We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Place, Beautiful View, Beautiful Family”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Villa Oriana Relais
Ranked #4 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
83 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Beautiful Place, Beautiful View, Beautiful Family”
Reviewed October 18, 2012

Spending time in Sorrento and the Amalfi Coast was made all the more sweet with time spent at the Villa Oriana Relais. Situated on a cozy hill in Sorrento the main villa boasts a sweeping breakfast room view of Capri and the Bay of Naples. Upon our arrival we were greeted by Elio and Maria who made us feel comfortable by serving us fresh squeezed lemonade and taking a load off from the moment we arrived. Much to our surprise we were upgraded to one of their large villas just up the hill a few steps away. Talk about a home away from home! Our spacious villa was larger than most American apartments. With two bedrooms, 2 large bathrooms, a full living room with views of Capri and an oversized veranda that also overlooked Capri as well as Mt. Vesuvius! I cannot say enough about our 3 nights spent there! They were absolutely serene and spectacular all at the same time!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KimH925
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

994 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    821
    125
    27
    14
    7
See reviews for
252
504
17
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gosnells, Western Australia, Australia
1 review
Reviewed October 17, 2012

Little hard to get to if you drive yourself (the italians are crazy drivers !) but the views from the breakfast balcony are fantastic. The staff are incredibly helpful, the rooms well looked after and pleasant. The views and surrounds are fantastic. Easy to get from the hotel to local restaurants as most have a driver service. Short walk down to the town centre. And have I mentioned that the views are fantastic ?
A couple of days spent at Villa Oriana in the summer does more to de-stress you than a couple of weeks anywhere else.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turin, Italy
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2012

If you want to relax in a wonderful place with a panoramic view of the bay, if you want to look the Vesuvio while you're in a jacuzzi, deep in the tipically vegetation of Sorrento, you have to go here.
besides, the staff is very very kind!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank robywin99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2012

It is impossible to speak too highly of the Villa Oriana. Rather than resort to lengthy hyperbole, I would simply say that the level of service, and attention to detail, shown by Maria and her girls cannot be bettered. Anywhere. Go there, but please, don't tell your friends. Otherwise they might be full when we try to book to go back. For UK readers even by Mary Portas's exacting standards, she would rate this excellent!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pill2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2012

Myself and partner booked three nights for the beginning portion of our trip exploring beautiful Amalfi coast - we were so overwhelmed with this excellent 'find' that we came back and stayed our last night at Villa Oriana as well. The post from Richard (camera bag) does not suprise me - evidence of delightful Maria and her wonderful staff (Carmella, Maria (No 2!) and Madelana) doing their very best to ensure guests have a relaxing and enjoyable stay - our thanks to all of them. Other recent posts relay our feelings exactly about the people and Villa Oriana generally. Maria runs her establishment in full knowledge of the importance of employing the right people, as well as going to great effort herself to provide the personal touch, getting to know her guests and providing the best breakfast fayre ever!!! (homemade cakes/pies to die for!). The location is perfect too.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlexDevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westlake Village, California
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2012

Life before we go to the Villa Oriana Relais......
We had just got back from Cinque Terre. The hotel in Monterosso was on the water, convenient, nice views, close to everything....but the staff kinda sucked. Can I say that? They were cold, rude, disconnected, resentful. Uughhh. We realized the STAFF makes or breaks a place. A place can be beautiful but if the staff is negative, your stay will be negative.

Along comes Villa Oriana Relais: Wow! Heaven! It's a windy cab ride up the Sorrento Hills to a gate, the gate opens and you are ahhhhh, home. Carmella greeted us at the top of the hill. In we came, all quiet and happy at 8pm. She told us to relax on the patio gave us some drinks and pie and she'd get the paperwork. We looked down at the distant harbor and the lights all the way to Naples, cool. After 10 hours of traveling, nice.

All was fine until she asked for the credit card: NO! I left our Camera bag, somewhere!? I went ballistic. It had been a long long trip from northern Italy to this beautiful place and in the last 30 minutes I had lost all our cameras, photos, wallet, everything! Panic, exhausted. My loud voice could have been heard throughout the grounds I'm sure. I was panicked. Poor Carmella, she felt for us and calmly but nervously called the cab company and left a message, then she called the wonderful owner, Maria who would drive to the cafe and see if I'd left it there.
Long story short: The Cab driver found it in the back of the cab and brought it back.
Bottom Line: Carmella and Maria rallied to help us. They were quietly helpful. They ignored my outburst and got the job done with that cheerful disposition that is so wonderful in Italians.

After a couple of glasses of wine and a nice little meal/snack they put together for us at no cost
I reflected on the difference. Had this happened in Monterossa, the cameras, pictures and wallet would have been long gone. The hotel staff would have stared at us like cows at a passing train.

So none of that describes the place, but it describes the truly lovely people there, Maria, who is the owner and who also cooks the amazing breakfasts with multiple cakes and pies, yummmm. Carmella who rallied the big win for us that night and helped us every day and the sweet young brunette (Maria too?) who was all smiles and kindness.

It all boils down from Maria, the owner. She is a special lady that knows how to hire a special team.

Our room had a private yard of sorts off the french doors. The place was big, clean and quiet. My lovely wife connected with the vibe of the place and became friends with the ladies very quickly. We also enjoyed all the lemon trees and walking the Villa grounds.

My wife and I enjoyed the cold jacuzzi in the sun one day. It's on the roof and we were alone and it was so relaxing. It seems like people tend to leave for the day exploring nearby Capri, the Amalfi Coast and charming Sorrento. On our last day Maria insisted on driving us to the train station to go back to Rome, how nice is that?

We will go back and we will stay at the Villa Oriana Relais with their lovely staff.

Tip: There is a rather long ride from the villa down to the town below. Three restaurants have deals with the Villa, they will pick you up for dinner and drive you back afterwards. The savings alone will just about pay for your dinner! We did that and after we ate, went shopping, then went back to the restaurant and they took us home, how nice!

Tip: Don't leave your camera bag in the cab.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RichardU940
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 6, 2012

We stayed here this July 2012. We have been meaning to write a review and have been long overdue because it is daunting to even know where to begin as there are so many wonderful things to say about Villa Oriana Relais. We travel very frequently (roughly a dozen trips a year) and this has by far been the best hotel experience we have had compared to similar price ranges and even more expensive price ranges. The purpose of our trip was to be based in Sorrento in order to travel to Capri, Pompeii, and up the Amalfi Coast. We found Villa Oriana Relais after reading so many wonderful reviews and decided to give it a try. Wow did we make one of the best vacation decisions! This lovely property was beyond our expectations, and we found ourselves trying to come up with excuses to rearrange our action packed itinerary just so we could spend a relaxing day at the hotel.

We had arrived to the port of Sorrento from the port of Naples and easily took a taxi to the Villa. As we did not have a car, during the taxi drive over we were concerned about getting to and from destinations as the villa is not in the center of town, but we soon learned that this was no trouble at all. First, there is a free shuttle service that leaves 3-4 times a day next door to the villa and drops off at the center of town. Second, we found many local restaurants offered a free service to pick you up and drop you off for dinner. Third, taxis were quite cheap should we have needed one. And lastly, the villa is actually quite close (roughly .5 mile) to a smaller train station that seemed to serve all of the same destinations as the main Sorrento train station (S.Agnello).

Upon arrival at the villa, we quickly understood why this property was so special and why the short distance out of the center of town was well worth it. When you arrive at the villa, you will walk through a charming lemon grove...something you don't get to experience if you live in the city! When you approach the villa you will see the most breathtaking views of the ocean, Mount Vesuvius, and Naples. When we arrived we were greeted by Maria who was so hospitable. She served us fresh lemonade and homemade lemon cake out on the terrace overlooking the ocean as she explained the property and nearby attractions. She was incredibly helpful with recommending fabulous restaurants, things to do, and how to get to places as we are often not very good planners! This truly made our vacation even more wonderful.

Our room was lovely, clean, with an ensuite bathroom and little private porch area. Everyone who worked at the villa was so friendly, personable, and paid attention to every detail. Over and above all, what made this place even more outstanding was the breakfast. We have travelled quite a bit and stayed at many hotels of a comparative price, and we have never had such an amazing breakfast experience. My boyfriend still talks about how absolutely amazing the food was, and I think he wishes to go back most for the wonderful food! Everything served was homemade spread upon a large dinner table- we had fresh fruit based cakes, fresh chocolate cakes, freshly made mozzarella, homemade quiches, fruit, and more and more! We enjoyed this delicious food every morning while sitting on the terrace taking in the breathtaking views of the ocean. Not a bad way to start your day.

We absolutely loved Villa Oriana Relais and would recommend this to anyone. We hope to come back again some day!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank J W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
1.6 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#25 of 100 in Sorrento
3,053 reviews
0.8 mi away
Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria
1.6 mi away
Boutique Hotel Helios
Boutique Hotel Helios
#7 of 100 in Sorrento
230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Palazzo Marziale
Palazzo Marziale
#2 of 100 in Sorrento
527 reviews
0.5 mi away
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
#11 of 100 in Sorrento
1,502 reviews
1.1 mi away
Bellevue Syrene
Bellevue Syrene
#5 of 100 in Sorrento
1,084 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Oriana Relais? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Oriana Relais

Property: Villa Oriana Relais
Address: Via Privata Rubinacci 1, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
#10 Family Hotel in Sorrento
#11 Business Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa Oriana Relais 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An elegant and essential accommodation, refined and with all the comfort and welcoming of an exclusive retreat. Villa Oriana Relais is located in Sorrento, only 5 minutes by car from Tasso Square, the main square of the town and has a breathtaking view of the bay of Naples.The d'Esposito family, has managed this wonderful Relais with passion for years, welcomes the guests like friends. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Villa Oriana Relais reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Oriana Relais Hotel Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing