We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“surprisingly good”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Villa Oriana Relais
Ranked #4 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Athens, Greece
1 review
“surprisingly good”
Reviewed May 15, 2014

We were looking for a budget hotel in Sorrento just to spent one night , see Sorrento , and then continue our trip from Amalfi to Rome. The only budget thing about the hotel was the price.
The hotel was just perfect. The girls at the reception were very helpful and kind, the breakfast was so traditional and rich , the rooms were clean , and the lemon garden just astonishing. When our trip was over we concluded that we should have spent more days in Villa Oriana.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ManosMas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villaorianarelais, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Villa Oriana Relais, responded to this review, May 25, 2014
Dear guests,

It is a pleasure to read your words.

Of course, we wait for you again and for a longer stay.

Ciao!

Maddalena D'Urso
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

972 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    800
    124
    27
    14
    7
See reviews for
247
494
17
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Syracuse, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 12, 2014

We stayed at Villa Oriana in April while visiting our daughter who was studying abroad in Rome. We wanted a mini vacation from Rome since our daughter was on break when we visited. The Villa Oriana is absolutely heaven on earth. We are still thinking about our wonderful stay there and it was a highlight of our trip. When the taxi dropped us, we entered the gates to the villa. With suitcases in tow, we walked a beautifully manicured pathway lined with lemon and orange groves. The entire place is just gorgeous and filled with lemon, orange and olive trees. Not to mention a breathtaking view of Naples and Mt. Vesuvius and the bay. Spectacular! When we walked to the entrance of the villa, Maria (the owner) and Milena met us and extended a very warm welcome. Our room was beautiful and clean and quiet. The breakfast each morning was homemade and delicious. A wide variety of homemade cakes, eggs, breads, jams, and more was served each morning in a beautifully decorated room with a gorgeous view. The hotel is a short 15 - 20 minute walk into Sorrento or a short taxi ride. Maria and Milena and everyone were extremely helpful and gave us tips for planning our excursions each day as well as dinner recommendations. We had a junior suite as there were four of us and the room was large with a large newly renovated bathroom. Our room was extremely clean and beautifully decorated. It was also quiet. Our stay here was one of the highlights of our trip. We would most definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cindy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villaorianarelais, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Villa Oriana Relais, responded to this review, May 25, 2014
Dear guests,

We would definitely wait for your family here at Villa Oriana.

You were so kind and we hope to have soon the opportunity to host you maybe for your next visit to your daughter. Thank you for the beautiful and sweet words about us, our villa and our breakfast. It was a wonderful, wonderful comment.

Hope to see you soon.

Maddalena D’Urso
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
81 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2014

It was either a happy accident that we stayed here, or the planets aligned to make it happen. I’ll always remember this place fondly. When we arrived we were dropped off by the taxi at the entry gate to the villa. We started to push the button on the security box next to the security gate to announce our arrival, but we noticed the gate slightly ajar so we entered and walked along a paved path lined with lemon and orange trees all the way to the front door. The orange blossoms were in bloom so the whole place smelled perfumed. The grounds of the villa descended from our left to right toward the ocean so the view through the lemon/orange trees was simply stunning. Across the Bay of Naples to our far right we could see Mount Vesuvius partially hidden by clouds, and toward the left was the island of Ischia. The quietness of the grounds made us immediately love the setting. Traffic could be heard, but it was distant. This was all within the first three minutes of our arrival… The entire five days we stayed were similar to the first few minutes. We spent two evenings on the villa's rooftop balcony watching the sunset, relaxing and enjoying some local wine (Lacryma Christi del Vesuvio), which my wife very much liked, and Italian beer.

The villa is owned by a woman named Maria who might make the best breakfast tarts, quiches and cakes on Earth. Her staff is well trained, super friendly, and if you have a question about anything they drop what they are doing and find the answer for you. They did this for us on numerous occasions.

The rooms are spotlessly clean, though perhaps a bit small. We didn't mind though because it was comfortable. The bathroom was also small, but very clean and had modern fixtures. It even had a towel warmer. Technically the villa is in Sorrento's sister village of Sant A'ngelo and is a 20 minute walk to Sorrento's shopping district, but that's one thing we enjoyed about it - it wasn't too close to the noisy tourist crowds. From the town center a taxi cost approximately 16 Euros which was a bargain in our minds.

With the hospitality of the staff, the location, the view and everything else we thought this was the perfect choice for a relaxing stay in Italy on the Amalfi Coast. It may not be for everyone, but I highly recommend Villa Oriana. Plus, all the taxi drivers know where it is!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kemoszabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villaorianarelais, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Villa Oriana Relais, responded to this review, May 25, 2014
What an amazing comment!

We could not expect better words.

Thank you so much. It is a pleasure for us to see you enjoyed this happy accident.

Maybe, by chance, in the near future, you could fall again in an orange and lemon orchard and find a white house away from the city traffic and Maria with her staff waiting with their suggestions for an always better and more relaxing stay.

If you decide to come back please, insert the promo code TRIP 25 into our promo code box to have a special discount.

A presto!

Maddalena D'Urso
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 27, 2014

A beautiful, peaceful hotel about 20 minute walk from the bustle of Sorrento. Set in a lemon and orange grove it is a little oasis. Everything. It has pretty rooms and the most amazing breakfasts, with homemade quiches, bread and cakes. Maria and the rest of the staff are lovely and very helpful.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villaorianarelais, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Villa Oriana Relais, responded to this review, May 21, 2014
Dear guests,

You are so lovely and kind.

We hope to see you soon again at Villa Oriana.

Ciao!

Maddalena D’Urso
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2014

We went to Villa Oriana in April 2014 with my wife, my mother and my mother in-law. Our staying was perfect. Milena (hostess), María (hostess) and Maria (owner) make our trip to Sorrento very enjoyable.
Villa Oriana is situated on a hill, so the view of the bay and the Vesuvius is superb. They have lemon trees all over the place and make their own food with organic fruits and vegetables of their own orchard.
The breakfast is a unique experience of Sorrentine cuisine. Everything is homemade at the moment. Desserts are as hommy as they can get, and they are so delicious.
The rooms are big and clean, as well as the bathroom. If you are lucky you can get a room with a nice view to the bay, but if that is not the case, you can also get different views that are worth seeing. The rooms also have a balcony.
The attention and tips for enjoying Sorrento and Amalfitan Coast were priceless. With their local knowledge they made us feel like locals too.
Keep in mind that: 1) The B&B is in a hill, so, if you don't have a car it can get a little tricky to get into the B&B (but the effort will pay off because of the views and the attention you will receive); 2) It is located "outside" Sorrento, but is not that far away from main square (a 20 min walk should be enough to reach it).

Room Tip: If possible, ask for a room with a view to the bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LuisGonzali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villaorianarelais, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Villa Oriana Relais, responded to this review, May 21, 2014
Dear guests,

Thank you for everything. It is a pleasure for us you enjoyed our villa with its view, our breakfast with its local and homemade productsa and the staff with all the attention and recommendations we give to our guests. Please if you want to come back use the promo code TRIP25 into our promo code box. You'll have a special discount.

Grazie mille.

Arrivederci!

Maddalena D’Urso
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterloo, Belgium
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2014

My family and I were booked to stay here the week before Easter, but due to a plumbing issue they had us moved to the hotel down the street (Cristina Hotel see my review). However, I feel it necessary to still review because their hospitality was spot on! They invited us to have breakfast there each day. We declined the first day since the hotel we were put up at had breakfast, but for the next 3 days we enjoyed homemade breakfasts there! Maria is in her kitchen at 5 a.m. each morning baking cakes, quiches, cookies using the freshest ingredients with lemons, mandarins and oranges from her groves. Fresh buffalo mozzarella and tomatoes from her garden and homemade jams! The staff loves their job as one of them told me "it is family". I didn't get to see a room, but I have a feeling I would have been as comfortable as my own home after having experienced the hospitality of these women! Maria will walk you around her homes grounds which include a hundred plus year old olive tree that is a part of the family! Lemon trees that line the road along with the orange trees all of this over looks the bay! Marie also gave us a wonderful tip on where to eat dinner....Delphina's a must!
I will be coming back to Sorrento!!!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MOJO95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villaorianarelais, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Villa Oriana Relais, responded to this review, May 21, 2014
Dear guests,

Thank you very much for your comment and for your beautiful words. You made us so proud and happy.
It is a pleasure for us you could see how much Maria and all the staff love their job and their guests.

We hope to host you again to have the opportunity to show you again our hospitality and to let you stay again in a home away from home.

A presto.

Maddalena D'Urso
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2014

We stayed in Villa Oriana in late March and it was one of the definite highlights on our trip to Italy. The accommodation was clean, well furnished and with sweeping views of beautiful Sorrento. It was well-located, only about a 15 minute walk to the town centre.
Each morning we would look forward to a warm and welcoming common room with a working fireplace and the most beautiful breakfast. Maria, the owner would wake up each morning to freshly bake and cook all the guests an extravagant breakfast using her own lemons and olive oil from the beautiful orchards that surround the hotel.
All members of the staff were extremely helpful and accommodating to any requests we had. They gave us excellent restaurant recommendations and were very understanding when we had to cut our stay short by one day due to extraneous circumstances.
We will be recommending this place to all of our friends and hope to be back one day in the near future.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ivo15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villaorianarelais, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Villa Oriana Relais, responded to this review, May 4, 2014
Dear guests,

Maria and the staff thank you so much for your nice comment.

We were so happy to cook for you and to help you with information and suggestions about your stay.

We hope to see you soon.

Ciao!

Maddalena D'Urso
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
1.1 mi away
Bellevue Syrene
Bellevue Syrene
#3 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,018 reviews
0.8 mi away
Antiche Mura Hotel
Antiche Mura Hotel
#10 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,253 reviews
1.6 mi away
Boutique Hotel Helios
Boutique Hotel Helios
#7 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#25 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,899 reviews
1.0 mi away
Palazzo Marziale
Palazzo Marziale
#2 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 496 reviews
1.0 mi away
Grand Hotel La Favorita
Grand Hotel La Favorita
#6 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,598 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Oriana Relais? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Oriana Relais

Property: Villa Oriana Relais
Address: Via Privata Rubinacci 1, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
#10 Family Hotel in Sorrento
#11 Business Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa Oriana Relais 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An elegant and essential accommodation, refined and with all the comfort and welcoming of an exclusive retreat. Villa Oriana Relais is located in Sorrento, only 5 minutes by car from Tasso Square, the main square of the town and has a breathtaking view of the bay of Naples.The d'Esposito family, has managed this wonderful Relais with passion for years, welcomes the guests like friends. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, Hotels.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Villa Oriana Relais reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Oriana Relais Hotel Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing