We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great Central B & B” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Astarita Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Casa Astarita Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #38 of 119 Sorrento B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Mill Creek, Washington
Level Contributor
122 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Great Central B & B”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

This is a great centrally located, easy to find, B & B in Sorrento. The rooms are large, attractive and comfortable. The staff is friendly and helpful, particularly Anna, who prepared a great breakfast spread in the morning. It's located on the main street right in the center of town, but is still very quiet.

Room Tip: We had a room overlooking the street with a small balcony, but all of the rooms are nice and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BUZZN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    114
    81
    12
    4
    11
See reviews for
30
107
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sioux City, Iowa, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

Will be returning year after year! This B&B is truly perfect. It is above a shop, so the location is perfect and still quiet, near the center of it all, in the heart of shopping, eating, short walk to the sea front elevator. The breakfasts were simply divine and awaiting when we woke up. Fresh rolls, choice of jams, choice of juices, breads, yogurts, cheese - more than plenty and hearty. Hand crafted cappucino, espresso or coffee with a smile. The bathroom was beautifully tiled. Apple TV, iPod charging station, free wifi in room. My only concern would be for those with physical limitations as it is upstairs and there is not an elevator so luggage must be carried up and down. If that is not a concern, this is the PERFECT B&B.

Room Tip: Small B&B - our room was fantastic!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kristi R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

My wife and I visited Sorrento for a weekend and enjoyed Casa Astarita so much we decided we'll go back next summer.

We went with 3 friends so were able to see 2 other rooms as well, every room is decorated a bit different but they are all beautiful and very colourful.

In the room you'll find everything you need and more, reading lights, large screen flat TV...etc. in addition they equipped each room with Apple TV device and iPod/iPhone station so if you want to see any of your movies, listen to your own music, etc. you can do it.

The breakfast area is shared by all the guests with a large table packed with food that kept on coming from the little kitchen, they use local ingredients (tomatoes, pitches, cheese, etc.) and will make you an excellent coffee brewed on a Stove-Top (it is a very strong coffee so if you don't like yours too strong ask for half a portion and add more milk to it).

The overall experience was great, the service was very good and the value for money was very satisfying!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Holly6_2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
234 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

We had a lovely room and the breakfast was lively and delicious. We really enjoyed this bed and breakfast. Very clean and quiet room. Lovely tile work in the bathroom. No reading light so if you plan to read, forget about it. Seems to be the norm in hotel rooms - no reading light. Hard if one person wakes in the middle of the night!

Downside: when you walk out onto the street you are surrounded by tourists from cruise ships and tour buses. We hated that. We enjoy being around the locals. Felt like we were back home.
It's a lovely setting but Rick Steve's surprised us when he said he loved it the most... we don't get that.

We would stay in a town like Meta next time.. then visit Sorrentto for the day or for dinner.

We would stay at this B and B again. It was nice.

Room Tip: Bring your own readying lamp.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BarefootBuddies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

Stayed at Casa Astarita in Sept 2012 with my wife and our little boy. We had the "Moderna" room which was perfect for us. Nice double bed with a separate mezzanine room with bed. The B&B was very clean and friendly and had a really nice atmosphere. Our room looked on to Corsa Italia, with a balcony to watch the world go by. Once the double shutters were closed on a night time there was no noticeable street noise. Breakfast was great, with fresh coffee; bread rolls; fresh fruit and cakes. Would recommend!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank evad797
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterey, California
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

I can't tell you enough how disappointed and frustrated we were with Casa Astarita's lack of any degree of professionalism and care for its patrons. We arrived and checked in with our paperwork for 3 nights (we had booked months in advance based on the information in Rick Steve's book). The next morning at breakfast we were told we only had the room for 2 nights. It did not matter at all that we had the paperwork showing that we had made the reservation. They offered to find us another room for the last night. We declined and found another one on-line. The morning we had to leave we also had booked a tour to Capri and had to leave a little after 8. Breakfast usually starts at 8 and we had planned to turn in our key, take care of the bill, and store our luggage with them until we returned that evening. The reception/dining area was not open even open at 8:15. Even though we heard voices from behind the door they would not answer our knock. We ended up having to lug our luggage to our car (a few blocks away) and leave the key with a note at the door. There was nothing about their actions that resembled professionalism and I will continue to share the details of our horrific experiences to anyone who will listen,

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Kris755
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan, United States
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

Sorrento is an awesome place and this B&B is just right to make the most of it. The location is great and the rooms are beautiful. Rick Steve's calls Casa Astarita a 'gem' and he is right. Don't hesitate to stay here. The hosts are just awesome, so nice and ready to help.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Mignon Meuble
Hotel Mignon Meuble
#29 of 99 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 stars 422 reviews
0.2 mi away
Casa Sorrentina
Casa Sorrentina
#14 of 119 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 stars 174 reviews
0.2 mi away
Palazzo Starace Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Magi House Relais
Magi House Relais
#5 of 119 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 stars 748 reviews
0.1 mi away
Palazzo Tasso
Palazzo Tasso
#23 of 99 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 stars 505 reviews
0.1 mi away
Casa Dominova Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Astarita Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Astarita Bed and Breakfast

Property: Casa Astarita Bed and Breakfast
Address: Corso Italia 67, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 119 B&Bs / Inns in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Casa Astarita Bed and Breakfast 2*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Casa Astarita Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Astarita Hotel Sorrento
Casa Astarita b&b

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing