We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing view”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Residence Le Terrazze
Ranked #49 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 3, 2013

We first stayed here in September 2010, we chose it for the view which is simply stunning and along with the service keeps us coming back.

This hotel is high up above Sorrento, which gives a viewpoint that you simply cannot get if you stay down in the town, there is a bus stop right outside the hotel and it only takes 20 minutes or so to get to the town centre.

There is not a restaurant in the hotel, however, each room has a kitchenette with hotplates, a fridge and a sink. Crockery and cuttlery are provided. There are several supermarkets in Sorrento offering wonderful local produce. If you prefer not to cook yourself then there are many fine restaurants in Sorrento to choose from and also some that will collect you from the hotel free of charge and bring you back when you are done. Notably, Il Borgo which is only a few minutes away on the same road and offers very high quality food in plentiful portions and at very reasonable prices.

Antonio, the owner, is always happy to help with any queries and to offer suggestions on places to see.

The rooms are basic but comfortable and spotlessly clean and we found everything to be in working order. The maid was very thorough but not at all intrusive and happy to come back later if we chose to have a lazy day in the room.

We look forward to our next visit inJuly 2013

Room Tip: Always book a room with a sea view
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Simon_M-L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (481)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Residence Le Terrazze
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

136 - 142 of 481 reviews

Reviewed January 29, 2013

We stayed about 5 days and were absolutely amazed at the view. The Hotel was very clean and the food and service was excellent. The pool was very clean and the temperature was just perfect. We took the bus to town which was very accessible and the hotel supplied all the schedules and also all of the activities around Sorento. I would highly recommend this Hotel to all of my Friends and Family.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Geremia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2013

Silly me, we thought it would be easy to get to Sorrento once we landed in Rome. After our 'red-eye' flight arrived at 7 am, we took the local train to Rome Central, then a train to Naples, then the local to Sorrento...then a bus up the mountain to our hotel. It was close to 24 hours since we left Atlanta, GA, USA....BUT WOW....the views were amazing...the staff very friendly, and the rooms were more like little summer apartments with patios...over looking the Bay of Naples. We sat on our patio drinking wine for the next two hours unwinding. Now....the downside. You are 20 mins away from the city of Sorrento...and without a car you have to rely on the bus (which stops literally right in front of the hotel). Local restaurants will pick you up so you can eat...but it is out of the way. There were 12 of us, with 4 rooms...with the full size kitchens, we made our own meals and truly lived 'La Dolce Vita' for a week. Spacious enough for families, quiet enough for romance and views to die for. I would stay here again in a heartbeat...but I would make other transportation arrangements.

Room Tip: Make sure you get the room with the patio....they are a few bucks more...but so worth it. You will...
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sean J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2013

We spent 7 days of our summer holiday in this hotel and all in all it was a nice stay there. The appartment was for 4 people and it was clean and well equipped with furniture (also lots of cooking utensils). There was also a little terrace with a great view of pine trees, the sea, Vulcano Vesuvius and of course, the town of Sorrento. I wouldn't recommend this hotel if you're not by car. Actually, it's not very far from the center, but the road is really curvy and the ride may be unpleasant for kids. Plus, the nearest market is 2km away so you will need to catch a bus if you want to buy something. The breakfast buffet was poor, 7 days the same food (croissants, pie, bacon, cheese, cookies). I also didn't like the juice which was very sugary. The stuff at reception were really kind, but the waitresses were little grumpy (two days in a row there wasn't milk in the bottle so when I asked for it the waitress gave me a strange look). The wi-fi was working well but only if your room is close to reception (our wasn't and the signal strength was very low).

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lacrimosa94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2012

This is a great hotel to stay in but it is far from Sorrento. Best to catch the bus from or rent Vespas. A taxi is way too expensive. I was in shock when I first saw this hotel. It was amazing with a beautiful view. The pool is not heated. It was ice cold and I did a cannonball without even sticking a foot in first. The rooms are nice, a little dated but still cute. They have a kitchen if you want to cook. Street parking is limited. The staff is friendly and very helpful. They serve breakfast with different breads, meats and cheeses. I would definitely stay here again if I'm ever back in Sorrento. Oh yes, rent Vespas and drive the Amalfi Coast!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2012

We stayed here at the end of the season - towards the end of October. The view was absolutely terrific, unfortunately that was the only plus point of staying at this hotel. The location would have been fabulous if we had had a car, it's one thing to say that there is a bus stop outside the hotel, it's another to catch a bus from it. The buses were absolutely dreadful, we spent literally hours hanging about at bus stops with staff very reluctant to accept that there was a serious problem with the buses. Not helped by the fact there was a bus strike, buses were being missed, and the winter timetable. The apartment was very basic, as was the breakfast, coffee and juice undrinkable and the pool looked as if it had not been cleaned for some time, you certainly wouldn't swim in it. The whole place needs some interest/energy/money putting into it.

Room Tip: An apartment is not an apartment in the one bedroomed apartment sense- you have one bedroom with a u...
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PaulandLynn187069
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2012

My friend and I stayed at Le Terrazze for 2 nights and had a great time overall. The location was a bit inconvenient, about 6 miles from the main town of Sorrento. You need to take a SITA bus that goes towards the Amalfi Coast via Nastro Verde. Make sure you tell the bus driver the name of the hotel before you hop on (especially at night) because the stops are not well marked.

The hotel is about a 15 minute bus ride from the main town and located on top of the main hill with an amazing view. If it wasn't for this view, I would have rated only three stars. First off, the front desk provided mediocre service. They were not the warmest or the most helpful and felt like we were forcing them to answer our questions. They also forgot to tell us that due to a new energy conservation program, all power would be shut down from the hours of 9-5pm. I thought that was a bit absurd to have this take place during the day's peak hour (We also had to pay 5 euros for the wifi code, which felt like a waste of money).

Although the rooms were a bit older, the view from our terrace was breathtaking and the rooms were spacious, clean with a full kitchenette. But because the power was off during the day, we cooked only at night. The breakfast buffet was great with a descent spread of food.

Overall, we had a great time but the following needed improvement:

Lacked enthusiasm and help from staff
Location was a bit away from the main town
Not worth paying 5 Euro for wifi especially when power down during day

Room Tip: all rooms are very nice
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hayanakwon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Villa Fiorita
Hotel Villa Fiorita
#45 of 100 in Sorrento
477 reviews
0.7 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#25 of 100 in Sorrento
3,178 reviews
1.4 mi away
Art Hotel Gran Paradiso
Art Hotel Gran Paradiso
#42 of 100 in Sorrento
1,121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel La Vue D'Or
Hotel La Vue D'Or
#31 of 100 in Sorrento
1,012 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel del Mare
Hotel del Mare
#36 of 100 in Sorrento
764 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hilton Sorrento Palace
Hilton Sorrento Palace
#32 of 100 in Sorrento
3,383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Residence Le Terrazze? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Residence Le Terrazze

Address: Via Nastro Verde 98, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Price Range: $116 - $793 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Residence Le Terrazze 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Residence Le Terrazze reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Le Terrazze Sorrento
Residence Le Terrazze Hotel
Le Terrazze

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing