We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Brilliant hotel, great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
Ranked #29 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Brilliant hotel, great location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2012

We have just come back from Sorrento after staying at the 4 star Capodimonte hotel for a week.
We had a lovely room which had a good bathroom with large bath, a dresing area with ample storage and decent size bedroom.The rooms were spotless. Although we didn't pay for a seaview we were pleased to see that we overlooked Sorrento and the bay.The balcony was small, but big enough for the 2 chairs and small table.The one drawback was that on floor 3 we were just above the busy road, so we could hear the traffic noise.
The food was very good and varied, with waiter service most nights.The hotel was a masterpiece of beautful tiling.Just be cautious and patient when crossing the road outside the hotel, it is on a bend and the traffic is at high speed. Although there is a zebra crossing, the traffic does not stop to let you accross. Sorrento is a lovely place with plenty to see and do, although quite expensive..I would definately go back here and to this hotel.

Room Tip: If you have a choice, ask for a higher floor, as it is less noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Paddyruth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Giuseppe M, Proprietario at Grand Hotel Capodimonte, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Dear valued Customer,

Thank you so much for your kind words, we’re delighted to know that you had a lovely stay here in Sorrento with us. It’s nice of you to define our hotel a masterpiece, this surely gives credit to our efforts in improving and decorating it, and also all the people who have worked so hard in the past to make it the way it is now.
About the traffic, surely in Italy roads tend to be very busy, the trick is to not be afraid and soon you get used to it.
We’re looking forward to welcoming you in the future.

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,187 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,393
    534
    151
    66
    43
See reviews for
434
1,345
15
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (759)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Billericay, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2012

Our stay at the Capodimote to part celebrate our 47th wedding anniversary was spoilt by the room that we were given.We booked a sea facing room and was given No 336 which was immediately below the balcony of the restuarant . The noise on the ceiling started at 6.15am when all you can hear is the noise from chairs and tables being moved and this is heard until 11pm. There is also the traffic noise from the main road which is immediately below and this goes on until quite late in the evening.
These rooms (330 to 338) although they have sea views, which are magnificient,should have a health warning with them. We asked to be moved but were told that no other rooms were available although looking around the hotel this did not appear to be the case.

Room Tip: Do not have any rooms in the front of the hotel and at all costs avoid Nos 330 to 338.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Barry W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Giuseppe M, Proprietario at Grand Hotel Capodimonte, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Dear Sir,
We are very sorry to learn that you were not pleased with your stay in our hotel.
Unfortunately, even though you requested to change your room, we were unable to do it, since we always work almost at full capacity and we try very hard to satisfy all our guests.
We hope to welcome you again in the future, next time we will surely able to make a better impact.
Best Wishes
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2012

Half an hour spent in this hotel and you could be forgiven for thinking the entire world is populated with middle-aged English couples. Yes, I’m one half of such a couple – but if I wanted to go on a Saga holiday, I would book one. I prefer to holiday amongst mixed nationalities and age groups – a reflection of the real world - and although there are a few non-Brits here, they are very much in the minority.

Physically, this hotel is very attractive, built as it is into the hillside overlooking the incredibly beautiful Bay of Naples. It is well-maintained and has lovely outdoor terraces as well as a comfortable lounge and decent restaurants, but somehow it lacks a soul and any real feeling of being in Italy. (tip to the management: never-ending mandolins simply get on your nerves in the end). I have no experience of Butlins, but I can see why a previous reviewer used that comparison.

This demographic is clearly the result of the hotel doing so much of its business with British tour companies and not really catering for the independent traveller.

Also, like another reviewer, we had a room facing a cliff wall. There's nothing wrong with not being able to see the sea, but not being able to see the sky? Come on. Thinking about it now, we probably should have complained but we prefer a quiet life.

Unfortunately, quiet was one thing we did not get. The shockingly poor sound insulation means you are plagued by the sounds of your neighbours’ clacking heels, not to mention their bodily functions, as well as not being able to escape the awful music that sent us running from the lounge and which on some nights goes on until 11.30.

Much of this was forgotten, however, as Sorrento is such a wonderful destination with views to die for and a real feel of a living Italian community in spite of all its tourists. We loved it and will return, but will look for somewhere else to stay next time.

Room Tip: Avoid classic rooms at all costs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank moonoo1949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Giuseppe M, Proprietario at Grand Hotel Capodimonte, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
Dear Sir,

We’ve appreciated the words spent on our Hotel regarding the position and the best view on the Gulf of Naples.

Yes, we do work a lot with English travelers and companies, but to be honest we do not feel this as mark of demerit to the hotel; we also welcome a lot of individual travelers of all nationalities and the presence of a majority of English guests has never been a problem.

About the room, we are sorry to hear that you did not like it, but we are also sure that if you told the reception staff we would have surely done something about it immediately, maybe showing you another room according to our availability. We will also carefully check with the staff about the sound insulation problem you reported.

We hope that you will give us another chance and we’re looking forward to welcoming you in the future

Best Regards
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
134 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

We found this hotel to be an excellent Hotel. We had booked a Double Premier (Premier on the Hotel Website) and this is a must as this gives you a fantastic room with a wonderful view of the bay of Sorrento. The room (511) was spacious, light, clean and had plenty of storage space.
The location of the Hotel was better than we had expected being only 5 minutes to the nearest restaurant/shops and 10 mins from the Town Square reached via a single flat road.
We had got a taxi from the Railway station to the hotel (Eur 13) but on hindsight we could have walked it even with the luggage and this would have taken about 25 mins.
The Hotel Lobby is on the 5th Floor and this accessed by a lift from the street. The Hotel is a group of 4-5 different buildings and at the beginning it is quite confusing which lift takes you to where but you get the hang of it quite quickly. Just a note: The swimming pools can only be reached by stairs!
The self-service breakfast buffet, offered plenty of hot and cold food and a very good selection of both. We did find it a bit busy and the tables outside on the terrace were in high demand.
Staff were very helpful and spoke good English. We booked our tours via the Hotel and got English guides and had no issues with the tour operator (Golden Tours).
A word of warning - check the prices of the food and drinks before ordering. We found drinks by the pool very expensive plus they add on a cover charge and a service charge.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor and pay entra to upgrade from the standard room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank IpswichDan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Giuseppe M, Proprietario at Grand Hotel Capodimonte, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
Dear Sir/Madame,
Thank you very much for your appreciated and valued comments! Guests like you are the reason of our pride.

We are so glad to learn that you've appreciate our fantastic rooms, we use to have refurbishment works every year to improve the quality to the high standard of the Hotel and we get really satisfied when we read lovely compliments like this.

We try to exceed the expectation of our guests about meals providing a big choice of food in every moment of the day since 7 in the morning, our chef Antonio cooks fresh eggs at breakfast offering a big choice as our guests requires.

Just a small clarification "the lifts to the pool area are available from reception".
We will always do our best to deserve your gratitude.

With Regards from each and everyone of us.

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2012

We stayed at this hotel celebrating our 25th wedding anniversary and it lived up to all our expectations. We read the past reviews and took the advise to book a oceanview room and it was worth every penny. We could not get enough of this spectacular view. Our stay included breakfast and it was great. There was alot of variety and Antonio at the omlet station was excellent at his job. The view from this breakfast restaurant was also amazing. We used the safe in the room, this was a little confusing to get it going because you had to get an activation code from the reception, then there were 2 sets of instructions near the safe. This got a little agrivating but we managed. We did not get charged extra for the safe, we were told it was included. The main area of Sorrento is a short walk away and we had our dinners in town. We went to Pompei for a day and took the local transit. We walked to the train/bus station and took the train, it brought us directly to the Pompei ruins, I highly reccomend this. We also took the local bus to Positano and Amalfi for the day, make sure you bring some anti nausea medication, its quite a long and winding road on very high altitudes, more amazing views! We had a wonderful time in Sorrento and at the Grand Hotel Capodimonte. The staff at this hotel was very pleasant and smiling, we also stayed in Florence and Rome and the people were not so friendly. We would definatley return here one day.

Room Tip: Splurge for the oceanview room!! Completely worth it !
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rose T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Giuseppe M, Proprietario at Grand Hotel Capodimonte, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
Dear Guests,
Thank you very much for such a lovely advertise on Trip Advisor, we are so glad to know that we lived up to your expectation, this is the impression we'd like to leave to all our guests and may be in the next future we'll be able to reach this objective.
Your support is so important for us.

We hope to see you again very soon, it's such a pleasure to welcome back guests like you.

Best Regards
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2012 via mobile

This is an excellent hotel, with very well trained and friendly staff. Location is not right on the cliff side like a number of the other top hotels, but is very well situated for a short walk(5 minutes) into town. Views over the bay and the town are spectacular. We had an issue with our initial room (for which we paid extra for a "sea view") which was on the third floor, and too near a noisy road to comfortably sit out on the balcony. We requested a move and this was done on day 3. We moved to floor 9, which was well set back from the road and of course much higher up. It was perfect with spacious accomodation and wonderful views. I would say you ideally need to be on floor 7 or above. The restaurant was excellent, with both indoor and outdoor space, with wonderful views. Food was good with good choices and very good waiters. Views from the restaurant terrace were spectacular. Public rooms were spacious and comfortable with entertainment provided on some evenings. Pool areas were very good and spacious, but the pool water temperature was very much on the cool side. On the whole an excellent hotel and we would certainly go back but only on one of the higher floors.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Lily136
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Giuseppe M, Proprietario at Grand Hotel Capodimonte, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
Dear Sir,

thank you very much for your kind words, we are very happy to know that you appreciated the location of the hotel and the professionalism and courtesy of the staff.

We are glad that we were able to fulfill your request for a change, even though unfortunately we couldn’t do it sooner since we are always very busy and there were no rooms available at that time.

We’re looking forward to welcoming you again in the near future

Best Wishes

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshire, England
Level Contributor
106 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2012

Stayed here for 4 nights as part of a roadtrip around Italy. Hotel was of a first class standard, rooms had everything you needed and were fitted out with very high quality fixtures and fittings and furniture. Breakfast was excellent and served most days on a terrace overlooking Bay of Naples. Staff were very helpful and informative when asked best ways of doing the local attractions - Pompeii, Amalfi Coast, Capri, all of which were excellent.
Only minor downsides were a parking charge for the unsecure parking and a safe which was so secure you couldn't reprogramme it without a code from reception - far simpler models available.
We dined in 2 excellent restaurants in Sorrento, La Lanterna and the restaurant next door to it - both had very wide and reasonable menus and were maybe 10-15 mins walk from the hotel.

Room Tip: Probably the rooms by the pool are best but very pricey
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank merv1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Giuseppe M, Proprietario at Grand Hotel Capodimonte, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for reviewing us on TA, we’re pleased to know that you appreciated the hotel, the quality of the meals and the professionalism and friendliness of the staff.

About the parking, we have to point out that it is enclosed by walls and the only access point is monitored by a security camera.

While hoping to see you again in the future, we send our

Kind Regards

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.9 mi away
Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento
1.0 mi away
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
#12 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,436 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hilton Sorrento Palace
Hilton Sorrento Palace
#34 of 100 in Sorrento
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,009 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#24 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,848 reviews
0.6 mi away
Antiche Mura Hotel
Antiche Mura Hotel
#8 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,233 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel La Favorita
Grand Hotel La Favorita
#6 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,572 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Capodimonte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Capodimonte

Property: Grand Hotel Capodimonte
Address: Via Capo 15, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#22 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
#25 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
#25 Family Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Capodimonte 4*
Number of rooms: 189
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A prestigious 4 Star Superior Rating Hotel built on the lines of the typical Mediterranean architecture, positioned on the rocky mountain dominating the town of Sorrento and the enchanting Gulf of Naples. A striking and imposing hall, wonderfully designed into the rock cavern ambience, is connected with the fifth floor of the Hotel, thanks to two fast elevators. Guests will be welcomed by a selected and highly professional staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Grand Hotel Capodimonte reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Sorrento
Sorrento Capodimonte
Hotel Capodimonte Sorrento
Capodimonte Hotel Sorrento
Grand Hotel Capodimonte Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing