We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food and experience”

I Giardini di Tasso
Ranked #52 of 285 Restaurants in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Wichita, Kansas
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great food and experience”
Reviewed June 21, 2013

After being led out to the lemon and orange garden to our table I knew this was going to be a great meal. And the food lived up to the ambience. We enjoyed it so much we went back 2 nights later. Pretty rare for us having only 4 nights to sample Sorrento cuisine. The prosecco apertif and lemoncello (only time we also had a pistachio digestif) were excellent and gratis. We also enjoyed the light guitar accompaniment. Really all in all how a meal, simple or more exotic should be. Our thanks to Mario, the owner.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank trinitas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

597 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    379
    131
    34
    28
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lahaina, Hawaii
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A Splendid Oasis for Your Holiday”
Reviewed June 18, 2013

We were on the hunt for a great restaurant find in the smaller streets of Sorrento. We had a couple of names of nearby restaurants on the same street and were checking menu's. A lovely woman greeted us in the small street at the beginning of the archway to an interior street. We were warmly welcomed and found ourselves climbing lovely grand stairs toward the restaurant. What a great environment with the gardens all around. The timing was perfect. We were seated indoors (as it was evening and a little cool) and immediately served glasses of prosecco. Our meal was delicious and the service very good. There was live music and everyone at the restaurant really seemed to be enjoying themselves. The owner was very gracious and we were so glad we found I Giardini di Tasso! We had delicious dessert and limoncello and a chocolate liqueur. This is the kind of dining experience that you look forward to having when you go on holiday - and we enjoyed every minute. Thank you - Mahalo from Hawaii!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Catherine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Bellissimo and Delizioso!”
Reviewed June 17, 2013

We spent a long time looking for a restaurant recommended by friends but could NOT find it! Out of sheer frustration we stopped into a ceramics shop and asked the owner where to find the restaurant. She gave us great directions but we decided it was too far to walk as we were getting hungry so we asked her what she would recommend that was nearby. BEST. MOVE. EVER.

She gave us explicit directions I Giardini di Tasso which was a good thing as it's definitely off the beaten path. We had a delightful stroll through narrow alleys and were rewarded with the impressive entrance to an even more impressive garden. There were extremely old trees producing both lemons and oranges, a pomegranate tree and much beauty!

My mom loves olives and, even though they weren't on the appetizer menu, Mario, the owner, sent over a bowl of olives to please her. He was especially delightful checking on us and our pure delight with our choices. The wine was excellent as were our dinners. We finished with the obligatory limoncello and some amazing chocolate liquor. The prices are extremely reasonable, especially given the superb service and beautiful live music.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank solshines
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere and Mario and his family are very accommodating”
Reviewed June 17, 2013 via mobile

We went here on our honeymoon and Mario who is the owner did everything possible to accommodate us. The food is excellent and matches the atmosphere. Family owned and I never met a family that was sooooo nice and made us feel like we were part of his family. Very comfortable with Mario

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Cam6791
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful hidden setting”
Reviewed June 16, 2013 via mobile

We visited here on the last night of our honeymoon.

The restaurant is hidden down a small alleyway and you wouldn't believe that the beautiful gardens would even exist in this restaurant.

We were met and taken up a beautiful staircase into the main indoor part of the restaurant which led onto the amazing gardens and archways.

It was a very romantic, quiet and peaceful place to eat. We visited on a Sunday evening and there were only ever one other couple eating. I think had there been just a few more people the atmosphere would have been a lot better.

The food was fantastic. I had a risotto made with the citrus foods picked from their garden and it was fantastic.

Service was great and all of the staff were lovely.

I would definitely recommend.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Shearso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed I Giardini di Tasso also viewed

Sorrento, Province of Naples
Sorrento, Province of Naples
 
Sorrento, Province of Naples
Sorrento, Province of Naples
 

Been to I Giardini di Tasso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing