We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stay like a local” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Savoia

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Hotel Savoia
Ranked #80 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
122 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Stay like a local”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2011

Not your usual hotel. The Savarese family owns this and they are very helpful, friendly, and hard working. The check-in desk and breakfast room are next door to the actual guest rooms. It's like staying in an apartment building. Your key opens the front door, then the hall door, and finally, your room door, so I felt secure. There is a tiny elevator (like one we used in a hotel in Rome) but we just used the stairs. The air conditioning and lights turn on when you insert your key in the slot inside the room. Our room had a balcony, which I loved to feel the fresh air. Next door is a small grocery store, so the day we arrived, we bought sandwiches and wine and ate on our balcony ! The next day, we bought a bottle of wine there, and they even chilled it for us, and opened it ! The room was average size for Europe, which is smaller than U.S. hotel rooms. Clean, functional, and comfortable. We appreciated the plentiful breakfast. The server also asked if we would like eggs or pancakes in addition to the tables of baked goods, fruit, juice, meat and cheese. The biggest advantage is the location: quiet, but a few minutes walk from the train, and a few minutes walk to the center of Sorrento. Also, dine at the owner’s restaurant, ReFood. He will greet you warmly, and the food is great.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bluemermaid25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

279 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    107
    113
    32
    12
    15
See reviews for
65
111
7
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sammamish, WA
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2011

Hotel Savoia is a nice hotel, the people that work there are very helpful and I always love staying in a hotel in a foreign country that is not a chain like a Hilton or Best Western but rather owned by locals.
When we checked in and started getting settled in our room we notice a very foul smell, plumbing and called the front desk. They immediately moved us to another room, no questions asked and we were happy because this one had a balcony. The room was cleaned and the towels were changed every day. The continental breakfast was good. We did not have a refrigerator/mini bar in our room but I don't think they advertise this as an ammenity.
I really picked Hotel Savoia because of it's location and reasonable price. Our room was on the street side and I did not find the street noise to be a problem.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DKraySammamish_WA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lochgilphead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2011

We booked this hotel after reading all the excellent reviews on Trip Advisor. We were not disappointed. The staff were all hard working and friendly. The room we stayed in was next door in a block of flats which gave us the feeling of living like a native. The rooms were spotless and towels changed every day. The beds were very comfortable. I prefer a bed on the firm side rather than a soft one. No problem using the lift but we used the stairs which were no problem as we were on the second floor. The room we were in had a balcony which meant we could people watch the street below. There was some traffic on the road but it was quiet at night and did not cause any problems. We slept sound until 9.30am the first morning.
The breakfast was excellent - cereals, fresh fruit, cakes, bread, ham, chesse, juice. You could also have a boiled or fried egg and also the famous Hotel Savoia pancake. The pancakes were delicious as was the coffee.
We had no problem finding the hotel as I had looked for its location on Google Earth. It is within walking distance from the train station where buses arrive regularly throughout the day from Naples Airport. The hotel is just a five minute walk from the square.
We were very satisfied with our accommodation and when we return to Sorrento we will certainly stay in Hotel Savoia.

Room Tip: We had room 21 in Hotel Savoia which faced the front with a balcony. If you dont like traffic ask f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sunnydays365393
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2011

This hotel, as has been mentioned by other people, is part of an apartment block. There is no swimming pool, 24 hour room service etc that you would get at a large hotel but it does not suffer for this. The room we had was a good size, the cupboards were fine, the bathroom (with toilet, basin, shower etc) was fine. Importantly, it was all perfectly clean and fresh. The breakfast in the morning was plentiful and there was enough variety to make it interesting each morning. If I was forced to make a suggestion (not a criticism) it would be to have a small bar fridge in the room (it was very hot in Sorrento!).
Now the best part...the location! We met another couple who said that they were staying in a fantastic hotel but had to walk a very long distance to get into town. Well, no problem with the Savoia. It was a very short walk down to the main centre of the town which was fantastic at night. I have no hesitation in recommending this hotel for your stay in Sorrento. If every I am back there, I will certainly stay there.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RadioMark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ponte Vedra Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2011

Do not trust these hoteliers...they were not truthful with us when we were checking in...they told us they were having plumbing problems & had no water. The owner told us he would move us to another "nice" hotel just around the corner & would move us back the following day for our remaining two night stay.
We met other travelers that were staying at Hotel Savoia that night & they were experiencing no problems with the plumbing. One customer told us the hotel had over-booked for that particular evening. This would not have been so bad, except for the fact that we had confirmed reservations (booked 6 months in advance).

We were moved to the Crystal Palace & believe me, this was NO palace!!! This hotel DID NOT have air-conditioning. We originally booked Hotel Savoia because it was advertised as having air-conditioning & in September air-conditioning was much needed!!! This hotel is located on a very busy street with LOTS of street noise & an infestation of ants...needless to say, we did not sleep at all the first night.

The second night we were moved back to the originally booked Hotel Savoia without a word of apology for the inconvenience, or even an offer of a free bottle of wine!!!

I will NEVER stay at this hotel again!!!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank asp53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2011

This was a lovely hotel. Very neat and clean with excellent security. Staff were very pleasant and helpful. Located within walking distant of fabulous restaurant and terrific shops. Breakfast was more than adequate and the whole stay was a pleasure. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Neil B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2011

A well travelled friend suggested we stay at Hotel Savoia. He remains a great friend! If you do not like this hotel or the staff who work there, you need to check your pulse. The hotel is ideally located (away from the hustle and bustle, but only five minutes to the action). The rooms are spotless, the breakfast terrific and staff super friendly and charming. A real bonus is the family run restaurant in the old section of Sorrento. Very stylish, contemporary and a great experience.
Do yourself a favour and stay here. Enjoy!

Room Tip: Rooms at the rear overlook a lemon grove and are very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Sorrento City
Hotel Sorrento City
#43 of 100 in Sorrento
4.0 of 5 bubbles 723 reviews
0.3 mi away
Tasso Suites
Tasso Suites
#39 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 339 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel del Corso
Hotel del Corso
#67 of 100 in Sorrento
4.0 of 5 bubbles 355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Ulisse Deluxe Hostel
Ulisse Deluxe Hostel
#32 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,295 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel il Faro
Hotel il Faro
#84 of 100 in Sorrento
3.5 of 5 bubbles 420 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Rivoli Sorrento
Hotel Rivoli Sorrento
#40 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Savoia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Savoia

Property: Hotel Savoia
Address: Via Fuori Mura 46, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#36 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Savoia 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Savoia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Savoia Hotel Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing