We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
Ranked #26 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 7, 2012

This hotel has arguably the best location in Sorrento, set high up on the outskirts of town it has panoramic views of Vesuvius and the surrounding hills to one side and the rooftops of Sorrento to the other. Worth paying extra for a sea view. The overall experience was very good, reception staff helpful, bar staff attentive and funny and our well appointed room was superb. The only two negatives were the breakfast set up which was poorly organized and the one a la carte meal we had, which although good was very overpriced and did not represent value for money. Overall we would stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cathy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Giuseppe M, Proprietario at Grand Hotel Capodimonte, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2012

Dear Mrs. Cathy,

Thank you for your kind words here on Trip Advisor, we are glad that you enjoyed the pleasant view of the gulf of Naples and the convenient location of our hotel.

We will convey your feelings to the staff, they will be delighted: our guests’ praise is a source of pride for them and an incentive to keep the service on very high standards. We will also take into account your comments about breakfast and the à la carte restaurant and discuss it with the staff; we know that there is still room for improvement.

We’re looking forward to welcoming you again in the future

Best Regards,

The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,434)
There are newer reviews for Grand Hotel Capodimonte
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,483 - 1,489 of 2,435 reviews

Reviewed October 6, 2012

Excellent location the views from the all the rooms are superb ! Beware of booking a tired mouldy room!!!! Breakfast buffet badly laid out which wouldn't be too bad if the waiters were more helpful. Very helpful staff on reception but they were unable to find us another room even though we asked for an upgrade!! Our room was NOT delux !!

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1982flower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Giuseppe M, Proprietario at Grand Hotel Capodimonte, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2012

Dear Customer,

Thank you very much for reviewing us on Trip Advisor, we are glad to know that you’ve enjoyed the location of our Hotel.

Since our restaurant is so big and we give our guests the choice to seat inside or outside the terrace, the breakfast buffet is prepared on a large surface and it seems to be badly laid out, we are sorry that the restaurant Staff has not been enough helpful to you, we are sure that they didn’t notice the problem.

We are really sorry about the room, we use to offer automatically up-selling to our guests upon arrival, but probably we had no better rooms than the one you booked for that period.
We hope to see you here at the Hotel Capodimonte again; it will be our pleasure to offer you a better room.

Sincerely
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2012

we only have great reviews on this place......we were booked into this hotel as part of a package with a tour company........our room was beautiful and overlooked the sea........just lovely.....the breakfast was lovely and our dinner also..........we stayed in Italy for near 4 weeks and this would have had to be our nicest hotel (we stayed mostly in B & B's)..........we didnt use the pool.....

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maz670
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Giuseppe M, Proprietario at Grand Hotel Capodimonte, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2012

Dear Client,

We are so grateful for your valued support on Trip Advisor and we are glad to know that your stay in our Hotel has been so “lovely”.

We thank you for saying that the service we offer at breakfast and dinner exceeded your expectations but it’s such a shame that you didn’t use our five levels pool which is overlooking the gulf of Naples, surrounded by a fantastic scenery.

We’re looking forward to welcoming you here again so that you can have the opportunity to have a swim by the pool, maybe next time you’ll write a new review with something good on it too.

Best Regards
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2012

I booked this hotel as one of thomsons platinum hotels as part of my wedding booking. We also had another family member in the same hotel.
The location itself is great, the food is good but the pool a little disappointing from the photos.
The worst thing we're our rooms. After trawling the maze to find ours we were faced with a damp and black mouldy mess. My father in law was placed in nothing more than a shoe box which the previous occupant had used as an ash tray.
The staff would do nothing for us which was upsetting because we had emailed in 3 weeks before our arrival explaining we were getting married and needed 2 double rooms so we could seperate the night before! We ended up also having to pay for a third room on top of the huge amount of money we had already paid for only one weeks stay in a half board hotel. We at first asked for an upgrade but they told us the hotel was full. We offered to pay to upgrade but ey said the only way was to pay for another room for two nights!
I can't tell you how much this place put a dampener on our wedding week. We couldn't wait to get out of the place every morning.
So so so disappointed and felt we had far overpaid for a poor poor hotel.
We intend to go back for our first anniversary but would never book back into this hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank jester0503
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Giuseppe M, Proprietario at Grand Hotel Capodimonte, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2012

Dear Guest,

We are extremely sorry to learn that you were disappointed with your stay in our hotel.

Unfortunately we cannot check your reservation and your requests, but your personal opinion affects very deeply the image of our property and as well of our staff which is one of our strong points, always very helpful and pleasant, they try always very hard to please any request forwarded by our clients when possible. This is proved by more than 500 positive reviews here on Trip Advisor.

However, we can assure you and all the readers of the above review that we don’t have any room to be compared to an ash tray or a shoe box but just different types of room, with all the facilities of an high standard four stars Hotel.

We Hope that despite the misunderstanding, you will give us another chance in the future lo let us change your opinion on us.

Best Wishes
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2012 via mobile

Overall, an enjoyable stay. Clean, well located and friendly. They offer great excursions to Capri, Positano and Amalfi. The pools were lovely and there's plenty of room to sunbake. The a la carte restaurant was really fantastic; great food, wine and excellent service. The views are lovely too. I thought that the hotel catered too much to English tourists and therefore lacked a bit of authenticity... Particularly the breakfast, buffet restaurant and music. Apart from that, I enjoyed it very much.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JodyleeB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Giuseppe M, Proprietario at Grand Hotel Capodimonte, responded to this reviewResponded October 5, 2012

Dear Clients,

We’re so glad to learn that you had a nice stay with us.

Our A’ la carte restaurant is the perfect place for an exclusive dinner experience, our guests enjoys very much to take a seat around the pool surrounded by a lovely and romantic atmosphere with candle light and a fantastic choice of local and international specialities served by our staff; everything becomes nearly unreal.

Thank you for supporting us, we hope to see you again sooner or later at the Hotel Capodimonte.

Best Regards
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2012

An absolutely wonderful hotel that proved well worth the money. The sea view is stunning, and the bellboy clearly enjoyed the moment as he rolled up the shutter to let us see that view.

The service was very good indeed, and the food was fantastic - breakfast was included, but we also had a very nice dinner one evening overlooking the bay, which was topped off to perfection by a huge firework display on the other side of the bay.

The pool could do with being even slightly heated; it was a bit of a shock to the system just how cold it was, as it's in shade for much of the day. Food from the pool bar was also first-rate.

It wasn't cheap, but it was definitely good value - we'll definitely stay again on our certain return to Sorrento.

Room Tip: The sea view is awesome.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KEChurchill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Giuseppe M, Proprietario at Grand Hotel Capodimonte, responded to this reviewResponded October 6, 2012

Dear Customers,

We are delighted to know that we’ve lived up to your expectations; our objective is to leave a good memory of your holiday in Sorrento as for your stay at the Grand Hotel Capodimonte and this opinion left on Trip Advisor means that we did it.

We will consider your opinion about the temperature of the water in the pool, it is good to receive suggestions useful to improve the quality of our facilities.

Thank you again for your lovely support and looking forward to welcoming you in our Hotel, we send our

Best Regards

The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2012 via mobile

I booked this hotel as a surprise ten day holiday for my partner based on other reviews and my Fathers' experience of it, even though that was 15 years ago. I booked our BA flights and hotel separately and liaised with Giuseppe when booking the hotel, who dealt with my emails, questions and requests very efficiently. I paid for a prestige room with a view on a half board basis and the hotel arranged the private transfer to and from the hotel in a Mercedes car, which was well worth it. We were really pleased when we arrived as the hotel was lovely and spotlessly clean and the reception staff very welcoming. I was a bit nervous when being shown to our room as I had paid the extra for the prestige room on the 10th floor, but needn't have worried. Giuseppe promised me a lovely room and he certainly delivered that. We were delighted as the porter raised the electronic shutter as the panoramic view was amazing. On our first night we were invited to the Gala Buffet evening, which was superb and the views from the terrace were lovely. As many other reviewers have already stated, breakfast was wonderful and the egg chef was brilliant. Unfortunately, the half board just wasn't up to standard at all. I had noticed that there had been mixed reviews but thought that some people we're just being fussy, but they weren't. The menu was limited, the food no where near as good as the food at the gala buffet or even breakfast and the service left a lot to be desired. We have stayed at many hotels throughout the world and eat out at restaurants on a regular basis and unfortunately this ranks amongst the worst, even allowing for it being a set menu. I really don't like being rushed at dinner and have never had to order all three courses at the beginning of the meal. The service just wasn't there, plates were being taken away while either myself or my partner were still eating and the left hand just didn't know what the right hand was doing.We had to wait far too long for wine and drinks and often had to remind staff. When speaking to other guests at the hotel it was clear we aren't the only ones unimpressed. Luckily, after two evenings of half board my partner and I had had enough and spoke to Giuseppe and asked to have the half board removed from our booking. Giuseppe was very accommodating and arranged this immediately, which meant we were then able to try out several restaurants in Sorrento, where the food was superb and the service impeccable. Especially at Meating, a meat restaurant, funnily enough, where Ivan and JP looked after us on a couple of occasions and at L'Antica where the atmosphere inside or out was lovely, especially when serenaded by the man with the mandolin. I would mention that out of the restaurant staff at the hotel Giusy, I hope I've spelt this correctly and Carlos, the cocktail waiter and barman, were very good. We could have eaten in the al la carte restaurant at the hotel but when being charged 40 euros plus cover charge before you start we considered this unacceptable when this isn't charged at other al la carte restaurants in town. It is such a shame about the half board and the service and attitude of the some of the waiting staff as we would have given the hotel a five star rating otherwise. Everything else, and I mean everything, about the hotel was wonderful and it's location is great as you can quite easily walk to and from Sorrento, which is a good way of walking off your evening meal. We would definitely stay at the hotel again, in a prestige room, but just wouldn't eat at the hotel unless they are able to address this issue. Loved Sorrento and the Amalfi Coast and Capri, Pompeii and Vesuvius are a must.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Samantha261067
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Giuseppe M, Proprietario at Grand Hotel Capodimonte, responded to this reviewResponded October 5, 2012

Dear Guest,

We are truly grateful for the time you’ve spent to publish such a detailed review on our hotel.

Thank you on behalf of Giuseppe for the wonderful words you’ve spent in his favor, it’s our duty to put all the clients at ease from the very first contact in order to satisfy the needs of everybody at best.

We also wanted to apologize again for the service at the restaurant, it’s not usual for us to receive complaints about the behavior and professionalism of our restaurant staff, normally they are always very helpful and friendly, however we will consider your opinion about that and check on the service at dinner, so if needed we will take the due precautions.

The menu available for the half board changes every day in order to satisfy the tastes of our customers using products of high quality, but sometimes there are few exceptions like yours to our great regret.

We are honored to learn that you had a great stay with us and appreciated the cleanliness of the facilities and the courtesy of our staff at the front desk as also the amazing view from the room and from our fantastic terraces.

We really hope to have you here again; we will try our best with professionalism and courtesy to change your opinion about the half board.

Warm Regards

The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.5 mi away
Hilton Sorrento Palace
Hilton Sorrento Palace
#33 of 100 in Sorrento
3,388 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#25 of 100 in Sorrento
3,180 reviews
1.0 mi away
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
#11 of 100 in Sorrento
1,556 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Grand Hotel Royal
Grand Hotel Royal
#21 of 100 in Sorrento
1,624 reviews
0.9 mi away
Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento
0.6 mi away
Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Capodimonte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Capodimonte

Address: Via Capo 15, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#22 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
#22 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
#25 Family Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range: $210 - $469 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Capodimonte 4*
Number of rooms: 189
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A prestigious 4 Star Superior Rating Hotel built on the lines of the typical Mediterranean architecture, positioned on the rocky mountain dominating the town of Sorrento and the enchanting Gulf of Naples. A striking and imposing hall, wonderfully designed into the rock cavern ambience, is connected with the fifth floor of the Hotel, thanks to two fast elevators. Guests will be welcomed by a selected and highly professional staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, ACCOR, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Agoda, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Grand Hotel Capodimonte reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Sorrento
Sorrento Capodimonte
Hotel Capodimonte Sorrento
Capodimonte Hotel Sorrento
Grand Hotel Capodimonte Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing