in the outstanding attention to detail that was demonstrated in the arrangements they made for our tours as well as their restaurant service. Nothing was too much to ask-- their graciousness and professionalism were exceptional.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marilyn_S563
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,372 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,522
    579
    161
    66
    44
See reviews for
462
1,465
16
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (815)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here as a part of our honeymoon. The hotel is very nice and the breakfast buffet was great as well. The pool was a very nice amenity. It featured an infinity edge and amazing views that made for great pictures. The location was a bit odd as it was on a busy street but as long as you are careful you will be fine.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dput
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crowthorne, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2012

My son and his now wife chose to have their wedding reception at this hotel at the end of September and the day could not have been more perfect! And this was in part due to the wonderful service and wedding breakfast provided by the hotel - notably Giuseppe and the restaurant staff.
With drinks and canapés served on the terrace offering amazing views of the bay and Vesuvius, it was a perfect setting before the main meal in the dining room. Here our guests could enjoy the spectacular views again with wall to wall windows - sadly, being on the top table, we missed out somewhat! The food chosen was faultless and beautifully presented with excellent service.
In the lead up to the wedding Giuseppe was quick to answer our emails and questions and once there at the hotel he was happy to accommodate any changes - a huge thank you to him!
Organising such a wedding from afar with no one visiting the venues or tasting the food beforehand, can be a risky affair but any concerns we may have had were to no avail and we could not have been more pleased with our 'destination wedding'. We and our 65 guests had a very memorable day and notably the bride and groom also! Consequently, we would highly recommend the Copodimonte as a wedding venue.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Lorna H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2012

Thoroughly enjoyed our stay at The Capodimonte. Excellent Hotel and service. Our flight arrival was slightly delayed, so when we arrived we were impressed to be greeted at Hotel with Porter service and ushered to our meal immediately. VIP service. The meals and views were excellent, Staff were lovely. Only one issue. The young chef could have raised a smile more. Other than that happy with room, views, and hotel. Lovely. Excellent location. Last visited Sorrento 23 years ago. We visited at end of August this year. Would go again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ulysses21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leeds
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2012

have just returned from a 3 night stay and found this to be a fantastic and clean hotel in a great location just 5 mins walk from the town. we didn.t get a room with a view but we were not bothered as there are so many wonderful views from this hotel. the restaurant staff were very welcoming, i found the food lovely but if you are a fussy eater you might not like the menu as it is not buffet style but more a la carte. the only downside is the road outside is busy and even though there is a crossing italian drivers rarely stop for you. the coach transfer from naples airport takes about 2 hours when busy and if you are scared of heights you might find the majority of the transfer scary as you are really high up on mountain roads but it is very scenic and for the return journey it was dark but the views were fantastic

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank choccyLeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2012

The Hotel has some impressive elements; the entrance, the terraces, the bar. Unfortunately this is offset by some other aspects of the Hotel, like the very bright dining room which lacked any atmosphere, the reception staff who are not that engaging and the dining room staff who come across a little abrupt and seemed to be constantly chatting / arguing with each other even across the restaurant and the cost of some of the snacks which were excessive. Despite the fact that the Hotel is located just outside of town it is only a 10 minute walk to the centre and does benefit from some great view of the bay. The room was OK but needed a little attention.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caerphilly, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2012

I read other reviews before our holiday so knew what others thought. We did not have a sea view, and had read others say that this was essential. However wondered how long you would spend in a hotel room looking at the view anyway so saved some money and booked a classic room. We loved our room at the back of the Hotel, room 421 was quiet and had a lovely terrace looking at the plant strewn cliff which was lit up at night and looked lovely. The room was very large, and we particularly appreciated having plenty of clothes hangers, and drawers with plenty of space for everything. The decor is pleasant and the rooms very clean, and kept that way with daily servicing including clean bedding. We slept well, though the bed was perhaps a little harder that we are used to.
All of the staff were lovely and so pleasant and obliging. Thank you Antonio for cooking our breakfast eggs each morning with a smile and just as we liked them, your omelets are lovely. On the subject of breakfast, it was wonderful everything that anyone could possibly want, including bucks fizz which had less and less orange juice every morning until on our last day it was just prosciutto!
The reception staff were cheerful and obliging. The location lovely, within an easy stroll from the centre. We are both in our sixties and I have mobility problems but we managed the walk without a problem. But there is a bus stop right outside when we wanted it with the bus every 20 minutes.
unfortunately you have missed your chance this year as the Hotel was shutting down as we left, but will reopen at Easter, We cannot wait to go back!
We travelled from the airport on the airport bus which leaves from right outside the terminal. The cost was 10 euros each and the trip took 1.5 hours. We then got a taxi from the terminus at the train station to the hotel and the trip took 10 minutes and cost 20 euros, so beware!
We went from 23rd -30th October, we had three lovely warm sunny days, followed by three rainy chilly days so will go earlier in the year net time. According to Guiseppe in reception the sun is guaranteed from Early June to September, before and after that the chances are mixed.

Room Tip: We did not pay the extra for a sea view room and did not regret it. The breakfast rooms aand terrace...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Susan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.5 mi away
Hilton Sorrento Palace
Hilton Sorrento Palace
#32 of 100 in Sorrento
3,298 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#24 of 100 in Sorrento
3,104 reviews
1.0 mi away
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
#11 of 100 in Sorrento
1,526 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento
0.8 mi away
Grand Hotel Royal
Grand Hotel Royal
#21 of 100 in Sorrento
1,568 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel La Favorita
Grand Hotel La Favorita
#7 of 100 in Sorrento
1,685 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Capodimonte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Capodimonte

Property: Grand Hotel Capodimonte
Address: Via Capo 15, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#22 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
#23 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
#25 Family Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Capodimonte 4*
Number of rooms: 189
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A prestigious 4 Star Superior Rating Hotel built on the lines of the typical Mediterranean architecture, positioned on the rocky mountain dominating the town of Sorrento and the enchanting Gulf of Naples. A striking and imposing hall, wonderfully designed into the rock cavern ambience, is connected with the fifth floor of the Hotel, thanks to two fast elevators. Guests will be welcomed by a selected and highly professional staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, ACCOR, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Grand Hotel Capodimonte reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Sorrento
Sorrento Capodimonte
Hotel Capodimonte Sorrento
Capodimonte Hotel Sorrento
Grand Hotel Capodimonte Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing