We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Devoted Staff”
Review of Hotel La Vue D'Or

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel La Vue D'Or
Ranked #31 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Macclesfield,Cheshire
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Devoted Staff”
Reviewed June 29, 2013

Just recently returned from a 10 day break at the Vue D'Or. The location of the property provides a fantastic view of Vesuvius across the Bay of Naples. The Hotel is a three star and could do with some minor refurbishments of the room( décor, bedding etc), but overall it is a very well appointed and managed facility The staff are extremely helpful and professional. The food is acceptable, if a little predictable, and the free shuttle bus into Sorrento is well maintained and comfortable (it also runs very frequently). On your travels, be sure to check out Angelos bar in Massa Lubrense, and the Welcome Café run by Francesco in Nareno (by Baia Jeranto). The Hotel proves to be a great base for exploring the whole peninsular, especially using the local bus service (for which the reception sells tickets)

Room Tip: Front or valley side gives the best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank silkmanMacclesfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

975 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    510
    324
    106
    18
    17
See reviews for
195
581
15
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (257)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Swansea, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 29, 2013

We have just returned from a weeks holiday at this wonderful family run hotel. The room and accomodation was second to none. Our balcony overlooked the sea with the most stunning views particuarly of Mount Vesuvios. Everything about our stay was excellant, and the staff were most courteous and helpful at all tmes. always smiling and jolly, a rare thing these days. Nothing was to much trouble,also the courtesy bus to and from Sorrento, about a 15 minute drive was a great bonus. We went half board and found the food to be of a good standard and very italian. The waiters were charming and very witty. Thanks to all at La Vue D'Or for a great holiday experience
We will strongly recommend the hotel to our family and friends, and return ourselves in the not to distant future

Room Tip: ask for a sea view the the sites are stunning
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank davtrish1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2013 via mobile

Beautiful views and wonderful service. Really a fantastic hotel. Staff is very helpful and friendly. I missed there last early afternoon shuttle and opted to walk into town. The staff gave me directions and off I went down back alley streets and through the hills and trees enjoying the beautiful views and natural landscapes of sorrento. I passed a couple of cool old churches that were definitely off the beaten path, I highly recommend this walk. Very peaceful place to stay after leaving hectic naples. Make sure you try and catch the shuttle bus, a taxi from the train station will cost around 40 euro.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sutherland21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amersham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2013

Just returned from a weeks stay at this great hotel. Booked via Thomas Cook, more on them later, we could not have been better looked after or enjoyed our stay more. The hotel is in a stunning location with amazing views of Sorrento, the Bay of Naples and Vesuvius. It is kept in excellent condition, very clean, lovely decoration both inside and out. The rooms are functional with balconies, air conditioning and good facilities - all you need really. They are cleaned every day with new towels.
The restaurant is good without being exceptional. Breakfast is continental with boiled eggs if you need something hot. It is plentiful and more than enough to start the day on the right foot. The evening meal normally gives a choice of 4 starters, 4 mains, and a couple of puds. Please bear in mind that their "starter" is like a main course and can be bigger than a main course. We normally found something to our liking. The whole dining experience is greatly enhanced by the excellent restaurant staff who are very friendly and have a great sense of humour. They helped greatly with my infantile Italian and I was never made to feel foolish!
The bar area is great with many very comfortable sofa chairs and settees. Again the bar and reception are fantastic - always helpful and a very ready wit. Very refreshing.
The pool area is very well laid out. It has a good size pool, surrounded by a number of sun beds, sun loungers etc., and also an under cover area with tables when the heat gets too much. It has a sun terrace for the die hard sun worshippers, again well equipped with numerous sun beds. We were there in June and the sun was available up until about 5.00pm every day.
It should also be mentioned that the hotel is 6 kms outside of Sorrento. However they have their own shuttle bus which runs from 8.30am to 12.30pm and from 5.15pm to 11.30pm - this really is a necessity but it does mean you have to be careful with your timings especially during the afternoon period.
I have to mention the Thomas Cook rep was conspicuous by his absence even when his itinerary said he should have been available but this did not spoil our enjoyment of the holiday as we organised all the site seeing trips ourselves - much more fun!
However, back to the hotel, I would give it my highest recommendation in all aspects. It is our intention to return as soon as possible, but we will book direct next time and cut out the "middle man".

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Deltronic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shirley, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Just back from a week at this great hotel which should be in the Top Ten hotels of Sorrento - fantastic views, fantastic staff. Location is stunning and as with many family owned hotels - staff are fantastic because I think they are made to seem part of the family - indeed I think some family members were amongst the staff. BUT there were some silly things that stop this hotel from being in Top Ten :-
- Wi-Fi should be free and with stronger signal to cover whole hotel
- Rooms should have fridges
- Pool towels should be free
- Food needs improving but not bad
- Drinks a bit expensive
- Should be satellite tv
- Should be mid afternoon shuttle in otherwise excellent service
Better for hotel to increase basic price slightly to accommodate the above and get rid of Ryanair type add ons feeling. BUT BRILLIANT HOTEL WOULD RECOMMEND TO ANYONE ! It could just be perfect with above sorted.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a sea view - most rooms have them though !
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JohnBroadfoot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

We have just returned from our second visit to Sorrento and hotel La Vue D 'Or, the whole visit again has been amazing, thanks to the friendly, attentive and helpful staff. The Vue D'Or is an efficient and immaculate family run hotel in a spectacular location in the hills overlooking Sorrento. There is a free efficient shuttle bus service into town and the reception staff give you a time table for this service on checkin, the staff also provide info. on the local bus service ( the bus stop being just outside the hotel) as well as other useful information re; tours and night life.
The rooms are spotless and of a good size, the best rooms being those with a balcony and sea view - here you get a fantastic view over Sorrento, the Bay of Naples and Mount Vesuvius (well worth the small supplement).
The restaurant service is second to none, the buffet breakfast has a good choice as do the choices for the three course dinners that are served with style. The Gala Evening takes place every Thursday evenings is not to be missed.
The pool is fantastic and a great relief after a long day touring or in the sun (whether 38C while we were there), most guest using the pool at one time or another and was great fun.
La Vue D'Or is a great base to sight see either though planned tours or on your own, if you plan your own trips it works out cheaper, the hotel or tourist info. centre can give you advice or timetables on departure and return times for ferries, buses and trains.
We had such a fantastic time last time we were here, and as a rule we never go to the same place twice, we have no hesitation in recommending La Vue D'Or and hope to return in future.
We would like to thank all the staff at La Vue D'Or for a very memorable and amazing time, you are the best!

Room Tip: Pre - request room with balcony and sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ann l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2013

I have just returned from a trip with riviera travel to sorrento and surrounding area's. the vue d'or was a wonderful hotel, up in the hills away from the crowds but with the advantage of a shuttle bus to central sorrento. The staff were so friendly and the hotel was immaculately clean. I would have no reservations at recommending this hotel. Brilliant time !

Room Tip: Lovely to have a sea view
See more room tips
Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Anne A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.7 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#25 of 100 in Sorrento
3,063 reviews
1.4 mi away
Art Hotel Gran Paradiso
Art Hotel Gran Paradiso
#41 of 100 in Sorrento
1,084 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hilton Sorrento Palace
Hilton Sorrento Palace
#32 of 100 in Sorrento
3,237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Villa Fiorita
Hotel Villa Fiorita
#47 of 100 in Sorrento
465 reviews
0.7 mi away
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
#27 of 100 in Sorrento
2,345 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Residence Le Terrazze
Hotel Residence Le Terrazze
#48 of 100 in Sorrento
476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Vue D'Or? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Vue D'Or

Property: Hotel La Vue D'Or
Address: Via Nastro Verde 88, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
#26 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
#38 Family Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel La Vue D'Or 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel La Vue D'Or reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Vue d Or Sorrento
Sorrento Vue Or Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing