We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“excellent autumn break”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel La Vue D'Or

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel La Vue D'Or
Ranked #32 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Wigton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“excellent autumn break”
Reviewed November 2, 2012

We have just returned from a fabulous week at this lovely friendly hotel. The food was of good quality at both breakfast and dinner with a very varied choice served by friendly and attentive staff. The gardens provided a very quiet backdrop to our spacious room and the view over Sorrento, the Bay of Naples and Vesuvius afforded from the restaurant terrace was stunning by day and night.
We used the complimentary shuttle bus when it suited us but we also enjoyed catching the local buses and walking from the hotel. The reception staff were very helpful and realistic about the local bus timetables and only too willing to answer questions and give information.
Mave and Tony, Cumbria.

Room Tip: rooms over the garden very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mave t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

893 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    452
    306
    101
    18
    16
See reviews for
174
537
13
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (230)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ludlow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2012

We stayed at La Vue D'or as part of a tour. The location is good and the view from our balcony superb (although the room and en suite were on the small size). It is quite a way out of Sorrento and as others have mentioned it is irritating to find that the shuttle bus stops from 12.30 to 5.30 each day meaning that you have to brave the local bus service (which at the time of our stay was on a reduced timetable). It was the food which we found disappointing. It was perhaps best described as 'mean' - very poor choice for breakfast - the boiled eggs being somewhat of a lottery - could be almost raw or rock hard. We found it unacceptable to have to order your dinner at breakfast - and suspect it was just a money saving strategy.- even on the so called Gala Night we had to order in advance from a restricted menu - not even a complimentary glass of water!
If Trip Advisor had a rating for food it would have been 2 at the most. Why don't Trip Advisor let you rate the food????

Room Tip: Rooms seem to vary a lot - ask exactly what you get - bath, safe etc.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mch826
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2012

Had booked it for a week but only stayed one night. Everything was an additional cost, from a glass of water to a cup of coffee along with the internet. I felt enough was enough so I left the next morning. The desk was not at all helpful and the property was not all that- with the room full of mosquitos and not at all comfortable, as well as not being clean. Went to another property 2 turns up the road which was beautiful & with a very friendly & helpful staff. I tryed to get my money back but this hotel would not - imagine staying one night & paying for 7- would absolutely not recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank 235sandra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2012

We have just returned from a wonderful 10 day stay at the La vue dor, the hotel is set high up in the hills overlooking the bay of Naples, so as you can imagine the views are spectacular, some may say that it is a little isolated but we enjoyed the peace and tranquility away from the hustle and bustle of the town, however there is a free shuttle bus to ferry you back and forth into Sorrento when you feel like a little light shopping or to just to sit at a pavement cafe and watch the world go by.
The La vue dor is a small family run hotel, which is well appointed and spotlessly clean, the pool and terraces are lovely all with great views over Sorrento. The staff where very friendly, polite and courteous, all of them only to happy to help.
We stayed half board and found the food very good, breakfast is continental in style with lots of choice, and really good coffee on tap, the evening meal consisted of 3 courses, we found the choice and quality of food to be very good. Our personal favourite was the gala evening when we had a four course meal and live enterainment.
It is a perfect base to discover the local area, the buses and trains are all eaily accessable to visit pompei or herculanium or you can hop on a boat and be whisked away to the glamorous isle of Capri where you can enjoy breathtaking views or browse in the designer shops.
We have had a lovely holiday and would not hesitate in recommending the La vue dor to all of our friends and family. We are hoping to return ourselves very soon.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glasgow
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2012

A beautiful hotel in an excellent location. Clean and bright with fabulous views over the Bay of Naples and Vesuvius. What a pity that more attention not given to the quality of the food, which was very disappointing, given the abundance of fresh produce available locally!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GordonMcNeish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicestershire Engalnd
Level Contributor
66 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2012

This was our 3rd visit in 15 years to this hotel and found it the same warm, friendly, family run hotel set on a hill outside of Sorrento. it has had a full refurb since our last visit 7 years ago. We travelled independantly from Rome by train to Naples and then got the Circumvesuviana train to Sorrento. The tickets were very reasonably priced and the trains ran on time - a refreshing change in today's world!
The hotel offers fabulous veiws over the bay of Naples from the pool area. Friendly staff offered advice and places to visit. Free courtesy bus to and from the centre of Sorrento was very useful.
Our room was comfortable but beware - it was quite noisey at night with other residents clip clopping along the corridors and slamming doors!

Room Tip: We had a see view and what a view. Fantastic! Beware the echoey corridors on the 3rd floor at night...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Saunders80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxted, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2012

We stayed for a week at the end of a mini-tour of Italy, and were really looking forward to a relaxing stay in the most expensive and most promising looking of all our hotels on this trip. We arrived mid-afternoon after a long journey, to be told they had double-booked our room and we were staying in another hotel for the 1st night. Not what we wanted to hear. After a stay in a nearby 4* hotel, we returned to our 3*, and could't see how they've been awarded so many. We were on the 6th floor (2 floors below reception) at the end of a very badly damp-smelling corridor. Mildew patches could be seen along the ceiling. Our room also smelled, but not as strongly, and had not been cleaned from the last occupants. Under the chairs and bed the floor hadn't been cleaned in months. I could clearly write my name in the dust under there. We assumed the roomwas turned around quickly, and would be cleaned the following day, but we were wrong. Despite a request, the floor didn't look swept or mopped once during the week. The daily room service just made the bed and changed the towels. We had 3 days of cups, plates and glasses amassed on our balcony table before we gave up and returned them ourselves. Breakfast was the worst we had for the whole trip (a total of 5 hotels), with reluctant, rude waiting staff. They only put out 3 croissants at a time, and grumbled when asked (repeatedly) for more - and they were the best bit of the "buffet"! The coffee machine broke down, and we were met with a shrug when asking if it would be fixed.
The hotel itself is quite nice, good sized rooms, fantastic view, good pool, nice reception area, and a punctual courtesy shuttle bus to town. It is nearly 1000ft (300m) up in the hills so on many days the clouds forming on the peaks blocked out the sun, and because it faces East, the pool area loses the sun quite early in the afternoon. The reception staff were great, but failed to organise the room cleaning or an extra pillow we requested. Foodwise, we only had lunch snacks there and these were fine, and reasonably priced. We heard many guests complaining about the evening meals, but why eat dinner in a hotel when there are dozens of restaurants in town shouting for your custom???! The hotel build quality is poor, there are only plasterboard walls between each room, so we could even hear next door using the loo roll holder along with pretty much every word they spoke. Don't expect a good nights sleep especailly when inconsiderate morons returning at 1 or 2am are laughing and shouting.
We were deeply disappointed by this hotel. I spend hours looking for nice places to stay when we go away, and my record was good until La Vue D'Or. I dropped a clanger here. 4* prices for a 2* hotel. Don't do it.

Room Tip: The 1st 2nd & 3rd floor corridors didn't have the horrible smell that ours did, so I assume...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TracyPT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.7 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#25 of 100 in Sorrento
2,842 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Villa Fiorita
Hotel Villa Fiorita
#42 of 100 in Sorrento
438 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Residence Le Terrazze
Hotel Residence Le Terrazze
#48 of 100 in Sorrento
453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel La Badia
Hotel La Badia
#24 of 100 in Sorrento
465 reviews
1.4 mi away
Art Hotel Gran Paradiso
Art Hotel Gran Paradiso
#39 of 100 in Sorrento
1,021 reviews
0.5 mi away
Il Nido Hotel Sorrento
Il Nido Hotel Sorrento
#23 of 100 in Sorrento
1,685 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Vue D'Or? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Vue D'Or

Property: Hotel La Vue D'Or
Address: Via Nastro Verde 88, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
#27 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
#38 Family Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel La Vue D'Or 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel La Vue D'Or reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Vue d Or Sorrento
Sorrento Vue Or Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing