We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A very enjoyable week at a charming hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Villa Maria

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Villa Maria
Ranked #75 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Selby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“A very enjoyable week at a charming hotel”
Reviewed September 29, 2013

We have just returned from a very enjoyable week at the Villa Maria, ideally situated on the Via Capo, in the heart of Sorrento. This hotel is ideally located for a short walk into the centre of this delightful town. All the staff were friendly and helpful and the price of half board was very reasonable. The room was clean, functional and the bed was comfortable, although the pillows were very hard. The food in the restaurant was good, without being exceptional, but the menu was limited. there was plenty of choice for everyone at breakfast, although the bacon and eggs need a hot plate, as they were often cold. However, if you want a lovely hotel located centrally at an affordable price, I would readily recommend the Villa Maria, Prego!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Goolysand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

599 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    233
    156
    65
    47
See reviews for
104
269
17
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Agoura Hills, California
Level Contributor
37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2013 via mobile

Not fancy schmaltzy,quite adequate for the money spent .Close to everything in this gr8 little town.staff very helpful, breakfast sufficient, to get the day started.Pool area was very relaxing even if did close at the early hour of 6:30 pm

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2013

We have just returned from a week with Riviera Travel; our tour guide Linda was great and the tours were very interesting and we were very impressed. However, our experience at the Villa Maria was less then impressive. While it was clean it was very basic; several of the restaurant staff were sullen and appeared to lack basic training. Sometimes the food was almost thrown at us and we often had to wait a long time to be fed. The Maitre d' was extremely rude and unpleasant to us, so much so that I complained about his behaviour. We were also amazed that water and tea/ coffee was not included in the evening meal - it had to be paid for!! The food was basic, the portions small and there was very little choice. The best thing about the hotel is its fantastic location.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room away from the lift.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nina V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Sorrento hotels

Trowbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2013

The Villa Maria is clean but basic. If you are unfortunate enough to be facing the road, be prepared for sleepless nights. The food is bland, starters probably the best course. The sweets consisted of two choices one sweet and fruit, which consisted of an apple and orange,every night of the week. My friend asked for some ice cream on a dry tart & was refused. The bar staff very friendly, and one or two in restaurant. It is very convenient for the town centre. There was four in our group and we have to admit we wouldn't stay there again, or recommend it. We travelled with Riviera travel who we couldn't fault.

Room Tip: Don't face the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Golfbabes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bury, England
Level Contributor
38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2013

I stayed at this hotel as the base of a holiday booked via Riviera Travel. Although basic, overall the experience of staying in this hotel was good. The position is good, within easy reach and a flat walk are the main shopping/dining areas of the town. The double room I shared was bright and clean with a balcony overlooking a smart apartment block and courtyard. The bathroom was modern and hot water was always on tap. The reception staff and friendly and helpful. There is a small pool with a appropriate sunbeds and a bar which is adequate.However the food and the experience in the dining room was not good. The waiters need to be organised they appear untrained with the result that food sometimes appears to be thrown at you. The food itself is poor, a great disappointment. As an example - fish was overcooked and presented on the plate swimming in water which I assume came from the residue of the cooked frozen vegetables. Dessert was either a piece of fruit or a poorly cut portion of cake. As we were in Italy how difficult would it have been to offer us ice cream! If this hotel improves it's dining experience it would be an excellent palce to stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Billmarge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mooresville, north carolina
Level Contributor
51 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

we stayed in the best room, with a roof deck out the door. ..overlooking the sea and Mt. Vesivus. ..a day trip to Capri. ..the Blue Gretto. ..delicious lunch
a perfect end to 2 glorious weeks in Italy

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bgoodnow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siderno
Level Contributor
36 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2013

Met with Friends from Sydney Oz, Gino born and grew up here so had our own personal guide,seen places never seen before great, and Celebrated our 40th wedding anniversary. Hotel found pleasant enough, would not recommend breakfast very poor selection, fried eggs like rubber ducks,but the service was good, quick with a helpful hand, rooms well air conditioned,and serviced daily, disappointed that to get wifi cost 10 euro for your stay. Two supermarkets close by so able to buy 6 small bottles of water,without using the mini bar, which was expensive. Would rate no more than 3 star, to conclude would return as this hotel so central to everything, port, shops etc.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marycairdmeleca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.5 mi away
Cesare Augusto
Cesare Augusto
#51 of 100 in Sorrento
499 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel La Vue D'Or
Hotel La Vue D'Or
#32 of 100 in Sorrento
893 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel La Badia
Hotel La Badia
#24 of 100 in Sorrento
465 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Eden
Hotel Eden
#50 of 100 in Sorrento
617 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Tirrenia
Hotel Tirrenia
#64 of 100 in Sorrento
332 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#25 of 100 in Sorrento
2,842 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Maria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Maria

Property: Hotel Villa Maria
Address: Via Capo 8, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #75 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Villa Maria 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Villa Maria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maria Hotel Sorrento
Maria Villa Sorrento
Villa Maria Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing