We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean , close and great crepes!”
Review of Hotel Savoia

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Savoia
Ranked #82 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
pittsburgh
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Clean , close and great crepes!”
Reviewed May 25, 2009

The Hotel Savoia provides the traveler with an outstanding value. The hotel is located within easy walking distance of Sorrento's historic district. Our room was clean and had a balcony. Sarah, the proprietor of the hotel, even cooked us some excellent crepe pancakes.
The price was right and the people are nice.

Geoff and Susan

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gmuessig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

293 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    109
    119
    37
    13
    15
See reviews for
71
114
10
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington, D.C.
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed January 9, 2009

After reading the great reviews of Hotel Savoia on this website, I booked six nights there for my husband and I from 12/26/08 - 1/1/09. We had an absolutely wonderful time. The hotel lived up to all our expectations. Hotel Savoia is perfectly situated about four or five blocks up from the main square in Sorrento and about a five minute walk to the train and bus station. The hotel itself is small and intimate. The rooms are fairly small, but pristine, excellently cared for, pretty, and very comfortable. We were given more towels than we needed, and they were refreshed every day. There were spare pillows and blankets and an easy-to-use safe in the cabinet. We had a room with a small balcony that looked out onto the street and provided a perfect spot to take in the unofficial fireworks display of New Year's Eve.

Breakfast in the morning was perfect: yogurt, cereal, freshly baked pastries, sometimes meats, fruit, and any coffee drink you wanted made fresh in the kitchen (not from one of those vending machine coffee dispensers). The owners, Rosa and Pepe (and Rosa's brother, Dominic, and wife, Rosalyn, who were in visiting) laid out tables for as many guests as they had and even offered to bring us breakfast in bed if we requested. Also, free wi-fi in the breakfast room!

The rooms are lovely, the breakfast great, but the staff at Hotel Savoia is the real reason to stay there. They are overwhelmingly kind and helpful. They recommended excellent restaurants and made reservations for us whenever we wanted to go. On my husband's birthday, they informed the restaurant staff who then made a special cake just for him. They called attractions for us to make sure places were open and genuinely seemed interested in making our stay in Sorrento as wonderful as possible.

Our stay in Sorrento was just perfect, and our experience at Hotel Savoia made it so!

  • Liked — The welcoming, helpful, warm staff
  • Disliked — The size of the room
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Ricabella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geelong
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2008

Booked two rooms direct with owners for 4 night stay.
Everything worked well. Check in was a pleasant enough experience, we were welcomed and shown to our rooms.
Rooms were very well kept, clean and a reasonable size.
Hotel is in a relatively quiet street, about a 4-5 minute leasurely walk from the main square.
We had arranged to drop our cars off at the Maggiore office, which is about 6 doors up from hotel, at 5pm Sat. night.
The Office did not open, so we went back to hotel to make some phone calls.
Pepe (owner) was very helpful, he took over by making quite a few telephone calls on our behalf, he spent about 1 hour discussing and arguing with relevent people. He was very helpful and reasuring. No charge for this service (not even for the phone calls)
Both Pepe and Rosamaria were very helpful hosts, in the advice offered about tours and day trips.
Hotel felt safe and secure at all times of day and night.
It was fantastic to go down for breakfast, and be greeted warmly, and the Breakfast spread was wonderful.
Would not risk staying anywhere else in Sorrento and we will be back.
ASB Geelong

  • Liked — Location, Quiet at night
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ASBGeelong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2008

Perfect place to stay (but don't expect great views from your room), Very clean overall, modern interiors, generally quiet, and excellent breakfasts. Very close to the centre. Warm, helpful and friendly staff. Highly recommended.

  • Liked — Proximity to town and railway station
  • Disliked — Views
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PaulTheMajor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2008

We stayed at Hotel Savoia for 2 nights during our 2 week trip around Italy and it was far and away the best hotel of our trip. The hotel isn't the most lavish place, nor does it have the greatest views, but it is exactly what you need as a homebase for your sightseeing trip to Sorrento and the Amalfi Coast. It is a reasonably priced, clean and safe option, (with an amazing breakfast - more on that later...), far exceeding what you would expect for a 2-star hotel.

Located at most about a 5 minute walk from the centre of Sorrento, Hotel Savoia occupies part of a residential apartment building on a quiet street. When we walked in, we were a little surprised to see that there was no-one at the front desk. A few seconds later, Rosamaria, one of the owners walked out of what seemed to be an industrial-sized kitchen, apologizing for making us wait and saying that she was just cooking some tomato sauce for her family. Talk about a genuine Italian experience!

Our room was on the 4th (top) floor of the building, accessible by stairs, or a coin operated old-fashioned elevator. We were both a little skeptical of this at first, but were given a handful of 5 cent coins to use during our stay (a nice touch), we found that the daily elevator ride was actually fun. If you aren’t comfortable with a ride like this, the stairs are an easy alternative. Security in the building is top notch, with a key card opening the front door, the door to enter the rooms on your floor, as well as the door to your actual room. The area is quite safe as well (as is all of tourist-filled Sorrento).

Now to the best part of the hotel: Breakfast! Every morning, there is a free buffet breakfast included in your stay. We walked into the breakfast room on our first morning to see 2 tables full of freshly baked goods (croissants, muffins, Italian pastries and many more), fresh fruit (melons, peaches, etc.), yogurt, cereal, juice, +++. This far exceeded our expectations! That wasn’t it. After sitting down, we were asked for our choice of coffee or cappuccino, and also if we wanted pancakes or eggs, both freshly made. Everything was delicious!

We would definitely recommend Hotel Savoia for your stay in Sorrento, and would absolutely stay here again.

  • Liked — The Breakfast, the staff, cleanliness of the hotel, location.
  • Disliked — Nothing!
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gt13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Mn
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2008

When booking this hotel, I didn't like the way they replied my email. Kind of nasty. I was asking for a confirmation and I got a reply like this..
"As I already told you we only take the credit card as a guarantee, we never charge before unless there is a no- show without cancellation.
About the reservation number you only have it if you book through the agency but as you came direct to us the e-mail of confirmation is far enough!!!"
Since I don't have other choice for the intended date, I just went ahead and booked the hotel. the elevator is coined operated and bothersome if you don't have a spare coin. we were at the 4th floor.

  • Disliked — coined operated elevator
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank annie_battungbakal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney, australia
1 review
Reviewed September 2, 2008

Hotel is in very old building which has a mixture of private appartments and hotel rooms on the same levels. The entire building has a slummy look both on the inside and out. The comments you read about on this website is actually regarding description within the rooms which have been tastfully decorated and renovated. However, the general ambience of the building was awful.
We stayed in room 25 on 2nd floor which overlooked somebody's private appartment balcony which was cluttered with old washing machine, mops, brooms, bucket and other household odds and ends as well as laundry hanging out to dry. The occupants of the appartment sat in their lounge room 5-6 meters away from our balcony and we could hear their conversations. Not what I expected to see from my hotel balcony during my dream holiday. Lift was circa 1930, only takes 1 adult and two suitcases at a time and is coin operated but does not quite reach the floor level (you need to step up on to your floor to get off) and makes the scariest nosie, jolts and bumps to get you there. Had to move to another hotel for the remainder of our stay and lost money for cancelling booking. I chose the Savoia based on past comments made on this website. Got a room 4 blocks away overlooking the Mediterranean, Bay of Naples and Vesuvious and was 10 euros cheaper per night.

  • Liked — Decor of room
  • Disliked — View from balcony
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank miuna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.6 mi away
Ulisse Deluxe Hostel
Ulisse Deluxe Hostel
#34 of 100 in Sorrento
1,345 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Spicy Sorrento
Hotel Spicy Sorrento
#75 of 100 in Sorrento
82 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel del Corso
Hotel del Corso
#69 of 100 in Sorrento
368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Villa Maria
Hotel Villa Maria
#73 of 100 in Sorrento
636 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Sorrento City
Hotel Sorrento City
#44 of 100 in Sorrento
776 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel il Faro
Hotel il Faro
#84 of 100 in Sorrento
466 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Savoia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Savoia

Property: Hotel Savoia
Address: Via Fuori Mura 46, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#36 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Savoia 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Savoia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Savoia Hotel Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing