We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Villa Maria
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Ascot(Sorrento)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Tirrenia(Sorrento)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Rivage Hotel(Sorrento)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Conca Park Hotel(Sorrento)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Grand Hotel Capodimonte(Sorrento)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Reviews (706)
Filter reviews
706 results
Traveler rating
130
273
179
73
51
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
130
273
179
73
51
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsriviera travelstar hotelevening mealpool barthree starthe main streetcakesfresh fruitroof terraceexcellent locationreasonable sizehalf boardchanged dailybit datedcentral locationquiet at nightgala dinner
Filter
Updating list...
330 - 335 of 706 reviews
Reviewed June 10, 2013

Have just returned from a very enjoyable holiday with Riviera Travel at the Villa Maria. The Hotel was very clean, towels and bedding were changed regularly. The room was a decent size, with plenty of hanging space, drawers and even a small cupboard to put your shoes. Bathroom had a good shower cubicle, sachets of shower gel were replenished daily. There was a hair dryer in the bathroom but beware it was more like a vacuum cleaner, just a hose really, hair took ages to dry. The staff in the dinning room occasionally got the food orders muddled up, and the head waiter was a little surly. Breakfasts as have been mentioned in other reviews were not up to much, but the evening meals were fine. The trips were very good. Capri was fabulous, we were there quite early on the Sunday morning and we stopped in the port for a coffee, the bar owner advised us to start off at Anna Capri and work our way down to avoid the crowds, which we did. The coach drivers were all brilliant getting us to our destinations safely. Our tour guide Jean whilst doing her job to get us there and back safely, was very abrupt and tended to treat us like children. Efficient, but lacking in the human touch. The bar across the road from the hotel The Rivage, became our ''Local'' while we were in Sorrento, it had lovely views and the staff were great, very friendly and welcoming. All in all a wonderful holiday with some lovely memories. Please contact us if we can help with any of your holiday questions.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank marmite1947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2013

Shame that quite a few of the people that stayed at this hotel the week myself and my Mum did suffered with safes that did not work. One gentleman was lucky enough to get a replacement (even if it was never bolted down while he was there) however we had to make use of the hotels safe which was embarrassing and inconvenient. Watch your bill if this happens to you as I had to ask for the charge to be removed the day before we checked out.
Shame that people were expected to share their meals with others even when they didn't feel like doing to, we shared a table with a couple that had obviously had a 'disagreement', uncomfortable for us all.
Shame that we were asked to moved from a perfectly made up breakfast table to a dirty one and made to wait while it was made up, with no explanation as to why.
Shame that the head waiter did not advise his staff that customers do not like their food being slopped down in front of them.
Shame that the fried eggs were always over cooked and the bacon swimming in grease.
Shame that the advertised hot tub was dirty and didn't work.
Shame that the (€89 per person) sea view could only be enjoyed standing up on the tiny balcony and craining your head around the end of the building.
Shame that the hotel did not match up to the most enjoyable trip we had with Riviera.
Shame I didn't make notes as I am sure I have left pertinent advice out.
.........I would look for a different hotel if I stay in Sorrento again.

Room Tip: Higher floors are likely to have a better sea view as will look out over the buildings all around.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sonia J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2013

Was in a twin room on 5th floor. Beds werebunk-bed size rather than standard singles. Found bed hard the first night after being used to a memory-foam mattress but adjusted by the 2nd night and found it quite comfortable which, considering my back and other such problems, says quite a lot I think. Plenty of storage and lots of hangers in the wardrobe. TV but no kettle. Fridge and safe-deposit box. Room immaculately clean. Shower on the small side but clean. Towels were changed each day.

Food was 'interesting'. I'd requested a vegan diet but had to go vegetarian which even then wasn't great. Breakfast consisted of cakes, some cereals, fruit salad - tinned which was okay -but the coffee was good! They did do fried egg/scrambled eggs and bacon in an attempt to please the English. What was telling about the dinners was that an Italian guy staying there didn't recognize the 'Italian' dishes!

Still, the hotel staff were friendly and seemed very efficient, the pool area was clean and the location for the centre of Sorrento was excellent. If you go just to stay in a beautiful hotel and eat then this hotel wouldn't suit but if you're there to explore the Amalfi coast, Pompeii, etc then this is a great option.

Some of this sounds negative but I'd stay again and recommend it.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cypo1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2013

We stayed at Villa Maria from 24 - 31 May 2013 with Riviera Tours. The Hotel is rated 3 star, we would put it at the high end of this rating. Our room was light, airy, recently decorated and spotlessly clean. Room No. 403 had a view of the sea and Vesuvius as advertised, and was one of the quietest hotel rooms we have stayed in. The food was offered as several choices on the menu in the evening and offered something for everyone. It was well cooked, so much so that my wife who does not like pasta, ate pasta and enjoyed it! The hotel is located T the edge of the old town of Sorrento, with the town centre (Plaza Tasso) and the Marna Grande only 10 mins either way. All of this made for a superb holiday. We will go back.

Room Tip: 4th floor (out of 5) seems to be quietest.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brian E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2013

This hotel is located at the end of the Main Street in Sorrento (Corsa italia) it's an easy flat walk into town and to the train and bus station.
We had a twin room with a balcony - no view but sunny on the balcony.
The room was always clean, towels were good and although it felt basic it was a good location and beds were comfy enough.
We were on half board but the meals were poor so we only ate 3 breakfasts and one evening meal all week. The head waiter insisted we sat with other people and we found him just a bit rude . We are not package holiday people so our aversion to being treated like cattle is large.
Pool and poolside bar was lovely but it doesn't get direct sun in the morning so still a little chilly.
We would stay here again as the location worked well for us, hotel was comfy enough and pool was nice.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lancashirewillow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews