We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent, except for bathroom.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Villa Oriana Relais

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Villa Oriana Relais
Ranked #5 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Detroit, MI
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Excellent, except for bathroom.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2012

I second all of the great comments about the location, views, staff, and breakfast (fantastic). But I can't get past the fact the shower stall was full of mold/mildew in all the corners and crevices. Someone in housekeeping needs to take an old toothbrush and detail clean these stalls. It was simply gross to take a shower. I have to mention it because so many reviews here make this place seem like the best thing ever. It is very good, but can be better.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rich064
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

946 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    776
    122
    27
    14
    7
See reviews for
234
483
17
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2012

From the moment you arrive you are greeted by the wonderful staff and made to feel welcome. The breakfast which Maria prepares daily is just great and she will share her recipes if you have a favorite. Their recommendations for restaurants were terrific and shuttle service was a plus. The view from the veranda is fantastic....Bay of Naples, Vesuvius. The rooms were comfortable, clean, and well maintained. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay there and do not hesitate to recommend it.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jandaobrien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2012

Stayed here for 4 nights at the end of August, it's a lovely place. It's location is quite high up so it has great views of the sea, which is also the view from the veranda where breakfast is served. The staff are unbelievably friendly and helpful, the room was large - pretty simple but absolutely fine, large bathroom. The best thing about this place is the food! The breakfast is awesome! The cakes and pies are all freshly baked that morning, coffee is great, and there is plenty of it. Lovely roof top sun terrace also with a great view. No pool but the is an outdoor jacuzzi. I wold highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RBBbbbbbbbbb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
77 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2012

Spending time in Sorrento and the Amalfi Coast was made all the more sweet with time spent at the Villa Oriana Relais. Situated on a cozy hill in Sorrento the main villa boasts a sweeping breakfast room view of Capri and the Bay of Naples. Upon our arrival we were greeted by Elio and Maria who made us feel comfortable by serving us fresh squeezed lemonade and taking a load off from the moment we arrived. Much to our surprise we were upgraded to one of their large villas just up the hill a few steps away. Talk about a home away from home! Our spacious villa was larger than most American apartments. With two bedrooms, 2 large bathrooms, a full living room with views of Capri and an oversized veranda that also overlooked Capri as well as Mt. Vesuvius! I cannot say enough about our 3 nights spent there! They were absolutely serene and spectacular all at the same time!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KimH925
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gosnells, Western Australia, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2012

Little hard to get to if you drive yourself (the italians are crazy drivers !) but the views from the breakfast balcony are fantastic. The staff are incredibly helpful, the rooms well looked after and pleasant. The views and surrounds are fantastic. Easy to get from the hotel to local restaurants as most have a driver service. Short walk down to the town centre. And have I mentioned that the views are fantastic ?
A couple of days spent at Villa Oriana in the summer does more to de-stress you than a couple of weeks anywhere else.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turin, Italy
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2012

If you want to relax in a wonderful place with a panoramic view of the bay, if you want to look the Vesuvio while you're in a jacuzzi, deep in the tipically vegetation of Sorrento, you have to go here.
besides, the staff is very very kind!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank robywin99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2012

It is impossible to speak too highly of the Villa Oriana. Rather than resort to lengthy hyperbole, I would simply say that the level of service, and attention to detail, shown by Maria and her girls cannot be bettered. Anywhere. Go there, but please, don't tell your friends. Otherwise they might be full when we try to book to go back. For UK readers even by Mary Portas's exacting standards, she would rate this excellent!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pill2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
1.2 mi away
Bellevue Syrene
Bellevue Syrene
#3 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 970 reviews
0.9 mi away
Antiche Mura Hotel
Antiche Mura Hotel
#8 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,204 reviews
1.6 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#25 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,807 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Boutique Hotel Helios
Boutique Hotel Helios
#7 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
1.5 mi away
Maison La Minervetta
Maison La Minervetta
#1 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 886 reviews
1.1 mi away
Grand Hotel La Favorita
Grand Hotel La Favorita
#6 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,556 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Oriana Relais? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Oriana Relais

Property: Villa Oriana Relais
Address: Via Privata Rubinacci 1, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
#10 Family Hotel in Sorrento
#11 Business Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa Oriana Relais 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An elegant and essential accommodation, refined and with all the comfort and welcoming of an exclusive retreat. Villa Oriana Relais is located in Sorrento, only 5 minutes by car from Tasso Square, the main square of the town and has a breathtaking view of the bay of Naples.The d'Esposito family, has managed this wonderful Relais with passion for years, welcomes the guests like friends. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Despegar.com and Booking.com so you can book your Villa Oriana Relais reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Oriana Relais Hotel Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing