We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful and Tranquil in a sea of noise”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Villa Oriana Relais
Ranked #5 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
St. Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
138 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Peaceful and Tranquil in a sea of noise”
Reviewed June 7, 2014

We stayed at Villa Oriana Relais in the middle of May. We are very glad that we selected this villa compared to others that were more in the city itself.  Milena and the rest of the staff were wonderful and were a great help with any questions that we had. Villa Oriana Relais is located up on a hill on a narrow street.  You can walk to old Sorrento in about 25 minutes on a narrow sidewalk at times.  There is a short cut from the Villa down to the main street, but it is a pretty steep walk.  You can also take the bus which stops at the bottom of the hill on the main road or you can have a taxi take you to old Sorrento.  Not sure how much that would cost. The Villa itself is very clean and has great views of the Bay of Naples and Vesuvius.  They also have a great sundeck with spectacular views.  It also does contain a hot tub, but we never use those things.  The sundeck is only open from 10am to 7:00pm.  Our room had no room number on it, but we were on the 2nd floor, corner unit with good views out to the Bay of Naples and Vesuvius.   The room had WI-FI and we never had issues with it.  The bathroom was good and it had a shower.  The shower was great. The bed was fine and we had no complaints.  But we are pretty easy to please.  As long as the room and bathroom are clean, then we are happy campers.  And the room  and bathroom were  very clean. The breakfast was very good with enough options to please most folks.  They also ask if you would like an egg, but they only make them as hard boiled eggs.  No worries.  It was a good breakfast.  The villa also recommends certain restaurants in the area and we selected 2 of them since they do have pick up service to the villa.  The restaurants were very good.  We ate at La Zagara Bianca and Dona Sofia.  Would recommend either one of these 2 restaurants.  Very good food and good atmosphere.  And of course, we did not have to pay a taxi to get us there.  That is probably the only drawback to staying at Villa Oriana Relais.  You are away from the maddening traffic noise and the hustle and bustle.  So, you must ask yourself, if you want peace and quiet after a taxing day of adventure, then this is the place to be.  It is so peaceful and quiet.  But if you want to be in the middle of the hustle and bustle and close to everything, than this is not the place.  Also, the entry to the villa is great.  As the big steel gate opens up to let you in, the driveway is on the left side and as you drive or walk down the driveway, you have lemon trees on both sides of you all the way to the villa.  It probably goes on for about 30 – 50 yards (give myself a break on how long it is). It really is a nice walk with all of the large lemons hanging around.  Just great.

Room Tip: ensure that you have a view out to the Bay of Naples
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CANDD1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villaorianarelais, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Villa Oriana Relais, responded to this review, July 4, 2014
Dear guests,

We are proud you are happy of your choice and enjoyed your stay, your room, the Villa and the staff.

Thank you for your nice words and your kindness.

Whenever you want to leave the hustle and bustle and find again the peace and quiet, Villa Oriana and its staff will be here waiting for you.

Please insert the code TRIP25 into our promo code box when you decide to come back and you will have a special offer.

Arrivederci!

Maddalena D’Urso
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

981 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    808
    125
    27
    14
    7
See reviews for
249
498
17
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Alamo, California
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2014

We loved every minute we spent at Villa Oriana Relais. Maria, the owner, is the most genuinely warm and welcoming person you could ever meet. From the moment we arrived and were greeted with freshly made lemonade and cake we felt at home. We wandered through the gardens of hydrangeas and olive trees that are 100 to 300 years old and watched magnificent sunsets from the terrace with stunning vistas of Mt. Vesuvius and the Bay of Naples, surrounded everywhere by the aroma of orange and lemon blossoms. And we have never had a better breakfast! We feasted on mozzarella just a few hours old from Maddalena’s family’s factory, delicious marmalades and jams made from fruit from Maria’s garden, and lemon honey from local bees. And the cakes!! Every morning there were new freshly baked quiches and cakes, croissants and biscotti, each more scrumptious than the last: lemon ricotta cake, delicate apple croissants, chocolate hazelnut biscuits, strawberry cake, orange cake, nutella cake, focaccia with zucchini blossoms from the garden—the list goes on and on. Our room was spacious and clean, quiet and comfortable. We enjoyed the beautiful walk to town, and we ate dinner in several recommended restaurants that gave us a complimentary ride back to the hotel when we didn’t feel like walking back at night. On two occasions we had to leave early for special tours, and Maria and her staff made special arrangements so we didn’t have to miss our wonderful breakfast! We would like to thank every member of the Villa Oriana Relais staff that made us feel like family: Maria, Pasquale, Maria Luigia, Milena, Maddalena, Teresa and Michela. We miss you and can’t wait until we can return to Sorrento to visit you again! The Masons

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LC1331
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villaorianarelais, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Villa Oriana Relais, responded to this review, June 29, 2014
Dear Mason family,

We loved every minute you stayed here with us too. Thank you so much for your kindness and the wonderful words you used to describe us, the Villa and the warm atmosphere you found here at Villa Oriana.

We are happy you enjoyed our home made breakfast and your stay.

Maria and all the staff hope to see you and your nice family as soon as possible.

We wait for your return.

Maddalena D’Urso
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2014

Just stayed for 5 nights as part of my honeymoon and I can't speak highly enough of villa oriana. The staff are very friendly so much so it's hard to distinguish between family and staff. Maria the owner is the most genuine and kind hearted owner I have ever met in any hotel/b and b etc. her breakfasts are a delightful surprise every morning, her chats with guests and the extra effort to make you feel at home really feel genuine , she loves her job and you can tell that her staff enjoy working here. We were upgraded to a suite when we arrived , it was clean, comfortable and really spacious with great views of the Lemon groves and mt Vesuvius. The villas location is on a hill which is about 15 mins walk for the nimble footed. There is a bus stop at the end of the path which is fairly regular, it's not the big hike which some reviews would make out. The jacuzzi is a little cold but that was on a breezy day so it's hard to comment. The service really is second to none, Maria brought us to the port one morning when we were delayed, all in all a really top notch experience !!!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank athloneundercover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villaorianarelais, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Villa Oriana Relais, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Dear guests,

The honeymoon is maybe the most important and memorable trip of our life and we could not be happier in seeing you enjoyed the homely atmosphere and attention offered by Maria and the staff.

Thank you so much for your stay and your kindness.

We hope you can come back for next anniversaries.

Please use the codes BEST-FRIENDS or TRIP25 into our promo code box to have a special discount.

Arrivederci,

Maddalena D'Urso
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2014

Just back from a week there. Maria and everyone at Oriana were incredibly warm and helpful. could not do enough for you. We moved from a truly dreadful Hilton across town.

An incredibly calm and peaceful environment, lemon groves, fireflies at night on one occasion when we were walking back up the hill late at night. Great hosts. Couldn't really ask for more. Oh, maybe the recipe for the breakfast quiche..

Room Tip: Get a sea view if you can!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Badgerium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villaorianarelais, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Villa Oriana Relais, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Dear guest,

We are really happy in reading your nice words and this beautiful description of Villa Oriana and its staff.

Thank you so much. Of course we can send you all the recipes you need.

Ciao.

Maddalena D’Urso
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2014

Maria and Pasquale -- along with the wonderful staff of Villa Oriana Relais -- always extend the most amazing hospitality as hosts. People come to the Villa as visitors and depart as family. I have been coming to Villa Oriana for many years now, over several occasions, and each and every time leave having experienced a beautiful and momentous stay. I am always deeply saddened to leave but ever more eager to return soon! The views over the Gulf of Naples are breathtaking, the gardens and lemons and orange groves are amazing, and the breakfasts are phenomenal. Come to Villa Oriana Relais if you are seeking to have a personal experience of beautiful Sorrento hospitality! I couldn't recommend it more strongly and would give it 6* if I could!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FrGregory
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villaorianarelais, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Villa Oriana Relais, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Dear Fr. Gregory,

for us it was a great pleasure to host you again. Here, all of us we love you and we consider you as a member of our big family. We are happy to see you are making all your projects and the last one you showed us seems to be wonderful.

We wish you good luck and hope to hug you soon.

A presto,

Maria Pasquale and all the family of Villa Oriana.

Maddalena D’Urso
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2014

The moment you enter this house you realize how amazing the views of the bay are as you sit outside sipping the freshly made lemonade and of-course taking a big bite of the famous delicious cake! We took the local train from Naples, it might be the cheapest and fastest way to get to Sorrento but the train was very full and we had to go standing all the way. We took a cab from station to the hotel, it is a 5 minute ride and you will need it if you are carrying heavy luggage. I think there are only 6 rooms in the property and the owner Maria still lives there. Every morning she bakes those cakes!

Whilst the room was simple but comfortable, the bathroom in our room was very modern and looked like had been recently renovated.The staff at Villa Oriana really made our stay special. Milena was the best and was of great help whenever we needed her advice and assistance.

If you are looking for a modern 4 star property then you would be disappointed here but if you are looking for great service, great views and really great breakfast then this might be your place. This house sits at the top of the hill and is a bit far away from local restaurants. You really need to call a cab each time you want to go to Sorrento.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vdm_hols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villaorianarelais, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Villa Oriana Relais, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Dear guests,

Your words and compliments make us happy and satisfied. Thank you so much. Whenever you want to come back and find again great service, views and breakfast we are always here waiting for you.

Greetings from Maria, Milena and all the staff.

A presto,

Maddalena D’Urso
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 22, 2014

Stayed at the Villa as a special occasion for my wife's birthday. Room was great, big, very clean, with a balcony that gave superb views over Naples Bay. Maria ( the owner ) and her staff were the nicest people and could not be more willing to help advise and arrange our travel and visit requirements. For the actual birthday they arranged a lovely bouquet of flowers for the room and Maria made a special birthday cake to make the whole occasion very memorable.

Breakfast was excellent with local marmalade, Maria's wonderful home made cakes and fresh fruit available every morning. This was accompanied by the breakfast rooms spectacular views over the bay.

The orange & lemon groves of the hotel grounds gave a wonderful entrance and smell.

As mentioned in several reviews part of the charm of the hotel is its location high up a reasonably steep hill. Obviously this means it is not in the hustle of Sorrento but equally means that it is more difficult to access from the local station or town if no car was available. However the staff were more than willing to arrange taxis or restaurant collections if needed.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank richard h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villaorianarelais, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Villa Oriana Relais, responded to this review, June 15, 2014
Dear guests,

It was a pleasure for us you chose our villa for your wife’s birthday and for this reason we tried to do our best to make it special and memorable.

Thank you for you kindness.

Hope to see you soon maybe for another special event.

Ciao!

Maddalena D'Urso
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
1.6 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#25 of 100 in Sorrento
2,991 reviews
1.6 mi away
Boutique Hotel Helios
Boutique Hotel Helios
#7 of 100 in Sorrento
226 reviews
1.0 mi away
Palazzo Marziale
Palazzo Marziale
#2 of 100 in Sorrento
520 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria
1.1 mi away
Bellevue Syrene
Bellevue Syrene
#4 of 100 in Sorrento
1,062 reviews
0.8 mi away
Antiche Mura Hotel
Antiche Mura Hotel
#10 of 100 in Sorrento
2,276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Oriana Relais? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Oriana Relais

Property: Villa Oriana Relais
Address: Via Privata Rubinacci 1, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
#10 Family Hotel in Sorrento
#11 Business Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa Oriana Relais 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An elegant and essential accommodation, refined and with all the comfort and welcoming of an exclusive retreat. Villa Oriana Relais is located in Sorrento, only 5 minutes by car from Tasso Square, the main square of the town and has a breathtaking view of the bay of Naples.The d'Esposito family, has managed this wonderful Relais with passion for years, welcomes the guests like friends. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cancelon, Hotwire, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Villa Oriana Relais reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Oriana Relais Hotel Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing